We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Sultanhan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Sultanhan Hotel
Ranked #172 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Ticehurst, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
33 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
“Great location and friendly staff.”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 10, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at Sultanhan Hotel in February 2013 and had an enjoyable few days in Istanbul. The hotel is central to all the major sights on a quiet street. Traditional ottoman style but up to date service. Would recommend.

  • Stayed February 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank LBMH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

452 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    263
    146
    35
    7
    1
See reviews for
104
218
21
10
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (72)
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Heathsville, Virginia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

We stayed for six nights in December 2012 at this hotel in the heart of old Istanbul. We chose this hotel because we wanted a midsize hotel with a beautiful Turkish decor and that is exactly what we got! We walked everywhere to all the major historic sights and the Grand Bazaar. The accommodations were excellent and the breakfast was quite a massive buffet with great coffee. We don't usually eat dinner in hotels, preferring to explore local restaurants and cafes, but I must admit we ate several delicious dinners there and enjoyed the convenience. It was too cold in December to sit outside, of course, but the view is amazing nonetheless. The best part of the hotel was the excellent service provided by the front desk. Yasar and Huseyin helped us book tours, helped us check-in online for our next flight and arranged transportation to the airport. We left feeling we had made good friends and were not just customers. What more can you ask?

Room Tip: We had a front facing room and there was construction going on, but we were not bothered by it. I t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Cpstone1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlothian, VA
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 26, 2013

Stayed for 4 nights in November. Great location within easy walking distance of famous mosque and Grand Bazaar. Nice breakfast with excellent service included on rooftop dining room. Rooms have the feel of traditional ottoman era setting.

Room Tip: Ask for room with balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank TomBMidlo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stockholm
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 19, 2013

We choosed this hotel as hour honeymoon hotel. We can warmly recommend others to stay there because of the service minded staff, beautiful room and a constant feeling of hospitality. Also, the location is perfect, no taxis needed, walking distance to many of the most important attractions and next to the tram which was a perfect means of transportation the whole week (also to and from the airport).

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Knossos8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kobe
Level Contributor
10 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 15, 2013

we just come back from our new year trip last nite. we stayed 4 hotels 4 cities. and this is the best hotel. one of the hotel staff, named Mr.G.U.(means freedom in turkish?). he is a very nice man. we enjoyed hotel life. the breakfast at roof restaurant has a good view too.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank okuni-chan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Central Scotland
Level Contributor
12 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have recently returned from a trip to Isatnbul 24 Nov 12 having stayed at this excellently located hotel, all major tourist attractions are within easy walking distance. The room was of a good size, well firnished as was the rest of the hotel with friendly helpfull staff. Breakfast was a Turkish buffet affair which was adequate but not extensive. We stayed in a 3rd floor front facing room and was advised by reception staff that some construction work was ongoing opposite and we could change to a rear room at any time if we were disturbed, we chose to stay put and any noise was negligable, rear rooms were similar in size but had zero outlook, being very close to adjacent buildings so stay at the front unless you are a very light sleeper. Construction opposite should be complete by Spring 13 if not before.
The only down sides were if the hotel was not busy i.e. during the week, the bath water was a rusty brown, steel pipes or tanks in the system somewhere! The viewing area above the roof top breakfast room needs a good tidy up for the new season, apart from this the Sultanhan is highly recomended.
We booked through dhr hotels who gave us the best rate but failed to arrange a return transfer and were uncontactable, although their literature gives 24hr contact numbers, which obviously don't work from Turkey and dhr have chosen not to respond to my query on the matter so I cannot recommend then, they and the lack of return transfer being the only hick-up in an otherwise very pleasant and trouble free, interesting, few days.
Booking tip do not be taken in by agents telling you it is cheaper to book hotels and flights together, this is not allways the case, I found separate was best, best online agent was Travel Republic, worst agent, Scottish travellers beware, was Barhead Travel some £400 dearer for the same components, never use for a first price quote!

Room Tip: Front rooms have an open outlook rear has severly restricted outlook.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank web-couple
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hanover, New Hampshire
Level Contributor
13 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 9, 2012

I stayed at the Sultanhan for five days in early December. I was given a front-side room on the 4th floor with a view over the Sea of Marmara. The noise from the ongoing renovation project across the street wasn’t much of a bother—I spent quite a lot of time working in my room, and actually found the construction sounds energizing. The hotel is elegantly decorated with framed textiles and my room was tastefully furnished. The bed was extremely comfortable, and the bathroom was plenty large. As other reviewers have noted, the rooms lack tea-making facilities and complimentary bottled water is not provided. This felt like a deficiency in a hotel where one is paying over $200/night. I could also have done without being charged $5.50 for a cup of espresso at breakfast (filter coffee is complimentary). In other hotels of similar quality, a breakfast espresso is free. Among the staff, special mention must be made of the exuberant Hussein, who works the evening shift at the reception desk. By day he’s an English teacher, and he’ll corral you as you walk through the lobby to ask you to clarify a sentence or two in the book he’s teaching to his students. What a lovely man. I came to treasure these conversations, and learned a lot from him about Turkey. Deficiencies notwithstanding, I’d highly recommend the Sultanhan, and would happily stay there again.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Manas19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Deluxe Golden Horn Sultanahmet Hotel
Sultanahmet
Pierre Loti Hotel
Pierre Loti Hotel
#88 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 451 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Arcadia Blue
Hotel Arcadia Blue
#116 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 820 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#121 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,180 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Sultania
Hotel Sultania
#11 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,862 reviews
Sultanahmet
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
BEST WESTERN Empire Palace
#53 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,476 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Sultanhan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Sultanhan Hotel

Property: Sultanhan Hotel
Address: Piyer Loti Cad. No 7 | Sultanahmet-Fatih, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #172 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Sultanhan Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 40
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Cheap Tickets, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Priceline, Travelocity, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Sultanhan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing