We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Marmara Pera Hotel, Istanbul, Turkey”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
The Marmara Pera Hotel
Ranked #186 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 3, 2013

My experience at Marmara Pera was so great, I have spent 8 days at Marmara in July 2009. The hospitality at our arrival was very good, the room service and cleanliness is great. I was lucky to have my room on the Bosphorus sea at the fourteenth floor; the view was really fascinating specially at the sunset. The food quality and variety is very good. The swimming pool at the roof is very small but it has direct view through transparent glass to Marmara and Bosphorus sea. Its location is great at mid-town near Taksim square and few steps from Istiklal street that's full of shops, restaurants and cafes. You have pedestrian accessibility to all means of transportation; taxi, buses or underground stations.

Room Tip: Try to choose your room with bosphorus sea view, the view is fascinating.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Mohamed_Hesham2009
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,220)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

478 - 484 of 1,220 reviews

Reviewed September 2, 2013

Last Saturday morning we (2 couples) arrived at the Marmara Pera around 8am and asked if we could leave our luggage until our room was ready. No Problem said the desk, tagging the luggage and telling us our room would be ready by 12 noon. We went out, returning around 12.30 or thereabouts. Sorry, it is almost ready said the desk. By now there were lots of others sitting around in the foyer looking unhappy so by 2 we were anxious. It's now cleaned, but we are waiting for towels, said the desk. By 2.30 we demanded entrance to our room saying towels could come later, and with great reluctance by the desk, we were given keys only about 6 and 1/2 hours after arrival. Later still, wanting to freshen up for dinner, towels were phoned for. Though promised they did not arrive. We went up for dinner at the wonderful rooftop restaurant (not conducted by the hotel but by a separate management). When we returned that night the towels had finally appeared.

I my opinion the staff and management currently running this hotel appear to know nothing about service and basically don't give a rats about independent travelers. The rooms have great views but otherwise are basically OK though clumsy, the bathrooms could do with a freshen up and the breakfast is pretty ordinary. There are lots of groups with lucrative daily bus tours in and out of the place and I think that's all they care about. That said, when we booked a minibus to the airport for our 4some this was pleasantly and swiftly achieved by the young lady then on the desk. However that did not redeem the place in my mind, especially given the high cost of staying there.

Room Tip: Get one somewhere else
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Wendy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2013

We stayed in the Marmara Pera in Istanbul for 7 nights. The hotel is on a hill and the views are quite nice. There is an excellent restaurant and bar on the roof top. The location is great, right off the "pedestrian street" of Isitklal, offering great shopping and restaurants, and you are just a stroll from Taksim Square. The staff is quite accommodating and helpful, and the rooms are nice and comfortable. I'd stay there again without even thinking about it!

Room Tip: Ask for a view of the Bosphorus.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Cynthia F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded January 3, 2014

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you for your great feedback. We are happy to learn of your satisfaction with our hotel services and location. Your comfort and satisfaction are very important for us. I have shared with The Marmara Pera team members and your review was especially motivating us.

We will surely be very happy to welcome you back, ensuring that you will be well looked after. Please contact me directly at bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com for your future reservations.


Kind Regards,

Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 27, 2013

We stayed at the Marmara Pera in Istanbul for 7 nights. Our great experience with this hotel started well before we reached Istanbul. I had contacted the hotel by email to find out about the rooms, specifically if we will be able to check in early since we were landing at about 10:10 AM and needed to freshen up before. Gözde Güzünler, the front desk supervisor, responded right away. She was very helpful and reassuring and told me that as soon as a room became available that morning, she would hold it for me. We had a great room on the 16th floor overlooking the city and the Golden Horn. Every one on the staff was helpful. Cumhur Büyükyüksel, the front desk manager would be there every day and would ask if everything was ok and if not he would dispatch someone to take care of it.

The Marmara Pera is in great location as well. Within walking distance of the Istiklal Street and Taksim Square and the Pera Museum is half a block away. There is a taxi stand right outside the hotel as is an ATM. There are small shops and great restaurants right around the corner. The Mikla restaurant on the top floor of the Marmara Pera has a great view of the whole region. (note : it is a bit expensive but it is gourmet menu).

I highly recommend the Marmara Pera.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bombaywala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

This hotel is very well-located, within walking distance of Istiklal street (which we loved and was our everyday choice for eating) and even Taksim Square. The rooms are well decorated and some have a beautiful Bosphorus view. The staff is very helpful: we left some luggage there to pick up on our return to Istanbul and it worked out smoothly. We always exchanged money there as well.

Stayed: September 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank Leo1608
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

We stayed in the Marmara Pera for two nights post-cruise. Initially I thought I would regret not staying in Sultanahmet but this turned out to be a great location. It was a quick transfer from the pier, and there is a taxi stand right outside the door, so we were always able to get wherever we wanted to quickly. The rooms were very nice, modern and clean. The rooftop has a pool and bar and the view is spectacular.The breakfast buffet is really excellent. It is an easy walk to restaurants, shopping, etc. All in all, a great value.

Room Tip: Ask for a high view and view of the water.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Regina B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cumhur B, Ön Büro Müdürü at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded September 22, 2015

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for your wonderful review.

The Marmara Pera has an ideal location and we are very glad that you enjoyed your stay with us.

We would like to welcome you in our property once again.

Best Regards,


Cumhur Büyükyüksel
Front Office Manager
The Marmara Pera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 25, 2013

Just back from 10 days at this hotel in Istanbul which greeted numerous participants to the International Federation of University Women's Triennial conference organized by the Turkish Federation of University Women. The TFUW recommended the hotel and they were quite right to do so. Wonderful location; attentive, friendly, patient, courteous personnel who made us feel safe and well looked after and many spoke English; great food; great views from the rooftop bar. Don't expect large rooms, especially if you're sharing, but when visiting the city or attending a conference, who's got time to stay in your room anyway? Our room didn't have a bathtub but some rooms did. Make sure you can climb into one has the sides were quite high. Had a seaview room and the view is spectacular from the 15th floor: saw cruise ships docking and other maritime traffic, Galata tower, numerous mosques, the hustle and bustle of this fantastic city. Excellent restaurants also within walking distance. Bring ear plugs for some nights as city centre clubs are nearby. One of the elevators was capricious but technician always on hand to set things right. The buffet breakfast at the hotel is copious. Taxi stand right in front. Main shopping street in Beyoglu neighbourhood, Istiklal Caddesi, one cobblestoned block up from hotel. Bring solid, comfortable walking shoes as codes for buildings, sidewalks and streets not what North Americans are used to. There are two pools on the roof: one is a small wading pool for kids and the other is deeper but small. Have to climb down the ladder to get into it and it closes at 6 pm when the bar opens. Very windy but in 35 C températures, the wind was extremely refreshing!

Room Tip: Corner seaview rooms have corner windows; others have picture windows which make the room seem large...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Liette M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bicun S, Guest Relations Manager at The Marmara Pera Hotel, responded to this reviewResponded November 29, 2013

Dear Valued Guest,

Thank you very much for taking the time to share your ideas with us.

As a 4-star hotel, we try to do our best to deliver you a 5-star experience.
We enjoyed your comment a lot because it simply proves that we met each and every requirement of a hotel: clean rooms, sense of style, tasty food, friendly service, not just good but the best location. The Marmara Pera is located in wonderland from a tourist's point of view. It is in a walking distance to most of the tourist attractions and also at the heart of the sophisticated yet intellectual spot of the city.

You can be sure that each time you prefer our hotel, smiley faces, comfy beds and beautiful views will be waiting for you.

Please be so kind to send me an e-mail directly on bschwindt@themarmarahotels.com before your next trip so that I will be able to organize the room and special treatment in advance.


Kind Regards,


Biçun Schwindt
Guest Relations Manager
The Marmara Pera

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
The Marmara Taksim
The Marmara Taksim
#87 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,332 reviews
Beyoglu
Radisson Blu Hotel, Istanbul Pera
Beyoglu
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
Palazzo Donizetti Hotel
#253 of 1,178 in Istanbul
354 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel
Pera Palace Hotel
#46 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,192 reviews
Beyoglu
Walton Hotels Galata
Walton Hotels Galata
#21 of 1,178 in Istanbul
266 reviews
Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
The Marmara Sisli
#341 of 1,178 in Istanbul
316 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Marmara Pera Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Marmara Pera Hotel

Address: Mesrutiyet Caddesi Tepebasi, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#113 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#120 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#143 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $76 - $170 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — The Marmara Pera Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 202
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Expedia, Hotels.com, Priceline, Hotwire, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and Cancelon so you can book your The Marmara Pera Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Marmara Pera Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing