We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Hotel”
Review of Point Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Point Hotel Taksim
Ranked #170 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
14 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“Good Hotel”
Reviewed January 2, 2013

Great location, walking distance from Taksim square and Istiklal street!
Good value for money, very friendly staff, clean rooms...
Rich variety of food in the morning buffet. Stays open till 11 am on weekends and 10 pm on weekdays.
Got free late check out since it was the first day of the year :)

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RZleb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, January 4, 2013
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim for your stay and of course taking the time to write a comment. We are happy that our location was useful for you. Also we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed our service level and enjoyed the breakfast. We hope you had a great time on your new years eve as well and we wish you a happy new year.

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

834 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    330
    329
    120
    31
    24
See reviews for
143
156
50
331
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (103)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Denton, Texas
Level Contributor
35 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2012

Point Hotel Taksim was recommended to us by Turkish friends. After reading the reviews, I was wanting to be sure to ask to stay on a high floor, so I was anxious when we were told upon arrival that we were being upgraded to a second floor suite. No need for any concern. We were placed in a suite at the direct front of the hotel. From our suite we could look straight down to the Bosphorus. Street noise was absolutely no problem! We were tired and not hungry the first night; despite not ordering much, we were welcomed at the restaurant on the top floor for a few meses and some beer and the wonderful surprise of a Turkish classical music performance by an amazing group Mehmet Ali Havenu. Every Friday night there is some live music in the restaurant. Excellent! The breakfast and view from the restaurant are both amazing! We did not take advantage of any of the other hotel amenities because of lack of time. But we were thrilled at the excellent location so close to Taksim Square with stores and restaurants and transportation to all of the sights via tram and then trolley. We definitely hope to return!

Room Tip: we were lucky to be upgraded ... we have no idea why we got so lucky ... but landing on the second f...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank BubbieZay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim and taking the time to write a comment. By the kindness of your comment, I can understand that you really had a great time here which feels absolutely great. We are glad you enjoyed your room and the views of both your room and our top floor restaurant. It is also great to hear that you did not miss out on Turkish mezes and Turkish music. We are really happy that you enjoyed it. As far as our location goes, we hope that you enjoyed the city center and everything it has to offer so that you choose to come back to Istanbul and we can welcome you once again, making sure we offer the same service level. Thanks once again for writing a comment which is really motivating.

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Denmark
Level Contributor
55 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 41 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2012

The hotel looks only average on the web site. However, when you arrive you find the hotel being a much higher standard than expected, rooms and beds are closer to 4 or even 5 star hotels and there is a nice bar and restaurant with very good service. Breakfast is upstairs overlooking the waterfront and with a large selection of everything, very impressive. Price of the hotel makes it a really good deal if visiting Istanbul, location is walking distance to one of the busy squares with night life and bars.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NBlacks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thanks for choosing Point Hotel Taksim and for taking the time to drop a comment. We are really glad that you enjoyed your stay in our hotel and really appreciate your kind words which also says a lot about our web site. We will definitely take this comment in mind and see how we can improve our looks. In the end, it is always a good thing to exceed expectations so we are more than happy that we did. We hope we will see you again if your plans call for Istanbul.

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Stellenbosch
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed October 23, 2012

Great hotel (for business) with good location (10min walk or less from Taksim Square). Also walking distance from a number of restaurants.
Friendly staff and willing to help (although in some cases it might have been better if we could speak Turkish!)
Restaurant is on the 9th floor - great to have breakfast with a bit of a view.

We hosted a conference for 120 people from all over, in general room bookings were made directly with the hotel based on an agreed rate for conference goers. The reason we used this hotel were the location as well as the fact that they could host a group of 80-120 people without a problem. When it got a point where the hotel ran out of accommodation space, they arranged for a similar deal at their sister hotel next door (Nippon Hotel).

Room cancellation policy is a bit harsh though - cancelling your stay would result in payment for the full period and not just one night as one would expect. They were however open for discussion on exceptional cases where someone had to cancel their visit due to declined visa.

Conference facilities are good and professional. Most arrangements were done in advance via e-mail with specific contact person at the hotel. If given the opportunity to arrange a conference in Istanbul again I would easily go for this hotel again. Thanks for a great experience!

Room Tip: Some of the rooms have very little cupboard space - although I'm not sure how you'd pick a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ronelspies
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, November 1, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim and of course taking the time to write a review. We are really glad that you had a successful conference without any problems and delighted to hear that you would prefer us again. It would be our pleasure. As for the cancellation policies, it might be due to the busy period in Istanbul but we are always willing to help on situations like that. Other than that we are really happy that you enjoyed our hotel. We will do our best and definitely keep this level of service for the next time you come back.

Our best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Warszawa,Poland
Level Contributor
49 reviews
29 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed October 21, 2012

Point Hotel Taksim has convinient location if you are not necessary must have Bosphorus river next to. Two minutes walk to very well known Taksim Square is a plus, as there is always something interesting at Taksim or nearby. However hotel itself is just "OK" - nothing more and nothing less. A little bit not sufficient reception service (both during check-in and check-out I had to wait in a queue), good rooms and good bar with always smiling bartender. The biggest dissapointment was a breakfast. Especially when you eat outside hotel before and know fantastic flavours of Turkish food, you will be dissapointed and even nice view (as restaurant is located at last floor) won't compensate it. But don't worry - just 2 minutes away there are many small Turkish restaurants and cafes where you can get very tasty breakfast and very aromatic coffee.

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank XXXPol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, October 23, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim for your stay and thanks for taking the time to comment. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the rooms and the location. However, it is really sad for us to hear that you did not enjoy the breakfast for which we get a lot of good comments. We would really like to investigate what was wrong with the breakfast on the day that you did not enjoy it. So we would appreciate it if you could send us an e-mail at online@pointhotel.com with the details so we can fix what went wrong and make sure it never happens again. We thank you again for you valuable comments and hope to see you again.

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level Contributor
29 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2012

Business hotels are a funny thing... especially when one just stayed in the perfect small and affordable boutique hotel in the same city. Point Hotel Taksim is well located if you don't want to be in the Old City. The majority of rooms are spacious - unfortunately, the luck of the draw gave us the smallest room - and considering the price they charge they should rather only use our room (717) as a single room. When we checked in, there was no smile or any friendliness - again, I expect more from a high-end business hotel. The cupboard space was little, and we had to ask twice for additional hangers.
We were there for a conference and that's where their strength comes in. All went smoothly, and if you are a group of 100, I guess this is a great place. It also must be mentioned that the breakfast and lunch buffets are outstanding, and so is the view from the hotel restaurant on the 9th floor.
However, personally, I wouldn't return as value for money is not good enough.

Room Tip: Don't get room 717 except you travel on your own.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bineK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying with us and taking the time to comment. We are sorry to hear that the room was small for you and especially for your comments about the smiles in the front desk. This is not a complaint that we get usually which means now we will try harder to maintain our level.

As for your comments about the conference, we are really happy that you had a good experience. Your comments about our service level and the breakfast & lunch really made us feel great. For the future, we would really like you to come back because what you experienced in our hotel is not really common. But your comments will surely help us improve so thank you very much once again.

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scandinavia
Level Contributor
39 reviews
25 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2012

Don't get me wrong. Point in Taksim is a pleasant place. I have been there twice and I will be happy to return.

The top floor restaurant offers a spectacular view over the waters into the Asian side; only two skyscrape hotels are in between if you are picky. Point should be proud of its proper breakfast buffet.

Stayed in a junior suite which was spacious, quiet and perfectly clean. The generously sized shower cabinet was a strong point, and I liked the floor plan with its well used space. If only the TV would have worked it would have been great. There was even a shoe polisher machine just outside the room - much appreciated considering my first review of the hotel. But the machine was broken... What can one say? At 1,000 Euro per night I was not impressed. Had no time to argue.

Apart from that Point is good. Reliable when needed for business. I survived without the TV but was reminded that there is still space for improvement.

  • Stayed October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank style_uncompromised
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, October 22, 2012
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing us once again and of course thanks for your comments. We are happy that you did not have any bad experiences again on the streets. We are happy to hear that you enjoyed the Junior Suite but of course sad to hear that your TV was not functioning. In cases like this please let the call center know as we are available to answer your requests 24 hours. Our technical service team will gladly solve your problem. The same goes for the polisher. We will find out which one is broken and fix it but in case something does not work, you can let us know and we will sort it out quickly.

As you said, there is always space for improvement so we thank you once again for your valuable comments which help us improve and we will try to make sure you don't have any problems next time you come back.

Our best regards,
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#100 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,198 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#183 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 665 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#251 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 491 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#274 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 191 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#147 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 637 reviews
Beyoglu
Elite World Istanbul  Hotel
Elite World Istanbul Hotel
#190 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Taksim

Property: Point Hotel Taksim
Address: Topcu Cad. No:2 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#131 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#164 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Taksim is a 5 star business hotel located at the heart of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, which are famous for shopping, social activities and sightseeing. Point Hotel Taksim is also within walking distance of the Congress Valley including the biggest congress center of the city named Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC). Sultanahmet and Old City, which include the main sightseeing attractions, are 4 kms away and easily accessible with car or public transport. Our hotel has a modern design, enriched with photography of worldwide famous photographer Ara Guler. The hotel has 233 rooms which includes 48 Executive Rooms and 19 Executive Suites. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. There is also a comfortable Executive Lounge with a great view for our Executive Room or Suite guests. Our accomodating guests can enjoy Point Spa free of charge including Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor Pool and Turkish Bath. Our View Point Restaurant has a unique Bosphorus view, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the ground floor with repeating Japanese guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Point Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing