We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good hotel but rather noisy”
Review of Point Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Point Hotel Taksim
Ranked #169 of 1,171 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed August 29, 2012

This hotel has decent rooms and good facilities, considering the size of the hotel. However, be warned: the hotel is situated on a busy crossroad and some rooms facing the main road could be rather noisy. There were car horns going off in the middle of the night and traffic noise.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank NoNo0011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim and taking the time to write your feedbacks. It is good to hear that you enjoyed our rooms and facilities. Unfortunately the noise is a downside of Istanbul in general, except some really quite districts which are really far away from the city. But please rest assured that we are trying to find solutions. We are still improving our windows and doors to minimize it. We hope if you choose again, we will have solved the whole noise problem.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (953)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

551 - 557 of 953 reviews

Reviewed August 28, 2012

A 4 star Hotel, accessible location, nice view from roof top, walking distance from all nice destinations, metro, bus station, cafes,,,,, clean room if you try the 7th floor, haven’t tried any of their facilities so no idea, their breakfast is very traditional and yummy, had it for 8 days end enjoyed it every time,,, but what really irritated me most was that the room service would knock on my door on daily basis one time and open the door the second time without even waiting for me to open it for them , which left me no privacy during my stay in the room, thank God there was a lock on the door,,, another thing was that very few staff speak English and since I do not speak Turkish it was a bit hard to communicate. Bed Matters was not very comfy, not as hard as it should be,, so I do not recommend it for anyone with pack pain,,

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Suha H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded September 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim and for your feedback. We are happy that you enjoyed your room and the location overall. Sorry to hear that you were uncomfortable about the room service. Rest assured that we will bring that up in our meetings and try to find a good solution. Also we are sorry about your discomfort on your bed. We try to renew them quite often to match our guests' needs but everybody has a different preference. What we can offer to our guests is a selection of pillows which might help a little. Your feedback is very important to us so thank you very much once again. We hope we will improve for the next time.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2012

I've stayed at the Point Hotel a few years back on business and our office conference also took place at the same hotel so I had very nice memories about the hotel room, breakfast & services. Me and my cousin decided to take a city break and I was quick at checking out rooms & availability at the Point Hotel. Luckily during the busy August season we were able to find a room.

We stayed 3 nights and 4 days. There are many highlights to the Point Hotel, firstly it's location to Taksim and close to transportation (Metro, Bus Stop, Dolmus).

Secondly, breakfast spread is amazing, the selection of fresh cheeses, vegetables, breads and my favorite Borek and you're not stuck in a basement with four walls (which I've experienced in other hotels) and are on the 9th floor with an amazing view of the Bosphoros.

Thirdly the hotel staff were so helpful and went out of their way to even walk us across the street and flag down a taxi.

The room and bathroom were the basic rooms but were of a good size, clean and comfortable. Shower amenities were replenished everyday.

There was wifi everywhere which was very convenient.

Getting to historical sites such as Sultan Ahmet Dolmabahce & Ortakoy were convenient and it's a short taxi drive away.

We would spend our days exploring Istanbul and always end our evenings in Taksim/Istiklal walking around and stopping off to have a Keskul at Saray Muhallebici in the evenings. So if you would like a central hotel which is convenient to travel to other sites, comfort and good service I would definitely 100% recommend Point Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shenjan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded August 15, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim for your stay and of course for the 5 stars :). We are glad that our location and amenities came in handy for all of your needs in this trip and we hope you really enjoyed the different parts of Istanbul with ease. It is always nice to hear nice words about our breakfast and of course your appreciation of our staff and their work feels great. We hope we will see you again and we will make sure you will leave even happier.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

I stayed at the Point Hotel from July 19 until July 23 and found the location to perfect. The hotel is only about a 5 - 10 minute walk to Istiklal Street, the great pedestrian shopping area, with lots of locally owned shops and eateries. There were also a number of pedestrian only streets adjacent to the hotel where you could find plenty of souvinier shopping and restaurants. I found many of the adjacent shop owners to be very friendly and helpful. As an American, I was a little apprehensive about how I would be received locally. Many of the shop owners and workers would ask where I was from, thinking I was from Europe. When they found out I was an American, they continued to be very friendly and open.

The staff at the hotel could not have been nicer. Many are bilingual, but even when they were not, like the bellmen (and bell woman), they were quick to look at my map, try to help me find a location, and point me in the right direction. Thank you!

The restaurant is amazing. I ate breakfast each morning at the buffet in the 9th floor restaurant. The spread was huge and the service very good. The buffet had a very large and tasty variety of many different foods. The buffet rivals many I have found in more upscale central European hotels. One morning there was even a honeycomb for fresh honey. You will not go hungry. I cannot go without mentioning the view from the restaurant. It will blow you away! You could see much of the city as well as ships passing through the Bosporus. Incredible!

My room was on the 8th floor and had a view of the Bosporus as well. The Wifi worked very well. No complaints. My room was cleaned each morning very quickly, and I was left with new bottled water which I immediately put in the handy little fridge for a cool treat when I returned from daily sightseeing. I did have a minor problem with the room key which worked the lights and air, but it was resolved immediately.

I was very pleasantly surprised by this hotel. Enjoy the Point Hotel!

Room Tip: Ask for an 8th floor room with a view of the Bosporus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelinbandman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded August 4, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing to stay at Point Hotel Taksim and many thanks for your good comments about us. It is good to hear that our location came in handy for you and you were welcomed nicely by the local shops. Not to brag, Turkish hospitality is really one of our nation's main characteristics and we are glad nothing on the opposite happened in your case. We are of course also glad that we as Point Hotel Taksim staff could show the same amount of hospitality to you.

It is also great that you enjoyed our breakfast with the Bosphorus view. We know a good breakfast is essential in Istanbul both for business and leisure trips so we are happy we met the expectations.

Sorry for the inconvenience about the room key but of course we are always ready to solve any problem any time. It is a pleasure for us that you were overall happy of your stay here and we definitely hope to see you again.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2012

The highlight of this hotel is its location in the heart of Taksim square, close to the metro station and the famous Istiklal street. The staff was wonderful, even with limited English language they managed to respond quickly and provided an outstanding customer service. The room and the bathroom was of decent size compared with what you find in Europe, with good quality furniture. Unfortunately the TV even it was a flat screen TV, it was one of the oldest version and the channels were fuzzy, but it was not a problem since we were there mainly to explore the city. Housekeeping did a great job and meet our needs. Unfortunately, the restaurant at the hotel was so expensive and were some confusions in our first dinner; the server clearly mentioned that the buffet was 40 Lira's and when we had to pay our bill, it was 40 Euros. But the server acknowledged his mistake and quickly correct it. Still, I do not recommend to eat at the hotel, since you have much cheaper and good options just across the street. Breakfast was included in our rate and was typical Turkish breakfast with excellent and delicious variety of food. Other amenities include a good spa, a pool but the gym was so small with one bike, one stretch table and one dysfunctional treadmill.
Overall, if you are interested to be close to the action night and day, I would recommend this hotel in Taksim square. If you are looking to stay close to the historical sites, stay in Sultan Ahmed area.

Room Tip: Do not eat dinner here and get the highest floor far away from the elevators.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank JayD2006
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded August 3, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you for staying at Point Hotel Taksim and of course for your good feedback. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay overall. Of course hearing good comments about our customer service is our main motivation so thank you especially for that. We are delighted that you enjoyed our breakfast and we are sorry about the confusion at the dinner. We can at least hope that you enjoyed the quality of the food and the view of our restaurant. As for the TVs, we will be changing them really soon. And of course we are expanding our gym at the moment to match the quality of our spa which is why you had to witness a temporary poor replacement.

Therefore I can say that your desires will be better matched at Point Hotel Taksim really soon. We hope to see you again and we hope we will earn the 5 stars then.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2012

Hotel is on good location, nearby taksen square, 1 minute walk
Hotel is modernizing, make sure you get The newly renovated and modern room, 7th floor toom 731,730,729,728
WIFI EVERYWHERE in the hotel, easy Acces
Service with a smile

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank milkolisette
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded July 30, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for staying with us and leaving a comment. We are happy that you enjoyed our services and your stay overall. We are renovating all of our rooms little by little so that we do not disturb our guests. Very soon all of our rooms will have their standard quality. Thanks for the compliments since it shows we are on the right track :). We hope to see you again soon.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 24, 2012 via mobile

The hotel is located in a touristic area. As a consequence of that, you can find different types of restaurants a places to walk. The restaurant of the hotel has such a beautiful view. Unfortunately it is a bit funny if you try to access the terrace. One of the big tables is exactly in front of the door.
At night you can enjoy a beautiful time listening to music in live.
The service is is good and the staff is nice and clean
The rooms are comfortable and it is great the web connection.
I sent a nice time there

  • Stayed: July 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Manframo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Social Media Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this reviewResponded July 26, 2012

Dear Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write a comment and of course for your nice words. We are happy that you enjoyed our restaurant, the view and the live music. We want our guests to have a unique experience so it is good to hear you liked it. Sometimes depending on the table setup we might have to put a table there but do not worry as our staff always helps with the multiple exits :). Still, it is the first time we hear a comment about this so thank you and it will definitely be considered in the future. We hope to see you again and make a better repetition of the nice time you have spent in our hotel.

Our best regards,

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#89 of 1,171 in Istanbul
1,314 reviews
Beyoglu
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
Ramada Istanbul Taksim
#243 of 1,171 in Istanbul
195 reviews
Beyoglu
Elite World Istanbul
Elite World Istanbul
#218 of 1,171 in Istanbul
567 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#342 of 1,171 in Istanbul
526 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#239 of 1,171 in Istanbul
708 reviews
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#307 of 1,171 in Istanbul
215 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Taksim

Address: Topcu Cad. No:2, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#74 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#96 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#132 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#133 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#163 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $87 - $159 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Taksim is a 5 star business hotel located at the heart of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, which are famous for shopping, social activities and sightseeing. Point Hotel Taksim is also within walking distance of the Congress Valley including the biggest congress center of the city named Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC). Sultanahmet and Old City, which include the main sightseeing attractions, are 4 kms away and easily accessible with car or public transport. Our hotel has a modern design, enriched with photography of worldwide famous photographer Ara Guler. The hotel has 233 rooms which includes 48 Executive Rooms and 19 Executive Suites. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. There is also a comfortable Executive Lounge with a great view for our Executive Room or Suite guests. Our accommodating guests can enjoy Point Spa free of charge including Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor Pool and Turkish Bath. Our View Point Restaurant has a unique Bosphorus view, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the ground floor with repeating Japanese guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, Cancelon and getaroom.com so you can book your Point Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing