We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Attractive But Noisy”
Review of Hotel Mosaic

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Hotel Mosaic
Ranked #483 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Attractive But Noisy”
Reviewed May 21, 2013

This hotel sits perfectly in the heart of Istanbul. Conveniently located near every tourist site: Grand Bazaar, Sultanahmet Mosque, Topkapi Palace, Spice Bazaar with minor travel. Very small rooms, ostentatiously attractive decor, but such thin walls, you can hear what your neighbor is thinking...LOL! Also, be prepared to be awaken by roosters crowing (yes roosters); however, the morning call to prayer was beautiful and will take your breath away.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MoonLightOnWater
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

192 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    39
    95
    46
    4
    8
See reviews for
36
67
17
18
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

This hotel is pretty good all things considered, but I think I'd stay somewhere nicer when I go back to Istanbul.

Pros: Location is excellent, breakfast is included and has many options, our room was comfortable, free wireless, friendly staff, laundry service was quick (husband ran out of undershirts)

Cons: weird energy saving lights in hallway that turn off after about 10 seconds, housekeeping/minibar attendants don't necessarily knock before coming into your room (sometimes at odd hours, like 8:30 am), bedding is only fitted sheet and a thin blanket- no full sheet, thin walls, weak wireless signal in rooms with weak security (username and password are your room number), room service dishes not removed after three days (I put them in the hall myself)

In all, it was a pleasant stay, but there are a lot of things that could be improved. I don't know who hands out stars to hotels, but this is not a 4 star by American standards. More like a 3.5 due to odd quirks.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank dmanning03
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Detroit, Michigan
Level Contributor
55 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed May 17, 2013

It’s all about location and this hotel is perfectly close to old Istanbul. Don't need to take a cab. The staff was nice and kind. The place was clean and had Wi-Fi. The rooms were small and so were the elevators and the beds hard. However, the food at this place is great. Great breakfast choices and great dinners. Close to some wonderful restaurants, close to everything really. For the price it was nice. Would I stay here again? Maybe not because of the size of the rooms and the beds being very hard and no blankets. However, if you want a nice hotel for a decent price this is the place to be.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iDreemer
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pittsburgh, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 9, 2013

We spent two nights pre- and post-tour with another couple, so not really price conscious. We had rooms overlooking the back both times, so we didn't have to put up with the noisy bar outside.
Rooms were clean, comfortable, and of adequate size for tourists who spend most of their time outside.Location is close enough to the major attractions. Buffet breakfast was good with lots of variety. Staff was friendly and helpful.

Room Tip: Ask for room in back, away from the sidewalk restaurant/bar.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank HKapp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alameda, California
Level Contributor
120 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed in this hotel with a tour for 2 nights and the location is great but the room is so small with a tiny closet. They have a small television set in the room and the bathroom sink does not have a stopper on it. The breakfast in the hotel was good but staff speaks very limited English. The restaurants across the hotels were very competitive with men standing in front of their restaurant with very aggressive way to " invite " you into their place. I don't think that I would like to go back and stay at this hotel again.

Room Tip: Rooms for the tourist group are usually small.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank John1516
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Forest, Virginia
Level Contributor
318 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 80 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2013

We stayed 2 nights each at the beginning and end of a tour. Our first room was small with 2 hard twin beds right by the elevator. We complained and our second stay we got a larger room with better padded twin beds away from the elevator.The food was good if you eat the typical Turkish diet. We do not, so we had to pick through to find items we would eat. The walls are thin so you hear your neighbors. Husband had 2 massages in the spa. Both were good and the cost was reasonable. If we had been picking a place to stay we would have picked a nicer place, but it is a great location for exploring the old city.

Room Tip: Back from the street front, away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SUSANCROUCH
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Waxahachie, Texas
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2013

Toured with Gate 1 Travel in April, 2013, and this hotel was on our itinerary at the beginning and the end. My husband and I took our own transportation to get to the hotel from the airport: Metro for a few minutes, then off and up to catch the "tram" a few more stops. Hotel is just a couple of blocks then from the tram stop. Easy trip. We were told a taxi would be around $40 to the airport.
Our room was nice both visits, and comparable to most of the other hotels on the trip. Breakfast buffet was fairly good. Problem: "the air conditioner is not working." This was told to us at every hotel on our visit throughout Turkey though.
Since the Grand Bazaar is a quick taxi ride, we did venture there on our own. Staff for the most part was cordial, but I wouldn't say "warm".
If we ever returned to Istanbul I would stay there again.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NxMom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich
Hotel Zurich
#525 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#298 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Klas Hotel
Klas Hotel
#551 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 397 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
#398 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 270 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Grand Washington
Hotel Grand Washington
#539 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 156 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Hamidiye
Hotel Hamidiye
#753 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mosaic? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mosaic

Property: Hotel Mosaic
Address: Vidinli Tevfik Pasa Cad. No:21 | Laleli, Fatih, Istanbul 34490, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#314 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Hotel Mosaic 4*
Number of rooms: 119
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This modern hotel in central Istanbul is half a mile from the Grand Bazaar and Spice Bazaar. It offers a gym and a spa with an indoor pool and Turkish hammam.Mosaic Hotel features tastefully decorated guest rooms with an LCD TV, minibar and private bathrooms. Some rooms have a balcony.The Mosaic has a complete spa with a sauna and solarium. The hotel’s gym features cardio equipment and free weights.Guests of the Mosaic can start their day with a rich buffet breakfast. For lunch and dinner, the restaurant offers an a varied menu as well as an open-buffet. Live music entertainment is also a regular feature at Mosaic Hotel. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Hotwire, Orbitz, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Hotel Mosaic reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Mosaic Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing