We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great for visiting Istanbul”
Review of Almina Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Almina Hotel
Ranked #67 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 31, 2013

We stayed in the Almina for 6 days. It is very central to the old part of Istanbul (Sultanahmet) and very easy to get out and about from. The hotel does the job for a tourist. Clean, friendly, central and excellent service. Mehmet was particularly helpful and assisted with getting what we wanted from tour guides to advice on carpets etc. The roof has a great terrace overlooking the sea on one side and the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia etc. on the other. If I was going to Istanbul again I would stay here.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank michealmm30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (525)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

297 - 303 of 525 reviews

Reviewed October 24, 2013

We stayed at this hotel for 4 nights in mid October with a little baby. When we first reached the hotel I noticed the steps leading to the entrance and was worried how we will take the push chair up and down each day but the staff were always helped with carrying the push chair up and down and made it easy .Everyone at the hotel were very friendly specially Kaan and Mustafa ,Ignor the reviews that says Mustafa at the reception does not smile .He greeted us with a smile on arrival and gave us a choice of 4 rooms to choose from.We stayed in the first room on the right on first floor . The room had a big double bed and was very peaceful even with a baby there was no disturbance from outside the room. Staff were all polite and help full they heated up food for my baby and warmed up milk too. There are no trains going past this hotel any more. I would recommend this hotel to any one wanting to visit Istanbul. Alumina is close to all attractions in sultan ahmet .

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank globaltraveller42
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 26, 2013

We had a bad first impression of this place. The taxi we had arranged through the hotel was not at the airport to meet us. Then when we did eventually arrive at 1am we were told there was a problem with our room and we had to stay for one night in another hotel!
However after this things were good. The staff went out of their way to make up for the bad start. Our room was a good size and clean and comfortable. The area although near to restaurants, shops and the Blue Mosque was quiet and peaceful at night. Breakfast had a good choice and everything was fresh and replenished quickly. The roof top terrace is a lovely place to sit and watch the action on the water. The train mentioned in previous reviews no longer runs.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Selinasuse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 13, 2013

Upon arrival we were told all the rooms were booked and were given a room in the hotel basement. W said we were paying a lot and had booked months in advance but they said that we checked in too late.....not our fault as the airport took forever for customs and visa etc... They said they would then give us a bigger room the next day and on the upper level when someone else checks out.....what a lie, they moved us to the room next to our dumpy, cramped room ( no towels, old used bottles of shampoo and no toilet paper) only to find it to be the same. Complained again and finally they moved us to a room on the upper floor, better, but with two beds instead of one. Took it as we were sick of being moved around. Breakfast was a bust too...only meat and cheese and cheap tea bags. In a hard to find sketchy alley way this hotel does not deserve good ratings.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank Denise G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 9, 2013

Almina hotel is in nice location(less than 10 mins from Blue mosque and Hagia Sophia Museum. )
But this is not the only reason for staying this hotel. Staffs are very nice and friendly, breakfast is nice and rooms are very comfortable and pleasant. Our room has a safebox, a hair drier and a nice air conditioner. Receptionists are able to speak English and Spanish fluently so they are wonderful adviser of our trip! Thank you very much!!

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Angel_from_Korea
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013

The hotel is in a quaint building in walking distance to the Bazaar, topkapi, the Blue Mosque and the underground cistern.

The garden room near the railway was very pleasant, and the train was no problem at all.The television screen was built in to the mirror - something I have never seen before or since. .The breakfasts are generous, and very authentically Turkish.Sitting in the roof top bar was magical -looking up the Bosphorus to the Golden Horn, with the towers of the Blue Mosque immediately behind.

The staff were very keen to impress, and work hard. I was a single older female traveller and they went out of their way to make sure that I was looked after and felt safe. Overall a good introduction to a magical city.

Room Tip: the garden room is very pleasant
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank cazirola
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 15, 2013

Arriving very early in the morning, I was welcomed by grudgy staff who did anything but smile. Later a senior staff member patched things up with a more welcoming attitude and smile. I had the option of staying in a garden room right by raiload tracks or a back room with no view at all. The garden double room was large, well lit, and opened onto a small garden right by train tracks. I was told trains pass every hour or so during the day, but less at night. I was very hesitant and wanted more options. The staff kindly suggested another hotel, Sphendon (check review) across the road. That room looked over a garden and was very quiet. I did not stay in Almina, but at least the staff made a kind effort to meet my needs. Thank you.
Re the date of travel: during 2012

Room Tip: Be careful not to end up with the room by the tracks.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fatih2011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#84 of 1,163 in Istanbul
740 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultans Royal Hotel
Sultans Royal Hotel
#89 of 1,163 in Istanbul
957 reviews
Sultanahmet
Tashkonak Hotel
Tashkonak Hotel
#70 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,471 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
Sokullu Pasa Hotel
#130 of 1,163 in Istanbul
485 reviews
Sultanahmet
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
Artefes Hotel Istanbul
#144 of 1,163 in Istanbul
488 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Western Empire Palace
Best Western Empire Palace
#48 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,552 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Almina Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Almina Hotel

Address: Kucuk Ayasofya Cad. Akbiyik Degirmeni Sok. No:27 Sultanahmet, Fatih, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#26 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#44 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#50 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#108 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#156 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $39 - $141 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Almina Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 25
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This hotel is just steps away from the Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia, offering well-appointed rooms with free wireless internet access, in the historic heart of Istanbul. Almina Hotel offers elegant rooms with modern amenities, including free wireless internet access and satellite TV. From single rooms to family rooms, there is accommodation to meet the needs of most holidaymakers. Start the day with a sumptuous buffet breakfast, with hot and cold dishes. Stroll around the historic district of Sultanahmet, taking in the famous sights of Topkapi Palace Museum and the Grand Bazaar. Head back to Almina Hotel for a drink on the rooftop terrace with views across the Marmara Sea. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Evoline ltd, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Almina Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Almina Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing