We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“VERY NOISY - Don't stay here if you want to sleep”
Review of Gul Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Gul Sultan Hotel
Ranked #218 of 1,154 Hotels in Istanbul
Victoria
Level 2 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“VERY NOISY - Don't stay here if you want to sleep”
Reviewed July 12, 2009

This hotel is very well located, close to Topkapi, both mosques, public transport both tram & train. The hotel room & bathroom was clean and spacious. The rooms at the front have two windows (double glazed) that open to the street. The back rooms have a window but they have been bricked up which makes them dark. The hotel is located next to a hostel. Our room shared a common wall with the hostel and although you could not hear voices through the wall, every time anyone dragged a chair across the tiled floor in the common meal and bar room (open 24 hours) you could hear it through the wall. Despite the double glazed windows the noise from the many open-air restaurants in the street below disturbed our sleep. Most nights it died down around 2am but one night it went on until 4.30am. The breakfast was very disappointing. We were the only patrons at the hotel and we were given one egg, one bread roll, selection of jams, 2 small pieces of packaged cake, a few slices of tomatoes and cucumber and tea or coffee. The refrigerator did not efficently cool. Free internet usage in the foyer if you had your own computer. I would not stay at this hotel due to the noise despite its great location. Paid 60Euros per night.

  • Stayed May 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VictoriaMMs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesur, owner & manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, September 9, 2009
Hi.Dear Victoria,

First, we would like to tell you thanks for having stay at our hotel.The restaurants or bars can't keep stay open after 01:00 a.m because it is forbidden by police so how did you find that they were open 24 hours it is strange. We serve continental open buffet breakfast which is enough but you are right because everyone want to have breakfast with the foods what they like at home I agree with you on this point.But it is in possible to provide all in a boutique hotel.I know people pay to have breakfast for 5-10EUROS around cafes to us 1to 3 of breakfast we serve. You have paid only 60EUROS to stay at our hotel which is normal if we compare hotels around so we think we gave you the service that what you paid.
if you have expect to have good service next time you have stay in a 5 star hotels our best western hotels chain they serve you good breakfast but I guess charge you like 150 - 200 EUROS. We didn't provide a pc for guests use but we have free wireless system or if any guest ask to use pc we let them use our own pc at the reception desk so if you didn't ask, we couldn't do anything for that.
It might be a little bit noisy sometimes because we manage the hotel in city center not in a nature or mountain side.

KIND REGARDS

HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

236 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    143
    75
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
61
69
29
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Almaty
Level 4 Contributor
33 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed April 14, 2009

I have been to this hotel and I found that it was too expensive for what I got (the furniture in the room was quite old and the breackfast was poor)

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank almatyit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cesur, owner & manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, September 1, 2009
Hi.Dear Almatyit,

First, we would like to tell thanks for having stay at our hotel.You had said in your review I didn't get service for what I paid I am sorry but I don't agree with you because usually people get service as big as their paid.I give you an example if you have paid 50 - 60 EUROS for an accommodation you can't expect to have service like paid 100 - 150 EUROS.I think it is in possible all arround the world.I think you have get what you paid because we have provided you a comfortable ,clean room and served the breakfast at our amazing terrace with view of St.Sophia,Blue mosque and Marmara sea .You had talked about the furnutures in the room they were only 3 years old so I didn't understand what you mean probably you got big confuse the hotel you have stayed before us.You had write for our breakfast poor.We have serve almost 20 different types food in breakfast such as yellow cheese,white cheese,cream cheese,black olive,green olive,tomato,cucumber,honey,2 different jam,2 different seasonal fruits,butter,nut
cream,egg,2 different cake,2 different type bread,cherry juice,orange juice,coffe,tea,milk ,cornflakes.
Anyway we are waiting your suggestion for anything that you didn't like and to add something more the breakfast we serve.Take care of yourself.

KIND REGARDS

HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
west coast
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 7, 2008

I just got back from a fantastic trip to Turkey and cannot say enough good things about The Gul Sultan Hostel. Like other reviewers said, the location is perfect, a stone's throw from the Hagia Sophia and a short walk from the Blue Mosque. The hotel is right in the middle of Backpackers Row but this is where you can get a good night's sleep as there is no party scene here. The walls in the bathroom actually shined, they were so clean! The room was spotless. Manager Hamit goes out of his way to be accommodating, which I so appreciated as a lone female traveller. He even woke up at 2:30 am to ensure my airport transfer went smoothly. Istanbul and Turkey have captured my heart and this hotel and the service provided played a part in it.

  • Liked — clean, great location, safe, and wonderful service from staff
  • Disliked — no view out the window
  • Stayed October 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank lilyanna2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Boston, MA
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed July 20, 2008

This is a great hotel in the perfect location in Istanbul. It is right in the heart of the Sultanahmet, near all of the main Istanbul attractions. It is on a street with many other hotels and hostels, but is one of the more modern and newer establishments. Unlike many of the other hotels and hostels, it does not have a bar on the first floor, which my wife and I prefered after a hectic day walking around Istanbul. The rooms were clean and the bathroom was one of the nicer and more spacious ones we encountered in all of Europe. The owner was very helpful and courteous. A great value for the price. I would highly recommend it to other couples, backpackers and families.

  • Liked — Location, value
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank thor4217
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed June 3, 2008

This is a modest but charming and exceptionally clean hotel. Bathrooms are modern; rooms even have crown moldings. Hamit, Metin and his wife are accommodating and friendly.

  • Liked — Cleanliness; friendliness
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
1 Thank VancouverMike1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed May 29, 2008

This lovely little hotel is right in the heart of the Sultanahmet action - just 5 mins from Hagia Sofia & the blue mosque.
The room was basic but a good size, very tidy with a large ensuite bathroom.
The hotel has a roof terrace with views over the Golden Horn.
Breakfast was simple yet adequate.
The owner, Hamit, was very helpful and friendly.

The street is very busy and close to several mosques, so take ear plugs if you want a good nights sleep!

We had an excellent holiday in Istanbul, a fabulous city!

  • Liked — The location and the roof terrace
  • Disliked — The beds were hard
  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank Nesa76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bratislava
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed August 7, 2007

We have spent couple of wonderful days during May 2007 in Istanbul in Gul Sultan Hotel. It is very nice hotel with friendly atmosphere. The hotel is located in the main tourist area, just few minutes away from Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. From the hotel terrace we enjoyed the night view of gorgeously alighted Blue Mosque and Hagia Sofia. The manager, who is also the owner and receptionist, was very kind and helpful. The hotel does not have public internet connection, however hotel manager allowed us to use his private computer couple times. The hotel room was very cozy and nicely furnished. Especially we were very pleased with our bathroom, which could be envied by many western European hotels. The breakfast was served in small hotel dining room and was really delicious. We appreciated the hospitality of Turkish people when the manager and his family shared their dinner with us. We would certainly recommend this hotel for staying in Istanbul.
Peter Pompura & Helena Salatova

  • Stayed May 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
2 Thank pito400
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#201 of 1,154 in Istanbul
496 reviews
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses Hotel
Deniz Houses Hotel
#199 of 1,154 in Istanbul
673 reviews
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#176 of 1,154 in Istanbul
599 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Almina Hotel
Almina Hotel
#78 of 1,154 in Istanbul
504 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#126 of 1,154 in Istanbul
482 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#305 of 1,154 in Istanbul
301 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Sultan Hotel

Property: Gul Sultan Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Akbiyik Caddesi No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#62 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gul Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gul Sultan Hotel is situated on the shores of the Historical Peninsula. Strait next to the the St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque. This places are only few minutes by walk. This was first the site of the recidence from early in 20th century. Has been renovated to hotel at August 2004. Hotel Gul Sultan is brandnewly furnished well decorated and all rooms have private bathroom, hair dryer, international dialing phones, air-condition, with minibar, TV, central heating. Our staff fluently speaks english and will be very happy to assist your trip in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Expedia, Cancelon, Agoda and Hotwire so you can book your Gul Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gul Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing