We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good breakfasts, location, view”
Review of Daphne Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Daphne Hotel
Ranked #281 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 5, 2013

We stayed in the hotel twice- once upon arrival in Turkey and then upon return after touring other parts of the country. The breakfasts were great- good coffee, and a lot of variety and quantity of food. We didn't like our first room as much as the view was over a non-descript area. We asked for a room with a view upon return and the view was fantastic. We had a small deck and looked out over the bay. This view really made the room- we got some beautiful pictures from this deck. There is a restaurant on the roof, but it was quite expensive.

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank georgierocks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (506)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

142 - 148 of 506 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2013

We spent 3 nights in Daphne hotel to celebrate 2013 New Year's Day in Istanbul. We had a marvellous large room for the same price as an economic double room (we asked in advance to have a sea-view room and they agreed to change it). The hotel is nice and tidy, the breakfast plentiful and various (maybe the coffee machine was not that great!!). It was my third time in Istanbul and we could really enjoy the city thanks to the kindness of the hotel' staff and its sited.
If I never came back to Istanbul I would stay in Daphne hotel.

Room Tip: Check for the 4th floor rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
4  Thank ilaria s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at Hotel Daphne for 3nights and it was totally great experience. Lovely staff, helpful people...Hotel was extremely clean and the environment there was friendly.It is located close to Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia. Great foods. In brief, you get more than you pay.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Sarah A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 1, 2013

I stayed at the Daphne on a winter trip, staying at the beginning of the week, then doing a tour of western Turkey, and coming back to the Daphne for the latter part of the week. Though there are negatives to travel in the winter, there are many positives as well, with fewer crowds, and more personal service. I was very happy with the service at the Daphne in Sultanhamet area of Istanbul. Varol, at the front desk, was very courteous and helpful, and a very trustworthy caretaker of my items I left in his care between my stays at the hotel. Their terrace at their restaurant is a nice touch, with a great view over the Sea of Marmara. On cold days, you could be indoors on the terrace level. Hotel rooms are small, but that is part of the charm of staying in the old part of the city in a vintage hotel...which is what I wanted to do. If you are looking for a roomy suite like a Sheraton in Hawaii, you are at the wrong place. Rooms were clean, no smoking smells, showers were hot with great water pressure. I did not rate the pool or fitness areas, as I frankly didn't even check to see if there were any! I was out and about most of the time, and the hotel is about 150 m from the Hippodrome. Plenty of great places to eat in the area, and all the people in the shops and restaurants were really pleasant, and the service great. Again, I don't know how all differs in the heavy traffic months, but I found this a great time to travel, and a great value. Snowfall in Istanbul only added to the trip and the sites!!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank mhaake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 29, 2012

I visited Istanbul for a conference in October (October 17-20). Daphne was recommended by the organizers as an affordable and nice place. I confirm that. The hotel is clean, cozy and nice. Most of all I enjoyed the friendly service provided by M. Ali, Yunus, Varol, Cemil and Emin. Very professional and friendly people. If I go to Istanbul, I will definitely stay at Daphne again.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Frequent T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

The Daphne Hotel is situated right in the middle of where you want to be in Istanbul; it's so close to the Blue Mosque, Aya Sofia and dozens of good shops, restaurants and Hamams. The rooms are small but exceptionally clean, and some sport a most excellent view of the Bosphorus and enchanting city view. The rooftop verandah is a great place for your morning coffee or a quiet lunch. All the clerks at the hotel were excellent and helpful, but I too must mention the clerk named Varol. His deep sense of kindness and willingness to provide any and all information about Istanbul made my stay at The Daphne so much more enjoyable. I was leading a group of 14 people through Turkey, so we stayed at the Daphne twice for a total of 5 nights. Varol was patient and kind with all of my guests, and when I returned on my own a week later, he set me up with a great room, a precision haircut, a good massage at a near by hamam, and a great dinner suggestion. I would recommend the Daphne Hotel to anyone looking for a mid-range hotel centrally located with a wonderful staff. Thank you! Luz Rosengren, Asheville, NC, USA

Room Tip: There are two or three rooms on each floor that have Bosphorus views. I'd recommend room 502!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Luz R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 10, 2012

Hotel Daphne is a great, understated hotel and we have stayed there twice this year (2012). The rooms are clean although not large, well appointed and quiet. The staff are all helpful but must mention Varol - he is a delight and great ambassador for the hotel. Nothing was too much trouble for him and he is a mine of information on all things regarding Istanbul. The hotel itself is situated very close to places such as The Blue Mosque, Grand Bazaar, Spice Market and the ferries on the Bosphorus. We will stay there again and hope Varol will still be there. Almost forgot! Breakfasts excellent.

Room Tip: We requested a quiet room because I am a very light sleeper. We got just that. Thank you again Hot...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Jacqueline B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Antis Hotel
Antis Hotel
#368 of 1,163 in Istanbul
481 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#123 of 1,163 in Istanbul
493 reviews
Sultanahmet
Historia Hotel
Historia Hotel
#156 of 1,163 in Istanbul
547 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Fehmi Bey
Hotel Fehmi Bey
#378 of 1,163 in Istanbul
188 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#106 of 1,163 in Istanbul
346 reviews
Sultanahmet
Oba Hotel
Oba Hotel
#31 of 1,163 in Istanbul
713 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daphne Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daphne Hotel

Address: Binbirdirek Mah. Su Terazisi Sok. No 14, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#150 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#198 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $38 - $83 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Daphne Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 20
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hi, Hotel Daphne extremely luxurious décor, cleaning and serving for customer satisfaction is a great boutique hotel 20 rooms Odo had eight deluxe rooms. Hotel internet free and also we have a buffet for our guests. Complimentary 24-hour buffet entirely related staff and buffet coffee varieties, varieties of tea and pastry shop is completely free. Within walking distance to Sultanahmet Square 0.2 km as the hotel. Istanbul belly also are very unique and doors to customers with the service. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Travelocity, Cancelon, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and TripOnline SA so you can book your Daphne Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Daphne Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing