We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“In the center of the Sultan Ahmet area”
Review of Hotel Peninsula

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
Hotel Peninsula
Ranked #262 of 1,160 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed March 14, 2013

I stayed there for one night on a stopover in Istanbul. My plan was to stay in the opposite Hanedan Guest House, but it was full. Apparently the places belong, or work together. Price was the same (EUR 30 incl. b/f).

The location is right next to the Sultan Ahmet tourist area, which is excellent if you want to be there. For my taste it was way too touristy. There were no restaurants or supermarkets for locals nearby.

The room was OK. It was quite quiet. Curtains were a bit thin and the room didn't get very dark. No fridge, but a safe (didn't got it to work). Bathroom was quite large, clean, with a very well working shower.

There wasn't much staff contact, but they seem friendly and helpful. Breakfast was ok too.

On a side note: instead of taking a taxi back to the airport (~TL 45 / EUR 20) I took a scheduled shuttle bus (EUR 5). You need to register beforehand and they will pick you up from your hotel - I can fully recommend that bus!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Jensimann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (617)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

157 - 163 of 617 reviews

Reviewed March 8, 2013

We enjoyed our stay in Peninsula. The location couldn't be better; it is just around the corner from Aya Sophia and the Blue Mosque. The place is spotlessly clean; the staff are helpful and friendly but not ‘visit my carpet shop’ type of friendly. Breakfast (a buffet of fresh fruit, cheese, olives, yogurt, etc) was generous and the restaurant had great views, overlooking the city.
Can’t fault it, it is one of the best budget hotels we've stayed at. Highly recommended!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Drift T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 28, 2013

We stayed in Istanbul for four weeks, and this is the third hotel which we stayed the longest. We emailed them inquiring for a special discount since it's low season and we wanted to stay for 23 days (out of 28 in total in the ciy). Unlike the other hotel we contacted, they replied immediately, and when we finally met the manager, he even offered us to upgrade to the Grand Peninsula Hotel. But we declined it politely since the hotel would be going some renovation during our staying, and that was exactly our reason to move from the first hotel after the first two nights since it's next to a construction. So he then offered to move us in to a larger double room after the first night instead. We're delighted. I once saw him agreeing to a customer who asked for a late check out (as late as 6pm) after he checked that there was no guest coming.

The three male staff at the reception were courteous and helpful when you need something to fix, one was chatty. But Jürsel (or at least that's how I understood to spell his name the way he told me) who serves the breakfast was a ladiback, really friendly and generous to share his insights about the city. A couple days into our staying, he knew our coffee habit and was always attentive. It was just nice to start a day with somene as friendly and genuine as he at the breakfast room - not to mention that he always managed to keep all the food fresh and ready no matter late we were!

The room was clean - thanks to the friendly cleaning lady. There was some dry and sunny days in February apart from the rather cold and rainy, but there was not enough people - and sunshine - to open the terrace.

The only downside is the super loud muezzin sound from the small mosque next door. Perhaps it felt strongest since we stayed at the second floor at the end of the hall, so we're quite right next to it. Other rooms are probably fare better.. It woke us up every dawn since it's super loud - but otherwise, I don't really mind to return simply for the room, the service and the non fussiness which was not always the case in this touristy area.

Room Tip: The room 203 at the end of the hall is a spacious double room, however it's located right next t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank travelingmonkey07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 20, 2013

We spent a week at the Peninsula Hotel for our honeymoon. The hotel is a great choice while visiting Istanbul. It is located just a few steps from all of the main tourist attractions. The hotel is very clean, the breakfast is very good. The staff is very nice and helpful! We can't say enough good things about this hotel. Many thanks to everyone that made our stay so wonderful here.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank BBasia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 6, 2013

For a great location (Sultanahmet) , delightful rooms (the room at the top is wonderful) , delicious breakfast (including home-made yoghurt and preserves) , and above all, a warm and welcoming staff (more on that below) the Peninsula cannot be beat. Two of us stayed there for a week in November 2012 and returned happily in January 2013 for another week for all of the above reasons. It will be our home away from home on all future visits to this stupendous city.
The staff is superb. It is not to slight Yursel, Ramazan, Erhan, Ali, Benass (?), all of whom will make you feel at home, to focus on Zeki , but we spent most time with him, and consider him a friend. Zeki is unfailingly cheerful, helpful and charming. With his background in art history, especially Byzantine art history, he’s an invaluable guide to what to see in the city. Every one of his suggestions for walks or places to visit was spot on. (Especially his suggestion to take the local ferries that cross-cross the Golden Horn, 3TL each way, to Eyup, visit the mosque there, climb the hill for the view, and then go on to Chora Church, a MUST see for its mosaics). It’s worth a trip to Istanbul to meet him. If you need an additional reason to choose Peninsula, then Zeki is that reason.
The two level roof deck has seductive views over the old part of the city and to the sea beyond. The hammocks and chairs will be great places to kick back in warm weather. (Note: November and January had both clear and cool days and damp, dreary, cold and wet ones .)
The breakfast room is off the first deck level and has windows looking out onto the mosque next door and the neighborhood and the sea. Yursel, who presides over breakfast, is a font of information about the city. And the food is superb, especially the home-made yoghurt, and the olives, the best I have ever eaten. A great and healthy Peninsula breakfast (ripe cucumbers and tomatoes, three cheeses, bread, hard boiled eggs, two kinds of olives, meats, yoghurt…..) fueled us for the day. A late lunch at about 4 was all we needed for the rest of the day…until late night coffee and maybe the sublime chocolate souffle at Tria our favorite nearby restaurant.
The location is perfect for tasting Turkey and exploring old Istanbul. It’s in the heart of Sultanahmet, near the Arasta Bazaar right around the corner from a street lined with restaurants. While guidebooks will tell you Sultanahmet is not the best place to taste Turkish food, it still has wonderful taste sensations and the restaurants are close by, if more expensive than restaurants elsewhere. Our favorite nearby restaurant was Tria (see review due in March 2013), also recommended by Zeki. Short walks take you out of the tourist areas to others with local restaurants. Aya Sofia, Blue Mosque, Hippodrome, Topkapi , Arasta Bazaar, ATMs, the tram ( 3 TL) are a few minutes away. There is a laundry around the corner (wash and dry but no ironing) that will return your laundry by the end of the day. The hotel can arrange transfers to and from the airport. (Note: they charge for the transfers: 20Euro). They’ll store luggage for you. The clientele is international, friendly, informative, and interesting.
The décor is simple, handsome and Turkish, the rooms impeccably clean. You know you are in some place special.
The room on the top floor is on the same floor as the deck and breakfast room, so grabbing that morning cup of coffee and bringing it back to your room is a snap. It has two small chairs and a table next to a window looking out over the mosque with the sea in the distance, a great spot for writing up your notes and planning the day. The call to prayer at the very close mosque next door is an early wake-up, so if you are not an early riser, you might want a room on the other side. There is no elevator.
We are men in our very late 60’s (well, seventy is coming up), have travelled quite a bit and stayed in many places. Peninsula is at the very top of our list of favorite places (along with Nefertiti Hotel in Luxor and Beit el Kerem in Aswan…reviews already published). Our two stays in Istanbul were bookends to much longer stays in Jordan, Egypt and Sudan. Peninsula was a perfect place to gear up for the trip at the beginning and to come down to earth after desert camping and other adventures. We’ll certainly stay there on our next trip to Istanbul. It will be like coming home. In short, you won’t find a better place to stay in Istanbul…and you will have Zeki there to make your stay memorable.

Room Tip: Go for the top floor. There is only one room on the top floor. It has with great views of the next d...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
7  Thank bobinathens
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

This hotel it is right in the old town! Literally 1 minute from the Hagia Sophia and Blue Mosque and just off a cozy restaurant strip located on a quite dead end street. The staff are lovely and the views from the roof-top patio make this hotel a worthy choice! The rooms are modest and clean, the bathroom shower had great water pressure and HOT water which is hard to find in Turkey! Also good working A/C which you defiantly need in the summer ! I highly recommend this place- not to mention the tasty Turkish breakfast buffet! Simple and affordable this is a great choice!

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank zoshked
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 2, 2013

Initially reserved The Hanedan (opposite in the same street) but on arrival was told that it would be being refurbished 3 nights into our 5 night stay. No problem, we were offered alternative accommodation in The Peninsula and were completely happy there. Adequate sized room with a very firm, king-sized bed, wardrobe with small safe, bedside lamps, etc, all of which were in working order. Clean and tidy although the bedding was a bit worn - nonetheless, white and well boiled so definitely clean ! Radiator which worked - useful for January in Istanbul ! and an Air Conditioning unit which we did not use, but am certain it will be great during a Turkish summer. Nice bathroom with a good shower - powerful with plenty of hot water at all times of the day. Towels were changed after 3 days. Bed made daily and bins emptied. Breakfast served on the top floor in a small breakfast room where a very obliging/polite chap kept the tea & coffee coming, as well as replenishing the food. Breakfast consisted of the typical Turkish fare : fresh bread, hard boiled eggs, 2 types of cheese, salami, 2 types of olives, various jams/spreads, in hygienic single portions (do try the Rose Jam ! its lovely), cucumber, tomatoes, yoghurt, cake .... think that was it ?! Its in an extremely convenient area for all the usual 'must see' sites, ie. Sultanahmet, Agia Sofia, Topkapi Palace, Hippodrome, etc,, as well as the very frequent/efficient Tramway - useful for getting back uphill from the Bosphorus ! Only 3TL per trip - buy the tokens (jeton) from a booth nearby each tramstop - the machine will take notes and return change, so don't be afraid ! Nearby restaurants offer a good variety at prices the Brits will find affordable but which the Turks amongst us will think a little steep ! Venture over to the Kofta restaurants on Divan Yolu - the main road where the tramway stop is - sit down and order meatballs and salad with ayran (yoghurt) to drink and 2 of you will eat for about £10 bread included ! Can't be bad ! These two kofta shops have been here for over 100 years and are part of Istanbul life - nice to go somewhere where Turks are eating too. Back to the Hotel .... would stay here again, no problem but would recommend they install an electric kettle and a couple of cups in each room, to enable us to make a brew - one night the Reception staff kindly made us two huge glasses of Turkish tea when we asked though ! Another measure of the place - I will be happy to stay here alone when my husband can't make it. Can't wait to return.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Melek123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
dersim, Owner at Hotel Peninsula, responded to this reviewResponded November 27, 2013

We thank you for your nice comment , We are happy to read that you enjoyed and satisfied your stay in our hotel. It is our pleasure to be able to meet and host you in our hotel.You are always welcome to our hotel and country Sincerely Huseyin Gultekin

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Grand Peninsula Hotel
Grand Peninsula Hotel
#259 of 1,160 in Istanbul
447 reviews
Sultanahmet
Apricot Hotel
Apricot Hotel
#450 of 1,160 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Sultanahmet
Gul Sultan Hotel
Gul Sultan Hotel
#239 of 1,160 in Istanbul
236 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#55 of 1,160 in Istanbul
1,767 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
Sultanahmet Park Hotel
#520 of 1,160 in Istanbul
364 reviews
Sultanahmet
Maritime Hotel
Maritime Hotel
#322 of 1,160 in Istanbul
306 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Peninsula? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Peninsula

Address: Akbiyik Cad. Adliye Sokak 6 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34122, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#28 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#107 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#145 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#152 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $31 - $58 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 12
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to the Hotel Peninsula in Istanbul. We are a small boutique hotel, nestled quietly at the end of leafy laneway. We are nestled amount this city’s great historical landmarks and you will instantly transport your mind heart upon arrival. When you go to buy your morning paper, you stroll past our 489 year old Turkish Hamam, tangled with vines and moss. This truly is an immersion into an oriental parallel, and we are pleased to be able to offer you warm, friendly accommodation during your journey here. The Peninsula has become a cultural institution over the years and we look forward (“wait with four eyes” in Turkish) to welcoming you to our extended family. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire and Expedia so you can book your Hotel Peninsula reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Peninsula Hotel Istanbul
Peninsula Istanbul
Istanbul Peninsula

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing