We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“An excellently compiled quick overview” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Istanbul Modern Museum

Istanbul Modern Museum
Book In Advance
More Info
$45.00*
and up
Istanbul Small-Group Tour Including Dolmabahce Palace and Luxury Transport
Ranked #18 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Fee: Yes
Recommended length of visit: 1-2 hours
Owner description: Temporary and permanent exhibition halls, photography gallery, cinema hall, video art area and new media art area make up the platform that presents diverse forms of art that can be experienced at Istanbul Modern in addition to an arts library, a shop that combines design with art and its cafe and restaurant that offers its visitors a fantastic view of Istanbul.
Pristina, Kosovo
Level Contributor
224 reviews
104 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“An excellently compiled quick overview”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 9, 2014

Great location by the water, great collection spanning the past near 100 years of turkish art. For us it was a fairly wide ranging and very useful introduction to modern art in Turkey.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank diggadoo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,554 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    947
    457
    110
    27
    13
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Czech first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
40 reviews
21 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“Nice museum, stupid staff”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 7, 2014

A small museum with not too bad collection of contemporary artists.
The only problem we had was that the staff are not very friendly and gave me a hard time regarding my shoe bag that was on my back. They demanded that this little bag will stay at the cloack room while everyone else were in holding their massive bags on their hand.
Also you can not take photos of the exhibitions. Why? No one knows.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nil F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coronado, California
Level Contributor
7 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A must see”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2014

If you like modern art! On par with any major city in the world except missing those famous, recognizable names but who cares when the pieces are fascinating and thought provoking. Also, within walking distance to the port where my cruise ship was docked.

Visited November 2013
Helpful?
Thank Mayson H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
Level Contributor
166 reviews
15 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Loved it”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

I love this museaumn because different than other ones in Istanbul. Itsi right on the water and I thought the art selected was riviting and worth my time. I will definitely go back on another trip to spend more time exploring the different exhibits.

Visited August 2013
Helpful?
Thank Fatemeh L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
12 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“an place to visit”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

a museum intensely pleasurable to walk through, The exhibits at that time were splendid. I felt a strong urge to make pics of some art work but could not however many tourists with camera phones managed to sneak in some discreet pics

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank enarayanan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Istanbul Modern Museum also viewed

 

Been to Istanbul Modern Museum? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing