We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Has it all for budget travelers” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Gul Sultan Hotel

Lowest prices for {0} - {1}
Enter dates for lowest prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
We check up to 200+ sites for the lowest hotel prices
Gul Sultan Hotel
Ranked #216 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Chapala, Mexico
Level Contributor
41 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
“Has it all for budget travelers”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2014

This boutique hotel is ideally located close to the major sites to see in Istanbul. We loved the lively night scene on the street below with good restaurants and some fun shops. The staff was always helpful. Breakfast buffet on the rooftop terrace was abundant. Be prepared for small rooms, but clean and pleasant place.

Room Tip: We actually enjoyed our location on the first floor. Open the window and the street scene is right...
See more room tips
Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
Helpful?
1 Thank alf153
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi.Dear Mr/Mrs,
Thank you for choosing our hotel for your short stay in Istanbul. It is so important for us to follow each kind of review. We pay highest attention to all feedbacks.
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again. Take care of yourself.

BEST REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

230 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    137
    75
    13
    3
    2
See reviews for
58
69
28
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 11, 2014

Gul Sultan Hotel is in an ideal location. Gul Sultan Hotel is situated in Sultan Ahmet historic district within walking distance from Aya Sofia, the Blue Mosque and many other sites. It is very clean and tidy. For 60 euros/a night all taxes inclusive, you get an excellent service, a good breakfast, and free Wi-Fi. The personnel are very friendly, very helpful and trustworthy. Hamit Çelik is the number 1. The bathroom shower is a bit small but can fit a six-foot tall and 100+ Kg weight. It is worth it. I will definitely want to stay there again when I go back to Istanbul. I stayed there from 19th to 26 June 2014. It was sometimes noisy outside as patrons of the bars and restaurants on the street were supporting their favorite teams. The windows are sound proof and you can easily sleep like a baby.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Abdellatif M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi. Dear Abdellatif M,

Thank you very much for sharing this review on Trip Advisor and for your kind comments about our hotel's location and our stuff. We are delighted to read that you enjoyed your time with us and went home with memorable moments not only from the Hotel but also from the Old Town and Istanbul.

We hope you come back and visit us again in the nearest future...

BEST REGARDS,
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mandurah, Australia
Level Contributor
168 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 67 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 8, 2014

Best location! 500 metres to Blue Mosque, Agia Sophia and Topkapi castle.... Walk downstairs and your in a street full of bars and restaurants. Tram and shopping and the Bosphorus are all so close. Hotel is clean and air conditioned and bed was comfy. Breakfast up on the terrace is awesome with views of all above. The lady who cooks breakfast is awesome and makes different treats every day to go with the standards. Highly recommend staying here

Room Tip: Close to everything..... No lift so ask for low floor or carry light luggage
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank MPWEST10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi. Dear Mr/Mrs,

Thank you very much for choosing to stay with us for your visit to Istanbul as well as for writing your comments on your stay. We are happy to hear that hotel's location and breakfast were very good for you. Thank you for complimenting the cleanliness of your room. Guest’s satisfaction is very important to us in striving to provide the best service and to enhance quality of our staff’s.We hope we can have the chance to accommodate you in our hotel again.Take care of yourself.

BEST REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Austin, Texas
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2014

Helpful, flexible staff - available 24/7. Clean, comfortable room with a/c that worked great. Efficient housekeeping every day. Plentiful breakfast in 2-level roof top setting with fine view of water. Good WiFi access. Easy walk to many sites and tram.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled solo
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank R H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi.Dear Mr/Mrs,

First thanks for taking your valuable time to type this great review about our hotel.
We are very happy to read and see on tripadvisor's page all this positive thinking of you.

We wish to see and accommodate you next time you are in Istanbul.Take care of yourfself.

KIND REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We booked at this hotel after reading all the many positive reviews, but were very disappointed. It’s a small scale hotel, without a lift. We were given a room at the back of the hotel, which we thought was good at first because of the busy road at the front. But unfortunately our window was looking out onto a brick wall! It had been built up in front of the window, letting no natural light or air in. Therefor we had to always use the lighting and air-conditioning.

The rooms got cleaned in the mornings if you wished. We found a long black hair in our newly replaced hand towel. Not very nice. We found the personnel not very generous with the toilette paper. There was no spare, and the one there, was always a half (presumably already used before). The last day we ended up having no toilette paper in the early morning. The noise in the hotel was extremely load. You could hear every footstep on the stairs. New guests arriving at night. Just everything. My husband jokingly said if we didn’t know better we would think we were sleeping in a huge hall all together. Shower was not powerful, and the toilette was practically in the shower.

The breakfast was very mediocre. What looked like stale cornflakes, chopped tomatoes and cucumbers, olives and dried apricots was pretty much the lay-out. There was a warm tin with boiled eggs and something that looked like sausage. It was un appetising to see that the only bread to choose from was a chopped baguette. No croissant or anything local, like “simit”. There was a lady there who could make anyone an omelette if they wanted. At first we thought she was one of the guests as she was eating breakfast with her family and smoking a cigarette. The serviette containers were always empty.

The last day we had to leave early at 08:30. There was no one behind the welcoming desk (which was often the case) so nobody to help out with the luggage. My husband ended up carrying them himself down the stairs. We found the cleaner and asked if she knew where to leave the key. She managed to find someone, who after five minutes made a sleepy entrance, rubbing his eyes. We handed him over the key and he rolled the suitcases outside and left my husband to lift them into the car.

Luckily it wasn’t a long stay in Istanbul this time. It’s our fourth time, and this hotel is definitely at the bottom of the list. We are used to much better service and breakfast here in Istanbul, we won’t be coming back. No value for money.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Nora B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dhaka City, Bangladesh
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2014

We really enjoyed our stay. The rooms are very nice and tidy. staffs are warm with welcoming attitude. we enjoyed our breakfast specially loved the omelet that she made. The hotel is very close near Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque and Haga Sophi. it takes only 5 minutes to go there by walking. No need taxi. Hotel surrounded by so many restaurant and food court which is excellent. we really enjoyed. lots of thanks to the staff.

Room Tip: Can enlarge the shower area in the bathroom, felt like a bit tight.
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2014, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Dilshad1986
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi.Dear Dilshad,

First thanks for taking your valuable time to type this great review about our hotel.
We are very happy to read and see on tripadvisor's page all this positive thinking of you.

We wish to see and accommodate you next time you are in Istanbul.Take care of yourfself.

KIND REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denver, Colorado
Level Contributor
116 reviews
67 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 75 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 30, 2014

Traveling as a group we stayed two nights at this small property. The location is fantastIc! The staff is very accommodating, friendly and did everything in advance to make sure our arrival was seamless and our stay enjoyable. Decent breakfast and the rooms are adequate and clean. A little small but that is to be expected in Europe. No elevator. So keep that in mind if you have accessibility issues. I would definitely recommend this hotel and would stay here again.

  • Stayed June 2014, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Juan T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hamit Ç, Manager at Gul Sultan Hotel, responded to this review, March 27, 2016
Hi.Dear Juan,
First thank you for choosing our hotel for your short stay in Istanbul. It is so important for us to follow each kind of review. We pay highest attention to all feedbacks.
We hope to welcome you in our hotel again.

BEST REGARDS
HAMİT ÇELİK
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
The Byzantium Hotel & Suites
#181 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 581 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kaftan Hotel
Kaftan Hotel
#282 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 145 reviews
Sultanahmet
Dara Hotel Istanbul
Dara Hotel Istanbul
#255 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 483 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Deniz Houses
Deniz Houses
#202 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 662 reviews
Sultanahmet
Spinel Hotel
Spinel Hotel
#577 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 49 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
Sultanahmet Cesme Hotel
#296 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 209 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Sultan Hotel

Property: Gul Sultan Hotel
Address: Sultanahmet Akbiyik Caddesi No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#12 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#70 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#93 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Gul Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gul Sultan Hotel is situated on the shores of the Historical Peninsula. Strait next to the the St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque. This places are only few minutes by walk. This was first the site of the recidence from early in 20th century. Has been renovated to hotel at August 2004. Hotel Gul Sultan is brandnewly furnished well decorated and all rooms have private bathroom, hair dryer, international dialing phones, air-condition, with minibar, TV, central heating. Our staff fluently speaks english and will be very happy to assist your trip in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotel.de and Hotels.com so you can book your Gul Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gul Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing