We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel: location & price”
Review of Hotel Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mosaic
Ranked #507 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed June 17, 2013

Welcomed families (as many hotels I researched didn't want children <6yo). Friendly, English-speaking staff and good size room. Great breakfast buffet. Good location, a walk to sites or only a few minutes to Metro stop that got you anywhere in the area.

On the downside, we looked forward to relaxing /playing in the pool with the kids at the end of the day, so were very disappointed that the pool was freezing cold! Walls are paper thin, so you hear everything your neighbours say & do!

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GSene
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (195)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

43 - 49 of 195 reviews

Reviewed June 13, 2013

A conveniently-located hotel, only a few blocks from the tram line; near the Grand Bazaar and Sultanahmet Mosque; friendly staff; delicious and expansive breakfast buffet. The rooms are adequate, but not huge.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SueDKruse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 12, 2013

As part of our Gate 1 Turkey travel we stayed at Mosaic Hotel which is ideally located at the
center of the city. On our first day we walked from our hotel to the Grand Bazaar, Underground Cistern and Topkapi Palace. Room was clean and staff very helpful and friendly. Dinner and breakfast buffet was great and there were a lot of choices. We specially enjoyed the fish entree and eggplant dish and the baklava dessert was fantastic. Restaurant staff very attentive. Will definitely stay at this hotel on our next visit to Istanbul. Would also like to thank Gate1 for a most enjoyable and memorable trip. Our tour guide Mesut was exceptionally organized and very knowledgable. Our driver Shaban was a gem he drove safely and kept the bus spic and span.
We are already plannning our next tour with Gate1 next year to Croatia.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank EdDitas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 6, 2013 via mobile

We stayed at the hotel Vicenza and mosaic while being in Istanbul. Mosaic hotel Doesent have the luxury room like the other hotel but they certainly compensate with they're service which is implacable! Staff is very friendly which I couldn't say about the other hotel, guest relation desk girl made our stay so much more enjoyable! When u ask for something it's getting delivered. Food is also much better. Yet the rooms needs updating and especially the bathrooms which had a bit of mold and were tiny. But if u overlook that side everything else is spot on.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Asilisa K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 29, 2013

We stayed in the Mosaic hotel for 3 nights, and have absolutely no complaints about our stay.

Hotel staff here speak excellent English, and were very helpful in a number of different situations.

However, I would suggest that the overall standard of this hotel is closer to a 3.5* rating rather than a traditional US/European 4* hotel rating.

This hotel is ideally located if you fancy exploring Istanbul on your own, without using the local taxis, as it is either close to, or easily accessible to, a number of the main tourist attractions e.g.

> Grand Bazaar - 10 mins walk
> Kumkapi fish restaurants - 30 mins walk
> Tram (Laleli/Universite) - 5 mins walk - direct tram to Sultanahmet/Taksim Square
> Metro station (Akrasay) - 15 mins walk - direct Metro to Ataturk airport

Our hotel room was fairly compact, but perfectly clean, and all of the facilities were adequate :
- TV, Safe in room, free wireless internet, bath/shower with constant hot water etc.

The buffet breakfast was excellent, with a full range of offerings from pastries/muffins/croissants to the more mediterannean-style (bread, olives, cheese, cold meats), and also had a hot breakfast available (eggs, sausage, beans, tomatoes etc.).

Mosaic hotel has a traditional spa, swimming pool, sauna, steam room, and of course turkish bath, which is free for hotel guests (only between 12-6pm daily).

Overall, I would recommend this hotel as a mid-price option ($150 p/night), situated in a central location, with helpful and attentive hotel staff.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank fleagle29
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel sits perfectly in the heart of Istanbul. Conveniently located near every tourist site: Grand Bazaar, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Spice Bazaar with minor travel. Very small rooms, ostentatiously attractive decor, but such thin walls, you can hear what your neighbor is thinking...LOL! Also, be prepared to be awaken by roosters crowing (yes roosters); however, the morning call to prayer was beautiful and will take your breath away.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MoonLightOnWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is pretty good all things considered, but I think I'd stay somewhere nicer when I go back to Istanbul.

Pros: Location is excellent, breakfast is included and has many options, our room was comfortable, free wireless, friendly staff, laundry service was quick (husband ran out of undershirts)

Cons: weird energy saving lights in hallway that turn off after about 10 seconds, housekeeping/minibar attendants don't necessarily knock before coming into your room (sometimes at odd hours, like 8:30 am), bedding is only fitted sheet and a thin blanket- no full sheet, thin walls, weak wireless signal in rooms with weak security (username and password are your room number), room service dishes not removed after three days (I put them in the hall myself)

In all, it was a pleasant stay, but there are a lot of things that could be improved. I don't know who hands out stars to hotels, but this is not a 4 star by American standards. More like a 3.5 due to odd quirks.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank dmanning03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
Hotel Zurich Istanbul
#493 of 1,163 in Istanbul
181 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#728 of 1,163 in Istanbul
409 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#394 of 1,163 in Istanbul
286 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
The Time Hotel Old City
The Time Hotel Old City
#731 of 1,163 in Istanbul
197 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Zagreb Hotel
Zagreb Hotel
#595 of 1,163 in Istanbul
294 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Vicenza
Hotel Vicenza
#527 of 1,163 in Istanbul
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic

Address: Vidinli Tevfik Pasa Cad. No:21 | Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#112 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#330 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $63 - $103 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mosaic 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in central Istanbul is half a mile from the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. It offers a gym and a spa with an indoor pool and Turkish hammam.Mosaic Hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with an LCD TV, minibar and private bathrooms. Some rooms have a balcony.The Mosaic has a complete spa with a sauna and solarium. The hotel’s gym features cardio equipment and free weights.Guests of the Mosaic can start their day with a rich buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinner, the restaurant offers an a varied menu as well as an open-buffet. Live music entertainment is also a regular feature at Mosaic Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Splitty, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Cancelon, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing