We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“From hell to heaven..”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Mevlana Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Mevlana Hotel
Ranked #548 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Zagreb, Croatia
Level Contributor
54 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“From hell to heaven..”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 3, 2012

.. I spent 5 nights at Mevlana Hotel in Istanbul and just returned couple of days ago. Hotel has a great location 2min walking distance from Blue Mosque and Aja Sofija, and it's close to alot of turist attractions, boats for Bosphor ride & trip to Asian side as well as to other parts of the European side (Taksim, Galata tower, Dolmabahce Palace). Now the main problem was when we arrived we got a room in the basment with two tiny windows which were very high but really they were in street level, and street cats were standing on them since we had to open the window to let some fresh air in since the AC wasn't working good. Also we couldn't sleep because at 2am bunch of little kids were sitting in front of hotel singing and talking really loud with their parents (?!?) 1 meter from our basment window, we could only see their feet. The room we booked was economy but the pictures on web sites like booking.com showed the pictures not of economy room, but of the better ones, and also on hotels web site there was not an description of a room which would have to say that economy room is either in basment (like in dungeon, or on the opposite side of the street and has a wall view. The next morning we went to the reception an told them our story because we could not sleep more then 15min with out getting woked up, and the gentlmen with the short black hair at the reception (forgot his name sorry) said that he understands and that he will give us an upgrade to a better room on the third floor with a street view. The room was very nice big with a lot of light and air and really we had a feeling that we were in some other hotel. So if you choose to stay at Mevlana (I think it is definetly good value for money) please choose the better room not the economy one!! Rest of our stay at Mevlana was great, breakfast is ok (could be better) but the staff was very, very nice and gave us a lot of tips and help regarding Istanbul and I would like to thank them once again for that. If you are coming from Ataturk airport the tram will live you at the Blue Mosque and you can walk to the hotel.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank vucibatina
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

278 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    116
    112
    30
    11
    9
See reviews for
28
129
36
6
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Any
English first
Birmingham, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
21 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 29, 2012

Just returned from a few days spent in Istanbul, what a "full on" city! We loved the frenetic pace of the place with the craziness of the bazaars, the never-ending crowds around Galata Bridge (on Eminönü end you have to try the fish sandwich cooked on a floating kitchen for 5 TL) and the beauty and majesty of its key historic sites. We booked 4 nights at Mevlana through hotels.com and got a great price for B & B. Located right at the top of the hill just below the Blue Mosque, the hotel sits in a great location. Close by are lots of restaurants, bars and cafes. It’s an easy stroll to the other key sites (Aya Sofia (Hagia Sophia)/ Topkapi Palace/ Basilica Cistern / Blue Mosque) Once you get your bearings, it’s not that difficult to find your way to the Spice and Grand Bazaar either. Using the trams is easy, but buying a pass makes the journeys much cheaper.

The hotel is small, and the rooms well finished, clean and cosy. Breakfast is a buffet style the same each day and ok for getting a snack and a drink, but we soon preferred to buy a Simit and wander the area each morning. However, the view from the restaurant and the roof top terrace was great. (Sea one side and the Blue Mosque the other) Only one issue that I would say we had was that each hotel room door had a spring to close it quite strongly and some guests just let the thing slam! It was not so good one night when a few returned late! Overall, I would fully recommend the hotel for a place to stay in Istanbul. The local airport shuttle at 15 TL for the return was very good value as well.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank LD07JULY2015
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevlanaboutiquehotel, Manager at Mevlana Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your comments about your stay at Mevlana Boutique Hotel.

The springs behind the room doors will be adjusted by our technicians as soon as possible to prevent any further disturbance.

We wish to see you in Istanbul once again in the near future.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Saskatoon
Level Contributor
31 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 62 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 27, 2012

We spent 5 nights at this hotel located in the old city in Istanbul. We walked everwhere, 5 minures to Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque. At breakfast, included, you overlook the Bosphorus our one window and the Blue mosque out the other. The front desk staff was really helpful. The rooms were clean, the location couldn't be better and the valuye was exceptional.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Saska2n
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevlanaboutiquehotel, Manager at Mevlana Hotel, responded to this review, October 30, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind words about your stay at Mevlana Boutique Hotel. We wish to see you in Istanbul once again.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scarborough, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
43 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 19, 2012

I agree with previous reviewers of this hotel in that it is very well located and Enis at the front desk could not have been more helpful and that the rooftop terrace is great and the views are superb etc However, we stayed there for 6 nights in October and our sleep was disturbed on 5 of them by strange nocturnal goings-on! There were "guests" coming and going at all hours - there would be giggling and talking, girls clip-clopping in high heels up and down the stairs, followed by the telephone ringing followed by a vehicle turning up to deliver/take away these "guests". Others in our party mentioned sounds of ecstasy from a neighbouring room at 0230! Presumably the night staff were aware of the noises but regrettably did nothing to suppress them. Maybe they were party to what was going on?? We think so. In our opinion, breakfast was a little monotonous and, surely if this is a true 4 star (as rated) hotel then there should not be any extra charges for fresh orange juice and omelettes? We have experienced better.

Room Tip: Rooms on 4th floor have breakfast room above them and so get an early call!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank zooks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevlanaboutiquehotel, Manager at Mevlana Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

First of all thank you very much for sharing your review about your stay at Mevlana Boutique Hotel.

Our property is a relatively small boutique hotel with a total of 20 rooms and we rarely receive some group reservations as well as the individual ones. The noise that you mentioned may have been caused by a group of 12 guests who arrived late at night and I received similar complaints from the other guests. When I contacted our night staff to have more information about the details, he advised me that the group members were kindly asked to be quiet in advance but it seems like this effort was not sufficient at least for one night.

We always work hard to meet our guests' expectations at Mevlana Boutique Hotel and therefore we apologize for any inconvenience this may have caused. Please note that your comments about the breakfast will be taken into account as well.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Surrey, Canada
Level Contributor
7 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 11, 2012

In Setp 2012 we spent two nights here prior to joining a pre-arranged tour in Turkey. We were delighted with our choice. The hotel is very conveniently located for on-foot exploration of the Old City. The front desk staff could not have been more helpful during our stay, and even beforehand. They will arrange a shuttle from the airport. Our room was very clean and well appointed and we loved the view at breakfast!

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kathleen M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevlanaboutiquehotel, Manager at Mevlana Hotel, responded to this review, October 20, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for sharing your opinion about your stay at Mevlana Boutique Hotel with Tripadvisor users.

We hope to see you in Istanbul once again.

Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hurghada, Egypt
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2012

I spent a week in this hotel and loved it. The location was so close to everything in the area. It only took 5 minutes to walk to the Blue Mosque and from there an easy walk to just about anywhere. I love to walk so I walked everywhere. I found it easy to walk down to the harbor and the Egyptian Spice Bazaar and also as far as the amazing Suleymaniye Mosque, which is often over looked because everyone heads to the Blue Mosque. Topkapi Palace and Saint Sophia are both within a few minutes walk.
There are many great restaurants in the area and I always stopped to chat and became friendly with everyone in the area. So each day when I set out it was nice to have people call out a greeting to me by my name.
I was travelling on my own and felt safe at all times of the day and night.
My hotel room was very clean and comfortable. The rooms are not huge but that is common for the small hotels in this area. The staff were very pleasant and incredibly helpful.
Breakfast was a great especially as the room had the most amazing views over the city and the harbor.
If I return to Istanbul I will definitely stay here again.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank leilah06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mevlanaboutiquehotel, Manager at Mevlana Hotel, responded to this review, October 6, 2012
Dear guest,

Thank you very much for your kind and informative review about Mevlana Boutique Hotel. We wish to see you in Istanbul in the near future.

Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Eggleston, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 1, 2012

We spent a week at the Mevlana boutique Hotel and left feeling that we could not have made a better choice. From our first contact with Ismail and Enis by email to arrange airport transfers, to the end of our six night stay, everything went without a hitch. Our room, although not very large, was comfortable, air conditioned and catered adequately for our needs. The hotel is located in a relatively quiet part of Sultanahmet and yet is only a fifteen minute walk from some of the major attractions and the sea. Although our room overlooked the narrow road below, noise was never a problem with the windows closed. Within minutes of leaving the hotel on foot, you find yourself in a long narrow street with many offshoots, all packed with restaurants, a bazaar and shops aimed at tourists, which really bustle at night. The fifth floor breakfast room provides wonderful views over rooftops to the Sea of Marmara and mouth of the Bosphorus, while breakfast itself offers a wide variety of cereals and the traditional Turkish meats, cheeses and breakfast salads. The rooftop terrace is a great place to spend a couple of hours at the end of the day, relaxing in the sun and watching the shipping and fishing boats out to sea. But what makes this hotel really special is the staff. Ismail and Enis could not have been more friendly, hospitable and helpful. We were offered tea and coffee on arrival and given a comprehensive briefing on what to see and do, and how to get about in Istanbul. Nothing was too much trouble, even extending to the offered use of an umbrella when raining. If you have visited Turkey before, as we have, you will not be disappointed. If not, this hotel will give you an introduction to the warmest hospitality that Turkey has to offer.

Room Tip: Probably best to avoid the fifth floor as breakfast starts early
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank frank_nicky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#43 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 720 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Point Hotel
Best Point Hotel
#32 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,062 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#8 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 2,919 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#24 of 1,129 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 1,710 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Yazar Hotel
Yazar Hotel
#350 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 313 reviews
Beyoglu
The Marmara Pera Hotel
The Marmara Pera Hotel
#154 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 1,142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mevlana Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mevlana Hotel

Property: Mevlana Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Caddesi No:75 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service
Hotel Style:
#145 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#191 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#342 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Mevlana Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Living right next-door to the Topkapi Palace is now a privilege that every visitor to Istanbul can afford! Mevlana Boutique Hotel is located just off Sultanahmet Square and only a short walk from most of Istanbul's major tourist attractions. Topkapi Palace, Hagia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Archaeological Museum, Basilica Cistern and the other major sights of interest are situated in 5 minutes from the hotel. The hotel terrace offers stunning views of Prince's Islands and Blue Mosque. Despite its perfect location also 5 minutes from the nearest tram station. Everyone at the Mevlana Boutique Hotel shares the responsibility for meeting the guests requirements and expectations. Combining elegant interiors, ideal situation, first class service and traditional Turkish hospitality, Mevlana Boutique Hotel is an excellent accommodation choice for both tourist and business travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Orbitz, TripOnline SA, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Mevlana Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Megara Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing