We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Mostly crap”
2 of 5 bubbles Review of Kapali Carsi

Kapali Carsi
Ranked #19 of 536 Shopping in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brussels, Belgium
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
“Mostly crap”
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2013

Very famous place, probably the first thing I've ever heard about Istanbul. My parents were there a number of years ago and have great memories, my aunt also went a few times and liked it. We found it quite poor. The overwhelming majority of stuff is poorly made fakes and in the little shops where they sell, say, fur, prices are cosmic. No particularly friendly service as opposed to my parents' recollection who were served tea and chatted up for hours just like that, no obligation. People nowadays are much more openly money-oriented and especially young vendors have completely lost the old habit of courting their customer. We actually only had that in a luxurious carpet shop completely outside the bazaar.Not that they have to, but that's after all what they are famous for!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank KallinaS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

347 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    156
    127
    49
    11
    4
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
353 reviews
168 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 128 helpful votes
“Nirvana for shopaholics”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2013

Spent several hours here over 6 days. As a self professed shopaholic, this place is pretty fantastic. My advice is to shop around a bit before you start to buy and offer half or less from where the vendors start. Don't be afraid to walk away, if you are even close to a good price, they won't let you get far.

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank JLandMike
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Istanbul, Turkey
Level Contributor
31 reviews
9 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 36 helpful votes
“First Mall in the World”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

I often go to Kapali Carsi. It's not only for tourists but a market loved and visited by the locals too. Even if you don't intend buying anything it's a must for the atmosphere. You will most probably be tempted to do quite a bit of shopping. Don't accept the opening price, you must definitely bargain.

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank Nevhiz D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Athens
Level Contributor
43 reviews
26 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“worth going”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 26, 2013

it is surely a good place to go. a big bazaar place with thousands of little stores and million things to buy...i wouldn't recommend buying. it is quite expensive. you could find the same things much cheaper outside the bazaar. bargain, bargain, bargain!

Visited March 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Hlektra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
athens
Level Contributor
125 reviews
13 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Bazaar”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 19, 2013 via mobile

I have been several times in this bazaar. People love to visit this chaotic place just to get an idea of the local color and the street commerce. The problem these days that there are no more bargains in this place and somebody might end up buying Chinese fake products. Even the local food products are more pricey than stores outside the bazaar. Some people attribute that to the high rent stores have to pay because of the number of tourists it attract.

Helpful?
1 Thank ROSHAWK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kapali Carsi also viewed

 

Been to Kapali Carsi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing