We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Too expensive and zero atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of North Shields Pub

North Shields Pub
Ranked #43 of 440 Nightlife in Istanbul
Attraction details
Dublin, Ireland
Level Contributor
170 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Too expensive and zero atmosphere”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 3, 2013

Not too much else to say about this really. Cheese plate was fine but the price was offside. Dearer for a glass of red wine and a beer than much nicer restaurants nearby so we will be giving this one a miss in future

Visited January 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank tincan06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

30 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    8
    7
    5
    3
    7
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
San Francisco, California
Level Contributor
162 reviews
47 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 81 helpful votes
“Elegant pub to have drinks and a surprisingly good meal”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 5, 2013 via mobile

Fish and chips and club sandwich were excellent. Cosmo not bad either. Excellent service, decor and location in Beyglou. Little pricey at $12 US each for Cosmo and fish& chips. Expected for trendy area and swanky decor. Beautiful patrons a nice plus.

Helpful?
Thank Desigal7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bristol, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
101 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 57 helpful votes
“Overpriced smaltz”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 4, 2013

Directed towards this pub as the best Sports Bar around . Attempts have clearly been made with the decor to recreate an Irish / NY bar . Whilst the game we wanted to watch was listed on the boards outside it wasn't showing - " problems with the satellite" = understandable. However the staff were surly and the price of drinks the highest we experienced in Turkey . We had it in mind to revisit for the following days screening of the big local football derby , but as the 1st experience was far from pleasant we opted to view the game at a community based sports club which provided a cha house packed with enthused ( albeit sober) fans who watched the game through a haze of Shisha smoke.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank BrislBB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens, Greece
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“awful service”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 25, 2012

We went for some beers, after we paid we were waiting our change back, after we informed the waiter that we need our change 10liras back, he told us they thought that was tip,then he told us he provided us nuts without changing us we should be happy, also he asked us to move to a smaller table right away, also start speaking Turkish to us, we felt that he tried to steal our money, and after we argued with him, he didn't feel sorry but instead behaved really hostile to us

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank konstantinosgk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Edinburgh
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Football fans paradise!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 14, 2012

Visited this pub three times during a ten day stay in Istanbul. Not the cheapest, it has to be said, but very comfortable and welcoming. Our last visit there was on the evening of Tuesday 2 October. It was a Champions League night. Pub has five sizeable screens. The early evening kick-off was Spartak Moscow v Celtic, on ALL five screens!!! After that game (a satisfactory win for Celtic) FIVE more games were shown simultaneuosly on the screens. Don't get that in our local back in Edinburgh. Almost got a cricked neck trying to take everything in. Truly a multinational crowd in the pub as everybody was able to soak up Cluge v Man. United, Benfica v Barcelona, Galatassary v Braga, Bate Borisov v Bayern Munich and Juventus v Shakhtar Donetsk. Great noisy atmosphere but very friendly too. Every time a goal was scored the bar staff marked the occasion with the ring of a large bell at the bar. Great fun was had by all!!!!!

Visited October 2012
Helpful?
Thank BigGEdinburgh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed North Shields Pub also viewed

 
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to North Shields Pub? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing