We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great art and classes” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Caferaga Medresesi

Caferaga Medresesi
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.47*
and up
Classic Walking Tour of Old Istanbul
Ranked #67 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Yellowknife, Canada
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Great art and classes”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

We discovered this place out exploring Istanbul one day. We were greeted by Josh when we entered. We were with our two children age 7 and 10 who were very interested in the art Josh was working on when we arrived. Josh was great with the children, explaining the art technique and letting them try. They enjoyed it so much we arranged a two hour art class with Josh the next day. Josh was fantastic with the children, they did not want the class to end. I would highly recommend this if you are traveling to Istanbul with children. It was a hit for our children and a part of Turkey they will never forget. In addition to a great art school, there are beautiful pieces of art and jewellery to be purchased. thank you Josh, can't wait to hang your art and the kids art when be get home.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
3 Thank Debbie M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

282 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    200
    63
    18
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“Don't miss this”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 13, 2014

This is a really lovely place to visit away from the hustle and bustle and hassle of the more touristy places in Sultanahmet. The building is lovely, the people you will meet are absolutely delightful, and the vibe you get is invigorating as everyone passionately teaches or learns traditional art forms such as calligraphy, ceramic work, jewellery making and miniature painting.
There is a a large variety of original artworks for sale that are beautifully executed, extremely reasonably priced and different to what you will find in most other places. And better than that, you will be helping to support the traditional and local art scene.
I visit every time I'm in Istanbul and always emerge feeling refreshed after a chat and cay and with something special to add to my collection or for a gift.

Visited April 2014
Helpful?
2 Thank Catherine W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malaga, Spain
Level Contributor
190 reviews
85 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 120 helpful votes
“Dissapointing”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 3, 2014

Maybe we expected more. It was not so easy to find. The place, an old madrassa is very nice around one patio, but it was all a bit abandoned and service and prices were high for what they offer. Nothing special at the end.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank santiago201011
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bogazkale, Turkey
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Cultural and Artistic highlight of our Turkish trip”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 30, 2014

Josh and his beautiful wife who were students and now accomplished artists/teachers made our visit to the gallery and workshop courtyard memorable and so so special. Josh willing demonstrated the art of marble art and created wonderful silhouettes of Sufis, calligraphy and tulips within seconds. He invited us to explore the courtyard where we dined and enjoyed the quietness and beauty of a world away from its hustle and bustle surrounds of Istanbul. Josh kindly gifted us the art he created to demonstrate the marble technique and invited us to have coffee with him and his beautiful wife the following day. We did and were indeed enriched again from our meeting. Josh and his wife possess an amazing dedication to the Turkish traditions, be it their sufi way of living, culture and/or artistic endeavors. Our walls are adorned with Josh's art, our mind and hearts will hold this experience of Turkish hospitality and sharing dear forever. We thank you both... Rene & Breda (Australia)

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
3 Thank Rene and Breda F
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
Level Contributor
65 reviews
14 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“100% pleasure”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 14, 2014

My husband and I had an hour-long workshop of Marble painting with Josh. It was a real pleasure and pure fun. First we were a bit shy but Josh helped us to relax, being very inspiring and cheering us up all the time. We left Caferaga Medresse happy and full of joy, next day dropped in again to take our masterpieces that were drying. If you are in Istanbul you should not miss the opportunity to learn this ancient art with Josh and you will get the best Istanbul souvenir with you back home - your own painting.
You should better book your work-shop in advance. The price is also more than fair compared to similar handicraft centres.

Visited March 2014
Helpful?
4 Thank Henhouse_star
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caferaga Medresesi also viewed

 

Been to Caferaga Medresesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing