We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Centrally located”
Review of Gul Sultan Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Gul Sultan Hotel
Ranked #237 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 25, 2013

I had just few days in Istanbul. Gul Sultan was fairly priced compare to others, right at the heart of tourist attractions Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque and Topeka Palace. Place was clean and breakfast was great. I travel now and then and most of the time get to stay at the high end hotels. Compare to what I paid at this place, breakfast was good and had Turkish touch to it. I would definitely recommend this place for fellow travelers. Oh Yes! in the weekends, music can get louder at the street below. But it was nice music going on. Ocean view from the roof top was plus as well. My two thumbs up to Istanbul and Gul Sultan Hotel.

Room Tip: I stayed at the second floor facing towards the main street and the room was nice.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ParameshAdhikari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (236)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 236 reviews

Reviewed November 9, 2013

Stayed here for 3 nights. Hamit is an incredibly hospitable host. The room was spotless and the breakfast was excellent! Yes there is no elevator but the staff are more than happy to help with your bags. The location is excellent and we had no problems with noise. The hotel next door looked crowded and this was far more peaceful. Hamit even looked after our bags after we checked out and went out to visit Selcuk for two days. On return he made sure that we found our way to the airport without any problems. Would definitely recommend this little spot!

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jon C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 8, 2013

As a first impression the staff where very friendly, helpful and the room very clean.
What I've liked when I chose this hotel was the positioning and the fact that everybody had good feedback regarding the help that you will get, which became true.
Please take in consideration that is a 3* Hotel and if you are using it just for the night and for resting during the day, this is just perfect.
You want some information about the sites? Just ask! People will be very kind to help you
You want to go in a cruise? Just ask! People will be very kind to help you
You want to go back to the airport without head eaks? ;) Yap...you've got the point

So from my side...5* rating for what they promises as a 3* hotel

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank SirShadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 31, 2013

The staff were very helpful and friendly. Thanks for all of them. Although the street was noisy, but in the same time was entertaining. The hotel is central, very near to an interesting places.
unfortunately, No elevator (only 3 floors),
The same breakfast every day.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank msc32002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I'm not too picky, and I am a sound sleeper. But when there is raucous music and revelers from the cafes directly below and across this hotel that lasts until 1 am (even on weeknights!), it is impossible to get a good night's sleep.

That being said, the people were helpful, and the breakfast was great.

Room Tip: Perhaps better if you aren't facing the street, but we had a triple and they all face the street
See more room tips
Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
1  Thank bill_shadow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2013

This was a moderately priced hotel in a very historic area in Istanbul. In fact, it is only a few blocks walk to the Haja Sophia mosque, the Blue Mosque and Topkapi Palace. The rooms are very nice and comfortable, even those on the street side of the hotel, which can be very noisy because of the large number of Cafes and restaurants nearby. But the double glass windows appear to help somewhat minimize the sound. The Owner is very personable and helpful with any necessary transportation arrangements, and speaks English reasonably well.

As in most cases in this area, the rooms come with breakfast in their roof dining room. They usually serve a selection of olives, cheeses, cold cuts, fruit, eggs, etc. and they will also make up omelets if desired. This dining room also has a small view of the Bosphorus.

If you are in Istanbul for business or pleasure, this is a good place to stop.

Room Tip: Rooms outside would have a view of the street and cafes along it. Rooms inside might be quieter, if...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Marshall S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2013

This hotel is in a good location for seeing many historical sites and the owner is helpful with obtaining a van to get to the airport. Because of the many restaurants in the vicinity, there is noise into the night from the music and people.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Luba Y
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#207 of 1,163 in Istanbul
503 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Peninsula
Hotel Peninsula
#245 of 1,163 in Istanbul
620 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#148 of 1,163 in Istanbul
489 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#140 of 1,163 in Istanbul
545 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#364 of 1,163 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#485 of 1,163 in Istanbul
365 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Gul Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Gul Sultan Hotel

Address: Sultanahmet Akbiyik Caddesi No 9 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#69 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#92 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $26 - $90 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Gul Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 8
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Gul Sultan Hotel is situated on the shores of the Historical Peninsula. Strait next to the the St. Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque. This places are only few minutes by walk. This was first the site of the recidence from early in 20th century. Has been renovated to hotel at August 2004. Hotel Gul Sultan is brandnewly furnished well decorated and all rooms have private bathroom, hair dryer, international dialing phones, air-condition, with minibar, TV, central heating. Our staff fluently speaks english and will be very happy to assist your trip in Istanbul. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Cancelon, Hotels.com and Hotwire so you can book your Gul Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hotel Gul Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing