We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient for conference centre. Good middle grade hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Point Hotel Taksim

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Point Hotel Taksim
Ranked #169 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Cambridge
Level Contributor
314 reviews
106 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 131 helpful votes
“Convenient for conference centre. Good middle grade hotel”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 30, 2011

Large no nonsense hotel amongst many other similar hotels in the area near Taksim Square. Good sized double room. Excellent breakfast on 9th floor not a destination hotel

  • Stayed May 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nickcambridge
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, June 8, 2011
Dear Guest,

Thank you for choosing Point Hotel Taksim for your stay and of course many thanks for your nice comments. We are delighted to learn that your stay was good and that you enjoyed our breakfast which we have been trying to enrich in these last couple of months. It would be our pleasure to have you again in Point Hotel Taksim.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

812 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    323
    119
    31
    21
See reviews for
136
155
47
322
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (101)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hebrew first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Thai first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
22 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2011

It was my firt trip to Turkey and we had an offsite event for our organisation. I had honestly not heard about The Point Hotel and was therefore skeptical. We stayed there from April 28 to May 1, 2011. From the moment of our arrival, I was more than convinced that the Hotel was very appropriate for handling a large group like ours - we were about 100. The staff were friendly and efficient - all of them understood and most of them could communicate in English. The rooms were very comfortable - most appropriately designed for busines travellers. The bathroom was clean and innovatively done up. We used the buffet at coffee shop for lunch and breakfast - nice spread and good quality food. The conference room in the basement is huge and well equipped. The conference rooms on 14th floor were also good. Location is great with some shopping close by. Ended up with a memorable and comfortable stay

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank jyotinmehta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, May 25, 2011
Dear guest,

First of all thank you for choosing Point Hotel for your stay and event in istanbul. I would like to inform you that you probably wanted to comment about Point Hotel Barbaros which is another hotel of ours because we only have 9 floors in our Hotel. However as Point Hotels, we keep the same comfort, quality and service level in all of our hotels so we are delighted to hear that you enjoyed your stay in Point Hotel Barbaros. This Hotel is in Taksim, within walking distance to famous Taksim square and main congress centre ICEC. Also a short drive away from Old City with a lot of beautiful landmarks for sightseeing. So if you were happy with our hospitality in Point Hotel Barbaros, we would be really happy to welcome you in Point Hotel Taksim as well for your next visit in Istanbul.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 8, 2011

Pluses: Point Hotel is in a lovely area, full of wonderful cafes (check out Poros Bar and Cafe Italiano) and little shops selling Istanbul souvenirs at better prices than the Grand Bazaar.

Minuses: Unfortunately, the drawbacks at the Point Hotel will make you want to spend more and more time out of it. The double rooms are quite small. There are no dresser drawers so expect to leave all of your clothing in your luggage during your stay. The beds are hard as rocks and every single traffic sound heading towards Taksim Square can be heard starting very early in the morning.

The service is abominable - ranging from snooty and snippy to non-existent. Be careful about making reservations online - the front desk staff will claim that they don't know how to make changes because "it's handled by another company online."

Perhaps worst of all was the air circulation in the room - the fans emitted a weak puff and then gave up, resulting in a sweltering hotel room each and every morning. If I had not been booked into this hotel by my company, I would have moved immediately.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank fightingtreeantiques
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

We are glad to hear that you enjoyed the area that we are in. It's really a lively area with
lots of things to do. I'm sorry this has caused you a rare disturbance that day but we are
trying to make it better all the time so it never occurs. Our service quality is in fact quite good and we are receiving lots of compliments about it but we are sorry that you faced the worst of it. We are going to make sure we keep up to that level everyday. We also noted the technical
difficulties you had so that the bad experience you had in our hotel is never repeated again
if you give us another try. We thank you again as Point Hotel for your stay and pointing out
our weaknesses.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indianapolis, Indiana
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 27, 2011

The beds are uncomfortable to begin with. Since it is early spring the air con for the building isnt turned on so the rooms get extremely hot and if you try and turn the air con on it only blows hot air. The hotel is very noisey to beging with as it is located at a busy intersection and all night long people are honking and screaming and there are sirens going by. If you open the window in order to cool off the room the volume of the noise gets even louder, so your choices are either sweat and be uncomfortable while you toss and turn and try to block out the noise or be constanly woken up by the sounds outside.

  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank worktravelplay25
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Point_Hotel, Guest Relations Manager at Point Hotel Taksim, responded to this review, April 11, 2011
Dear Guest,

First of all, we thank you for choosing Point Hotel and taking the time to write your opinions.
Normally we don't have a lot of problems with the outside noise but we're sorry that you had
problems with it, maybe because of some activities in Taksim square. We're definitely going
to check what we can do about it even for the nights with the most noise. Air conditioning
problem is not a standard problem and usually our technical service team solves the problem
quickly but again we feel sorry the problem ever occured in the first place and we are
definitely going to pay even more attention next time. About the comfort level of the beds
we can help you on the reception about your pillow choices which we believe will make it
more comfortable for you if you can give us another chance in the future. Thanks again for
staying at Point Hotel and your valued opinions. We will try to make sure if you choose to
stay again it will be without any problems.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level Contributor
12 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 21, 2010

Go to the 9th floor and enjoy the great scenery you get during your breakfast.

Short distance to Taksim and down to the water and Dolmabahçe Sarayı

The room is small and the bed was rather hard to sleep on.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FilipMigom
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LDN
Level Contributor
12 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 5, 2010

I stayed at The point while working in Istanbul. The location was good, right in Taksim and from the breakfast room there are lovely views accross Istanbul. The room was cheaper than many other hotels in the area and we also booked a conference room at a reasonable rate. Most of the staff are very polite and friendly and go out of their way to help you.

There are a few things which could be better though. My room had an awful view over other buildings although there's not much they can do about this. Also the room was quite dark and although modern, could have been more airy. The shower was good but the bath was tiny. The breakfast wasn't very good either. It seems like lots of left overs from the night before and a selection of Turkish pastries. I feel they should offer more for their international guests.

All in all the Point Hotel is clean, modern and well-placed although it's by no means perfect.

  • Stayed October 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Lufta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Chaux-de-Fonds, Switzerland
Level Contributor
50 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 18, 2010

We stayed at the Point before leaving on a Cruise. The hotel was OK, but nothing spectacular for the pricing. The room was clean, but we were given a room with 2 twin beds and were unable to change to a room for a full, because they were booked...not off to a romantic start to the trip. (The room was also quite noisy with street noise and smelled of smoke.) The service in bar was lacking to say the least, it took 10-15 minutes to get served, on the second night we gave up and went to bed. The breakfast was very good for a hotel buffet, only complaint was that the staff seemed overwhelmed and coffee took sometime to be served. If you got it yourself from the counter...you took the risk of being caught and scolded.

  • Stayed October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SoxFans07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#93 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,181 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#181 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 660 reviews
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#243 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 488 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
The Parma Hotel Taksim
The Parma Hotel Taksim
#272 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 188 reviews
Beyoglu
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
Gezi Hotel Bosphorus
#136 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 634 reviews
Beyoglu
Elite World Istanbul  Hotel
Elite World Istanbul Hotel
#194 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 511 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Point Hotel Taksim? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Point Hotel Taksim

Property: Point Hotel Taksim
Address: Topcu Cad. No:2 Taksim, Beyoglu, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu , New City / Taksim
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Beverage Selection Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#64 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#97 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#129 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#164 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#204 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Point Hotel Taksim 5*
Number of rooms: 233
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Point Hotel Taksim is a 5 star business hotel located at the heart of the city, within 5 minutes walking distance to Taksim Square and Istiklal Avenue, which are famous for shopping, social activities and sightseeing. Point Hotel Taksim is also within walking distance of the Congress Valley including the biggest congress center of the city named Lutfi Kirdar Convention and Exhibition Center (ICEC). Sultanahmet and Old City, which include the main sightseeing attractions, are 4 kms away and easily accessible with car or public transport. Our hotel has a modern design, enriched with photography of worldwide famous photographer Ara Guler. The hotel has 233 rooms which includes 48 Executive Rooms and 19 Executive Suites. Wireless internet is free of charge throughout the hotel. There is also a comfortable Executive Lounge with a great view for our Executive Room or Suite guests. Our accomodating guests can enjoy Point Spa free of charge including Steam Room, Sauna, Indoor Pool and Turkish Bath. Our View Point Restaurant has a unique Bosphorus view, offering breakfast, lunch and dinner. There is also a Japanese Restaurant on the ground floor with repeating Japanese guests. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity and HotelQuickly so you can book your Point Hotel Taksim reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Point Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing