We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Ebru (paper marbling)”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Caferaga Medresesi

Caferaga Medresesi
Book In Advance
More Info
$38.67*
and up
Classic Walking Tour of Old Istanbul
Ranked #65 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Brisbane, Australia
2 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Ebru (paper marbling)”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 17, 2012

Wow! Seems to be the reaction at the magic that happens when paper is pulled up from the ebru (paper marbling) tray and another unique and beautiful example of this ancient craft is revealed. I did a class with the wonderful Goskun (aka Jorge) and had such a fun afternoon as welll as coming away with some not too bad examples to use at home in my own art practice.Goskun is a delight and gives a student not only the information but also the confidence to really get a lot from a short class.
Caferagia edressi is a foundation dedicated to the traditional Turkish arts and crafts and runs classes in miniature painting, ceramics, jewellry calligraphy and others. Highly recommended.

Visited June 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Jansu52
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

288 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    202
    66
    19
    1
    0
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Indonesian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Austin
Level Contributor
108 reviews
33 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“A Perfect Gem in an Already Gem-Filled City”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 31, 2012

We almost didn't make it to this art academy, because we didn't know about it until another guest at our hotel told us over breakfast that it was a must see (on our last morning in the city). It's located on a little side street just behind Hagia Sofia and has a cafe and art classrooms, adjacent to a gallery.

George is the guy to see there - he showed us around the entire place, we had tea and dessert, and then spend an hour in the gallery watching him perform the most amazing watercolor art therapy. He was incredibly kind, hospitable, friendly, and the two hours we spent there could have easily been 5 hours. He is incredibly talented, and it is worth a visit - even if it is completely out of your way.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
2 Thank RWF_Austin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Midlands
Level Contributor
93 reviews
19 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Cafe and art work worth seeking out”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 24, 2012

We found this community Art Centre and adjoining cafe by chance, although it is signed from the end of Caferiye Sokak street, just off the Tramway on the north side of Aya Sofia. If you are looking for genuine Turkish art with a range of original pieces produced by a local artists' cooperative, then this is a goldmine. You will receive a very warm and enthusiastic welcome by the manager, but there is no pressure to buy and you are encouraged to look round and take your time. If things aren't too busy the manager, who speaks excellent English, and his wife will show you the paper marbling technique. The shop on the street has mostly 2-D art, framed or un-framed, with some pottery and jewellery, all for fixed prices, but a discount for cash. Don't be put off by the numbers on the frames; this is not the price; these are the code numbers which you refer to on the list to find out the name of the artist and the price. There's an even wider range of items for sale at the cafe, which is a short walk down a steep alley just behind the shop. You enter into a peaceful, shaded courtyard, surrounded by workshops and displays. The cafe serves home cooked Turkish food and delicious home-made lemonade, highly recommended for a light lunch or as a place to rest your feet between tourist attractions. This is a place where you feel you are being offered genuine Turkish art by people who really care about maintaining the traditional techniques, with no haggling or pressure to buy. This is where we bought our souvenirs and feel just as delighted with them now they are home as we did when we bought them.

Visited May 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank Mylespetheter
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Falling in love with Istanbul and Ebru”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 7, 2012

As a great admirer of art, I was astounded at the grand variety of Ottoman art that can be seen all around this fantastic city! Nothing, however, captured my eye and my heart as much as the water marbling or 'Ebru' at the Medresesi! It was absolutely the best part of my trip to Istanbul when Coşkun Uzunkaya showed us the magic of creating the Ebru! We later got to try our own hands at it, which was an inspiring experience! We created delicacies so enchanting that it made me fall in love with Istanbul forever! Coşkun is a sincerely magnificent and sweet man who makes you feel so welcome, and no art you buy in the streets of Istanbul can ever compete with his own! Truly one must not go to Istanbul without paying him and the Medresesi a visit!

Visited March 2012
Helpful?
3 Thank sanwar218
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, Belgium
1 review
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Excellent art shop”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 6, 2012

During a weekend stay in Istanbul in November 2011 I stumbled over this cafe/art academy/art shop close to Haggia Sofia, and was taken in by the beauty and quality of the art on display. This is a far cry from the usual street vendor kitsch. The art is produced using traditional methods. So If you are looking for something authentically Islamic/Turkish this is the place to visit. For what it is it is also reasonably priced. I'm nothing close to an art collector, but I still brought some items home with me which I now really cherish.....The artists/salespersons are very friendly and hospitable and in no ways pushy. The old Tekkiye and art school premises are worth a visit in themselves.

Visited November 2011
Helpful?
1 Thank Guy H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Caferaga Medresesi also viewed

 

Been to Caferaga Medresesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing