We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A fabulous hotel and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultanhan Hotel
Ranked #172 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Bellevue, Washington
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A fabulous hotel and helpful staff”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 19, 2013

We spent a week at the Sultanhan hotel in Istanbul, May 22 thru May 28. Had a wonderful experience. The staff were so helpful and tried to overcome the language barrier and did so with humor and grace. The terrace restaurant was incredible. The views overwhelming. Breathtaking.

The rooms were very clean and the staff went out of their way to welcome us and to ensure our stay comfortable.

P. J.

Room Tip: I would ask for a room on the sunny side of the hotel. It might be a bit noisier but it would be bri...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Pat J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    146
    35
    7
    1
See reviews for
104
218
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Northampton,MA
Level Contributor
19 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 6, 2013

The Sultanhan was in the perfect location in the Sultanhamet. on a quiet street, close to the tram, making it easy to walk everywhere- close to many good restaurants!

The staff were friendly and helpful and the rooftop restaurant was a great place to have breakfast, wonderful views of the sea, and nice to sit and relax after a day of touring.

We stayed in the rooms facing the street- really nicely appointed and comfortable beds. The only thing missing, in my opinion, was a coffeepot or kettle for tea in the room.

After exploring this part of the city, I was happy that we didn't have to walk up a lot of hills to reach the tram and restaurants from our hotel, as many of the nice hotels would require an uphill walk to get anywhere! Loved this hotel and I would stay there again if we return to Istanbul!

Room Tip: Didn't see the rooms facing the rear but the street is not really a thru street so it was very q...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rlb1968
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Doylestown, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
20 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2013

We stayed here in Mid April 2013 for four nights.

Istanbul was rainy, cold and blustery during our stay. Yet the this Hotel always made us (two couples traveling together) very warm.

Location, location and location. This hotel is most centrally located to EVERYTHING. Even the Hammam (Turkish Bath) that my wife and her friend wanted to visit, withing 200 yards of the front door. The Grand Bazaar was just a quarter mile!!!!

Our travel agent had prepared our itinerary, however, it fell apart as the Guide could not come. So we were left to our own planning! This is the point when Mr. Okan from the Front Desk became our planner and he planned every day (4 days) for us with utmost care.

Look, this hotel was on the pricey side, but the help we received from Mr. Okan and Mr. Yassar made it worth every penny!.

Bravo Sultanhan Hotel Staff. We will be sure to visit them next time we are in Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Buckstrotter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Minneapolis, Minnesota
Level Contributor
73 reviews
65 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 27, 2013

We actually selected this hotel based on the Rick Steves' guidebook. Usually we stay at the more deluxe priorities, but this hotel was great. It's a smaller hotel with a perfect location. The staff was very accommodating. And the rooftop breakfast with views of the city was truly amazing. Yes, your really should stay here. Thanks Rick!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Molliebclyde
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Manchester, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
49 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2013

Great hotel, good size room, clean and well equipped bathroom, excellent location. From the moment we arrived all the staff were consistently friendly and welcoming. Good selection at breakfast and even tried the evening meal set menu one night up on the terrace. Wasn't the best meal I've ever had but good for the price. Waking distance to all the main sites and local tourist centered restaurants, although the food was pretty much the same. All the restaurants on the tourist streets close to hotel had 'catchers' outside trying to tempt you in, although annoying they weren't overly persistent and most were friendly and polite. Best tip for good location - look up! Several roof-top restaurants with fantastic views. We saw one and were trying to find a way in, only for a 'catcher' to take us through a carpet shop to the smallest lift possible up onto the roof! Sitting on the roof, Blue Mosque in the background listening to the call to prayer from the mosques all around, waiting for dinner summed up Istanbul for me.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank altyc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 5, 2013

This hotel exceeded our expectations. It is on a (relatively) quiet courtyard and in walking distance to anywhere in the old city that you would want to visit. If you want to venture out further the tram is just up the block. The service is exceptional and the rooms very comfortable, especially the bed. The only down side currently is that the roof terrace is closed for renovations. The restaurant on the fifth floor is open, but the views are not quite as good. You can go to the roof to take some pics if you ask however. I would highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Intermittentraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SULTANHAN, General Manager at Sultanhan Hotel, responded to this review, May 29, 2013
Dear Guests,

We would like to inform you that our Roof Restaurant is working and not closed for reneovation. There is work in progress above the restaurant where there is no public access and it doesn't affect to serve breakfast, lunch or dinner. So our guests can enjoy their meals with magnificent view of the Istanbul.

We are sorry for this misunderstanding.

Yours sincerely,

Sultanhan Hotel Team.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
118 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 107 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2013

We spent six nights at the Sultanhan Hotel in April. It is very close to the tram and within very easy walking distance of the sights of Sultanahmet area, such as the Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia and Topkapi Palace, as well at the Cemberlitas baths. We had room 203, which was a generous triple room (one double and one single bed). As our room was at the back of the hotel it was a bit dark and didn't have a view, but the big upside was that it was very quiet. The staff, both on front desk and in the restaurant were friendly and helpful. Although we made no mention that it was my birthday during our stay, a basket of fruit with birthday wishes was delivered to the room, which was a very nice touch. We only used the restaurant for breakfast, but that was plentiful and of a good quality. The weather in early April meant that we couldn't sit out on the roof terrace, but I'm sure it would be lovely to eat breakfast out there in good weather. Istanbul is a wonderful city to visit and so easy to get around on foot or using public transport. We found it to be a very family friendly place too. I would be very happy to recommend the Sultanhan Hotel and to stay there again if we return to Istanbul.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank HappyFamily0f3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#88 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,183 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#53 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanhan Hotel

Property: Sultanhan Hotel
Address: Piyer Loti Cad. No 7 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanhan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Priceline, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Travelocity, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing