We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Istanbul Like you are in your family”
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #251 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed November 27, 2010

This hotel is well located in instanbul the staff is extremely friendly i did not want to book before so i did send a email and they kept a room for me with no payment and i arrived i was suprised he knew my name
The price of the room is very reasonnable for The location
The breakfast is very good it is a buffet well garnished again The staff is friendly The owner speaks english and good culture about his countries we had Nice chat during breakfast

  • Stayed: November 2010
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Frencheric
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Yönetici at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded January 4, 2011

I would like to thank you for the appraisals that you made about us. It is really good to know that you had a great stay here at our hotel. We would also love to get chance to welcome you again here in the future. Look forward to seeing you here. Warm Regards, Hüseyin Gültekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (620)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

280 - 286 of 620 reviews

Reviewed October 31, 2010

This hotel is awesome. It has easily the most beautiful view you could possibly ask for on the rooftop. The Hagia Sophia, Hippodrome, and the Blue Mosque are just a few blocks away. There are a bajillion restaurants at your fingertips, literally on the street in front of the hotel. FYI - the restaurants are obviously very touristy, but we found the restaurant that is literally across from the hotel's door to be the yummiest and most reasonably priced of the touristy restaurants. There are also tons of shoppes around. You can hear the ships coming in, and of course the calls to prayer.

The rooms are basic but comfortable. I think some of the rooms don't have windows... so I might suggest asking for that at booking if it's important to you. The staff are very wonderful, the front desk guy that seemed to literally be there 24/7 was very, very helpful when we had random questions. The breakfast is free and on the rooftop and super yummy. One day we arrived a bit late and the gentleman made eggs just for the two of us. We used the hotel's driver for airport service and it was reasonably priced. He drove a bit nuts, but I think basically all Turkish drivers think they are Formula 1 racers. It was nice not having to worry about the taxi driver scams. The wifi was a bit spotty - but free, so no complaints here.

The value for this hotel is amazing, considering the price people are paying for the same view, location, etc. The Alp Guesthouse and Sebnem (sp?) hotel are literally your neighbors. All in all, this hotel is awesome and I can't wait to return... we are seriously already planning our next trip. :)

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank julie4
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Thank you for your review.We always try our best to make our guest feel like home . In hope of seeing you here again. Sincerely, Hueyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2010

We stayed here twice during our 2 week holiday in Turkey - at the start for 3 nights and for 1 night on our return before flying out. We enjoyed our stays very much. Great location on a quiet street which is very close to all of the major sights - Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque , TopKapi Palace and only 15 minutes walk from the Grand Bazaar.

Our rooms (double with private bath) were comfortable and clean. There is free wifi access in room.

The staff were very helpful but not pushy. I arranged transfers to/from the airport and all went well (also good value)

The highlight of the hotel is the roof top terrace for breakfast. The views over Sultanahmet and the Sea of Marmara are quite spectacular. Breakfast is excellent with a good selection of Fruit., Cheese, Bread ( very good!) , Jams ( Home made) and eggs. It is a pleasant way to start the day.

I recommend this hotel for its excellent value for money in a great location and for its friendly and helpful staff.

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank ilovefootscray
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 2, 2010

Thank you for your review.We always try our best to make our guest feel like home . In hope of seeing you here again. Sincerely, Hueyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 25, 2010

When we were booking our trip to Turkey we wanted to stay in Sultanhamet but we didn't want an expensive hotel so Hotel Peninsula was a good choice for us. The room although small was nicely decorated and comfortable. The price was very reasonable, the staff was very helpful and the breakfast on the roof terrace was very good and plentiful. There were excellent views from the terrace and it even had hammocks besides the chairs and tables. We really liked the proximity to the sights and there were restaurants and even small grocery stores all close by. The hotel itself is on a charming small dead street so it is very quiet. We would definitely stay here again

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank walterm3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded October 31, 2010

I would like to thank you for the appraisals that you made about us. It is really good to know that you had a great stay here at our hotel. We would also love to get chance to welcome you again here in the future. Look forward to seeing you here. Warm Regards, Hüseyin Gültekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 19, 2010

I stayed here with three friends at the beginning of a 2 week trip around Turkey. We started off our trip in Istanbul and stayed here for the first three days. Everyone was arriving to Istanbul at different times during the day, the hotel staff was very accommodating and helpful when we needed their help. They also let us use their computer in the reception area whenever we needed to.Free. Our room was facing the street but this was not a problem as the hotel was located on a quiet dead-end street.
Clean rooms, great view from the terrace, good Turkish breakfast, great location for sightseeing in Sultanahmet, taxi stop nearby, very good value and friendly staff. See you next time..

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank ozmen76
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

I would like to thank you for the appraisals that you made about us. It is really good to know that you had a great stay here at our hotel. We would also love to get chance to welcome you again here in the future. Look forward to seeing you here. Warm Regards, Hüseyin Gültekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2010

Loved the surprise of a tasty and filling rooftop breakfast on day 1 (and following days); the early morning prayer call (calmed with earplugs); the eager (in a good way) helpfulness of all the staff; and having most of Istanbul's spectacular tourist experiences in my own back yard (easy walking distance).

  • Stayed: October 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank bluekereru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

I would like to thank you for the appraisals that you made about us. It is really good to know that you had a great stay here at our hotel. We would also love to get chance to welcome you again here in the future. Look forward to seeing you here. Warm Regards, Hüseyin Gültekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2010

I found this hotel on Tripadvisor and the reviews were absolutely correct. It was central, room nice and very clean.They served breakfast rooftop terrace and was great.Internet was great, the staff were great and so helpful, nothing was too much trouble, we even left out bags there a couple of days while we went to Gallipoli. Cannot fault it for a reasonably priced hotel in Istanbul, if I ever went back I would stay there again for sure.Thank you very much.

  • Stayed: September 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank libos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded October 20, 2010

I would like to thank you for the appraisals that you made about us. It is really good to know that you had a great stay here at our hotel. We would also love to get chance to welcome you again here in the future. Look forward to seeing you here. Warm Regards, Hüseyin Gültekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#241 of 1,163 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#264 of 1,163 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Alp
Hotel Alp
#307 of 1,163 in Istanbul
207 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hanedan Hotel
Hanedan Hotel
#379 of 1,163 in Istanbul
491 reviews
Sultanahmet
Ayasofya Hotel
Ayasofya Hotel
#178 of 1,163 in Istanbul
250 reviews
Sultanahmet
Megara Palace Hotel
Megara Palace Hotel
#213 of 1,163 in Istanbul
442 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#67 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#151 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $27 - $59 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Expedia, Orbitz and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing