We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A good hostel worth the price paid”
Review of Bahaus Guesthouse

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Bahaus Guesthouse
Ranked #32 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
129 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 77 helpful votes
“A good hostel worth the price paid”
Reviewed September 24, 2010

OK OK people - this is not the cleanest hostel I have been to but its the people and ambience that make it cool. If you are looking for a clean boutique place .. you should look to spend more than a £100 for the pleasure of having a proper hotel room.

The place does exactly what it says on the tin... the bathrooms could do with some improvements .. but there is no more I can say to add to it .

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Dharam S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

204 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    97
    54
    20
    17
    16
See reviews for
2
16
81
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (22)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Toronto, Canada
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed August 30, 2010

I stayed at this place in August and first impressions were everything here. Our 'clean' room had a drenched towel in the bathroom that doubled for a bath mat and the rooms do not have air conditioning. The bedroom fan is useless in 45 degree weather and the male staff are more concerned with meeting the female travellers rather than providing any kind of customer service.

The one good thing is their rooftop patio but the pub crawl they take you on is a waste of time. You quickly learn that they take you to their friend's local bars that are empty but where you of course can buy beer. I am sure they receive some kind of kickback for the money spent here. We went out on a Saturday and after being dragged to 2 of these random bars by the Bauhaus staff, all of the travellers got together and decided to leave them and find other bars in Taxsim that were more promising. I could go on, but do not waste your time with booking here.

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank eastern_std_time
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed August 9, 2010

Ok, first of all, the fact that it's in Sultanamet is not a pro. The area is a tourist ghetto full of overpriced tacky shops and mediocre restaurants.. if you want to have fun/chill just go to Taksim, Galata or anywhere else really...
The hostel itself was extremely disappointing.. First of all, there was no airconditioning in the rooms and with 35C temperatures and 5 sweaty englishmen in the room this certainly wasn't good! I have had the pleasure to stay in other hostels in Istanbul since then and I can also confidently say that the hostel is also overpriced for what they offer...
The furniture is just plain broken/old/tacky... and the cleanliness of the hostel is also something of a let down. My white "clean" sheets had a big brown stain and the toilets were always damp and dirty..
I definitely would not reccomend it!

  • Stayed August 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Eponalank
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
Reviewed July 23, 2010

I stayed in Istanbul at Bahaus Guesthouse for 3 nights and the location was perfect, the staff super friendly and helpful. When I go back I will definitely stay at Bahaus and would recommend it for. Thanks guys!! Leanne from Canada

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Leduc13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
American living abroad
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2010

Found the hostel on hostelworld originally. According to the reviews on that site I was completely misled. I have traveled a fair bit and well I cant say its the worst place I have stayed but it is no where near the best. I stayed 3 nights. 20 Euro/night. The hostel doesn't really coordinate any activities. Pub crawl 1night but nothing else. Beds were decent. Bathrooms were not that clean. They smell strongly of a citrus air freshener. They have a bar up on the roof. It was a pretty cool place to hang out. As far as location goes its not bad. You are near the tram so the Grand Bazaar is really close along with other sites. It also has plenty of restaurants near by. Basically I feel the hostel was overall 5/10. Simple nothing special though and not worth the money in my opinion. They have better places to stay in Istanbul then this place.

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Link3449
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bridgeport, Connecticut
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 22, 2010

When it comes to the Bahaus house, its all about the staff! This was my first time traveling alone and the staff at the Bahaus guesthouse were so fun, friendly and accommodating that I gained the confiedence I needed to get out and really enjoy the city! They plan activities nightly including a belly dancer on Friday and a pub-crawl on Saturday! I met some of the nicest, most adventurous and skilled travelers during my stay at the Bahaus house. Besides the staff, the location is convenient for sightseeing and the metro is close enough to catch daily into Taksim. The rooms are clean and offer a bed curtain for extra privacy! I didn't plan on staying five nights but the place was so comfortable that I felt like I was coming "home" each night to my hostel family! Whether you're into backgammon or beers you can always count on service and a friendly face on the rooftop bar. Special thanks to Tony, Volcano and Ugur Uner for their friendship and hospitality!
Love from America!
Allison

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abuller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Santa Cruz
1 review
Reviewed March 17, 2010

Not only myself but my happen-to-be room mate from different country had the same experience in a 4 female dorm at Bahaus, Istanbul. Just before traveling to Istanbul, we coincidently have read the same review regarding the terrible experience of a review sender about bed bugs. I got afraid of bed bugs so I canceled the extra night accommodation ( I couldn't cancel the first night one because I had paid the security deposit - last minute before the arrival) and brought a new well-insulated sleeping bag, a bedbug repellent spray and jel which I never had bought before. Simply don't like any bugs/dirty rooms. But another girl did not react like that although she also got afraid, she told me when we met there in a 4 female dorm at Bahaus. She already had stayed there 2 nights herself before me. What both of us found there was NO BED BUGS AT ALL in every inch in 4 female dorm - and the room was kept clean. It was a good news anyway. The front desk staff told me, they regularly disinfect beds and rooms to prevent bugs and pass public inspections every time. SO NO EXAGGERATION but we actually had very comfortable sleep there - that was after the contributed reviewer had complained to them?? I don't know but I can tell people about my own experience there. The staff's hospitality was good (especially Mr.Tarik's quality service is worth mentioning), nice friendly atmosphere and comfortable.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Enlalunatraveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Cheers Hostel
Cheers Hostel
#3 of 1,219 in Istanbul
907 reviews
Sultanahmet
Orient Hostel International
Orient Hostel International
#12 of 1,219 in Istanbul
505 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultan Hostel
Sultan Hostel
#16 of 1,219 in Istanbul
536 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Guesthouse
Agora Guesthouse
#2 of 1,219 in Istanbul
759 reviews
Sultanahmet
Nobel Hostel
Nobel Hostel
#21 of 1,219 in Istanbul
227 reviews
Sultanahmet
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
Big Apple Hostel & Hotel
#37 of 1,219 in Istanbul
293 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Bahaus Guesthouse? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Bahaus Guesthouse

Property: Bahaus Guesthouse
Address: Akbiyik Cadessi, Bayramfirin Sokak No 11 | No 11/13 , Sultanahmet, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #32 of 1,219 Specialty Lodging in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and HostelWorld so you can book your Bahaus Guesthouse reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bahaus Guesthouse Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing