We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Gay Friendly & Excellent hospitality & Personalized customer service”
Review of Ajia Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Ajia Hotel
Ranked #483 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Los Angeles, California
1 review
“Gay Friendly & Excellent hospitality & Personalized customer service”
Reviewed November 17, 2010

After flying from LA, Ajia was perfect.....

We spent 4 nights here and chose it based on trip advisor recommendation.Ajia Hotel met my expectations.The hotel is small but provides personal service.We were upgraded to Pasha Suite. Turkish breakfast was included.

You will enjoy stunning views of the Bosphorus, fisherman boats and ships cruising up and down
I stronlgy recommend this GAY FRIENDLY hotel, you will not be disappointed

Now,we're in Kempinski Bodrum.....

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gayfriend
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskudarli, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, November 19, 2010
It was a pleasure to learn that you had a nice stay in Istanbul and at our property.Thank you indeed for your nice comments and, above all, for sharing your impressions with other GAY travelers who may find them valuable when selecting their hotel in Istanbul. We are looking forward to welcoming you again in our hotel the next time.

Kind Regards,

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

178 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    96
    46
    15
    9
    12
See reviews for
17
107
11
17
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (32)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
UK
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 19, 2010

We stayed at the A'jia just as Ramadam ended so the city was in full holiday mode. Initially we thought it was a little too far out of the way but in fact it was a true oasis of calm to return to each night where we sat watching the boats come and go from our little balcony over-looking the Bosphorous. The food was excellent and it was lovely to sit on the river-side terrace both for breakfast and dinner both nights. Great service and very quiet, restful sleep too. We will definitely go back...

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank CDubUK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskudarli, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, April 16, 2011
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your break vacation at Ajia Hotel.

We're glad that you received great service from our staff and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back.

Warm Wishes

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington DC, District of Columbia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2010

Stayed one evening and hotel made series of gross offenses--first mistake was not letting my friend whose name the room was booked under, check in (how could hotel of such standard make such a gross mistake?!) She had to check into another hotel as she was told room was no longer available; causing much inconvenience. Ajia further billed my card without my approval, and management was unresponsive despite multiple attempts to contact them, and messages left with desk and despite promises they would get in touch with me. I was never able to speak to a hotel manager; after over three weeks since incident occurred. Issue remains unresolved and am shocked how a hotel can have such unprofessional, uresponsive service. Management that is reportedly on holiday for a week an unable to make decisions. Hotel is indeed beautifully situated with well appointed rooms, but am shocked at extent how the management can firstly make such a gross mistake at check-in, charge my card without my consent (going against their word), and be so unresponsive (despite telling me they'd get back to me). Never had such a nightmare experience with service/billing with any hotel; appalling and needless to say frustrating. Leaves a bad taste, unfortunate as otherwise a lovely, romantic hotel.

Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
Helpful?
1 Thank mimster_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskudarli, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, August 23, 2010
Having read your comment below, we regrettably would like to state that we do not assent to the allegations in the letter below. To summarize what really happened once again:

It is definitely out of question for a hotel management to prevent a guest’s check in to the room that is already booked under her name. Your friend did not show up for check in that day and you came instead. At the check in, the front desk was informed that you would be sharing the room with your friend. So, after receiving your passport photocopy and your signed registiration you were showed to your room. On the day of the check out, you refused to pay for the room explaining that the room was to be paid by someone else. We agreed that we would hold the payment until you would return to us regarding this issue. After waiting for some time and still not receiving any response from you, we rightfully charged the payment to your credit card.

During our several phone conversations, we asked from you to send us a detailed email about this issue. As we tried to explain you many times before, you surely have the right to pay for half of the room charges as long as the other half is paid by the other guest sharing the room with you. As you will recall, we suggested that your friend sends us a detailed mail about the payment etc. We also asked you how the payment terms of this second half would be. You told us that you would find out and get back to us as soon as possible.

The person who was supposed to share the room with you that night was also a friend of the wedding owner whose wedding was taking place at the same date of your accomodation. We told you that we would like to discuss this matter with the wedding owner to find a solution but this attempt was also refused by you.

We are sorry , but once again we would like to state that we cannot credit your account until we receive the other half of the room charges.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Warm Wishes
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 1, 2010

The Ajia Hotel is a stunning 5 star boutique hotel, balanced on top of the impressive shores of the Bosphorous.

This once Ottoman Palace, boasts contemporary interiors balanced with imposing and centuries old architecture.

With its breathtaking sea views and white washed walls, the Ajia promises a truly unique experience.

Just a short boat ride to neighbouring villages or an approx 40 minute ferry journey into the old town, ensures you have a relaxed and peaceful stay, while still being close enough to enjoy the hustle and bustle Istanbul has to offer.

The hotel's traditional, mouth watering Turkish breakfast also ensures you start the day on a full stomach.

This idyllic hotel is also a prime consideration for events.

We loved our stay and will be returning in the near future.

Thanks again to Mete and the team for their warm hospitality and service!

Highly recommended!

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank InSearchoftheBest
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New York
Level 3 Contributor
17 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed July 23, 2010

We stayed at the beautiful A'jia Hotel after we had spend 12 days on the European side of Istanbul and in Kusadasi. For us, the location on the more quiet and serene Asian side was ideal. We did not feel disconnected because the hotel's water taxi was available to take us across the Bosphorus whenever we needed it. In fact, the one time the taxi was not available, the hotel concierge arranged for another water taxi and covered the cost! When we made our first trip across the Bosphorus to the Sabanci Museum, a hotel bellman accompanied us to be sure we'd be OK. This was above and beyond what we expected.
The hotel decor is minimalist, open and serene. Extremely comfortable. And our spacious room (with both a shower and bathtub) had a deck and Bosphorus view.
The staff had a warm and friendly attitude and tended to our every need. We had dinner at the hotel's restaurant two out of three nights and the food was excellent. I'd call it Turkish with a European flair. We also found their wine list prices were lower than at most other restaurants we'd been to in our prior travels. Certainly a plus.
We will go back again the next time we visit Istanbul.

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lv222
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskudarli, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
Thank you for taking time and giving us such a detailed feedback.We are happy to hear that you enjoyed your overall experience.

It has been a pleasure to welcome you and we look forward to welcoming you again to A'jia Hotel, in the near future when your travels bring you back to the area!

All the best

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Los Angeles, California
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed July 10, 2010

I booked the hotel based upon trip advisor reviews.Absolutely stunning location, directly at the Bosphorus, with huge terrace.The staff are very enthusiastic.I would definitely recommend this hotel to anyone who looks for class.
In all, this is an amazing property. If you can deal with a location that is a little out of the way for tourists, it is a wonderful place to stay

I will definitely go back again and again to Ajia....

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank helenusa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
muskudarli, Manager at Ajia Hotel, responded to this review, July 25, 2010
We appreciate you taking the time to comment on your recent stay with us and pleasure to hear that you did enjoy your break vacation at Ajia Hotel.

We're glad that you received great service from our staff and will coach our team members to continually improve.

We are looking forward to welcoming you back

Warm Wishes

Mete
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Baltimore
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed July 2, 2010

Many told us we would be staying on the "wrong side of the river" by choosing Ajia Hotel. Wrong!! It is on the Asian side and about 40 mins from the heart of the action in Istanbul and that IS A VERY GOOD THING! What a wonderful, intimate hotel; exactly what we needed after a long day of sight seeing and shopping. Fabulous restaurant right on the Bosphorus that was delicious, intimate, romantic and sexy!! The staff ratio to just 15 rooms was impressive. Book it NOW!

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Secondhandgirl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Uskudar
Sumahan on the Water
Sumahan on the Water
#225 of 1,149 in Istanbul
377 reviews
Uskudar
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
Bosphorus Palace Hotel
#361 of 1,149 in Istanbul
177 reviews
Besiktas
Les Ottomans
Les Ottomans
#435 of 1,149 in Istanbul
70 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Fuat Pasa Yalisi
#701 of 1,149 in Istanbul
80 reviews
The Grand Tarabya
#63 of 1,149 in Istanbul
490 reviews
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Ajia Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Ajia Hotel

Property: Ajia Hotel
Address: Cubuklu Cad. Ahmet Rasim Pasa Yalisi No:27 Kanlica, Beykoz, Istanbul 34812, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #483 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Ajia Hotel 5*
Number of rooms: 16
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
A’jia Hotel awarded by the 2009 Condé Nast Johansens Award for Excellence as “Most Excellent Charming Hotel” in Europe.A distinguished boutique Hotel, a’jia is a traditional Ottoman mansion that jewels the Asian shores of the Bosphorus. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Booking.com, Orbitz, Expedia, Prestigia, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire and Cancelon so you can book your Ajia Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing