We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Two Nights in Historic Istanbul”
Review of Asur Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Asur Hotel
Ranked #347 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Glasgow, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Two Nights in Historic Istanbul”
Reviewed May 26, 2014

I found the staff very helpful during my first visit to Istanbul. I was older and stuffier than most of the other guests at Asur, but I enjoyed excellent service.
It was great to stay within easy walking distance of main attractions such as the Blue Mosque, with several good, cheap restaurants just a few yards from the hotel.

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SMMcCourt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

363 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    122
    161
    58
    17
    5
See reviews for
69
129
38
11
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (35)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
22 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
Reviewed May 5, 2014

Our family vacation for the 1st of May holidays was a blast not only because of the sunny, vibrant Istanbul, but also because we had a comfortable stay at the Asur hotel. Small but conveniently located in the very heart of Istanbul, it is a perfect location where all the "roads" to the gorgeous cultural (and shopping!) sights intersect. The hotel staff is extremely nice, ready to help you with every concern imaginable, from organizing a hamam visit for you, to pointing shortcuts and fastest directions to various parts of the city. With a comfortable, clean room and a rich breakfast to start your day with, you are absolutely filled with energy for a day full of sightseeing. And virtually ALL major sights are right there, within 10 minutes of magical walking: Agia Sofia, Blue Mosque, Sultanahmet area, Cisterne, the bazaars (Grand, spice..) Suleymaniye and other mosques, souvenir shops, restaurants, the port where Bosporus tours part from, Galata bridge from where you can safely climb all the way to Taksim, passing by the Galata Tower...If your main drive is to see as much as possible within a short vacation in this magnificent city, then hotel Asur is a perfect little resting spot for you!

  • Stayed May 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Aleksandra D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bellville, South Africa
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed April 22, 2014

My husband and I arrived very late one evening, but the staff received us like long lost family! We felt very welcome, and enjoyed our two-day stay at the Asur Hotel. Our taxi had a little trouble finding the hotel initially and had to phone to find final directions, but the location was perfect. The main tourist attractions were within walking distance as well as shopping areas and restaurants. The staff was very helpful in arranging tours of the city. The hotel is very well maintained and breakfast was tasty. I would recommend the Asur Hotel without reservations.

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank CY4travel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Christchurch, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
107 reviews
51 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 68 helpful votes
Reviewed April 3, 2014

We stayed here twice, at the start and end of our trip (a total of 4 nights). Hotel is approx 150m from the Gulhane tram stop, 45 minutes from the airport via metro then tram costing TL6. Our first room overlooking the street was small whilst the second was more spacious but no daylight. Both rooms were clean with the usual amenities minibar, tv, hairdryer, hot water, toiletries etc. Again both rooms had the high step into and out of the shower as noted in earlier reviews. Staff were friendly and helpful. We enjoyed the buffet breakfast which had a reasonable selection of scrambled egg, sausage, cheeses, cold meat, pastries, bread, fruit, salad, olives etc. There were a number of restaurants within a few metres from the hotel, we particularly enjoyed the reasonably priced New Hatay restaurant in the same street as the hotel. The hotel location was good being within easy walking distance of a number of major attractions

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Joel43_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Slatina, Romania
Level Contributor
4 reviews
Reviewed March 27, 2014

I stayed here 5 nights with 2 other friends in a triple room.Perfect location,very quaiet place.It”s near tram station,many good restaurants arrowned.Brekfast was very good,and the room very clean.The guys from reception very polite and always helped us with indications.Very good hotel and the price was very good too.Thank you for all.Istanbul was amazing.MUST BE SEEN!!!

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Patrascu M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Scotland
Level Contributor
17 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
Reviewed March 25, 2014

Stayed here for 4 nights. Great location near tram stops and a lot of good restuarants. We had a room with balcony worth the extra money.breakfast had a good choice served from 7 till 10.Not a lot of storage in the room and the pillows were so uncomfortable.

  • Stayed March 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sacren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level Contributor
29 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed March 2, 2014

It is a nice hotel with very basic facilities. The staff is very helpful. There is wi-fi facility in the rooms. It is at a very convenient location to the historical places, tram stations, plenty of restaurants and shopping areas. One suggestion is that there should be someone available at the kitchen or a microwave available to warm up food that guests can bring from outside especially during the cold winters.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Larissa412
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
Sehir Hotel Oldcity
#295 of 1,140 in Istanbul
138 reviews
Sultanahmet
Flower Palace Hotel
Flower Palace Hotel
#387 of 1,140 in Istanbul
167 reviews
Sultanahmet
Turvan Hotel
Turvan Hotel
#370 of 1,140 in Istanbul
203 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Evsen
Hotel Evsen
#231 of 1,140 in Istanbul
311 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Black Tulip
Hotel Black Tulip
#238 of 1,140 in Istanbul
230 reviews
Sultanahmet
Best Nobel Hotel
Best Nobel Hotel
#664 of 1,140 in Istanbul
186 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Asur Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Asur Hotel

Property: Asur Hotel
Address: Hoca Pasa Mah Ibni Kemal Cd 16, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet , Sirkeci
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
#71 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#202 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#211 Family Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Asur Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 34
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotwire, Booking.com, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Priceline, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Asur Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Asur Hotel Istanbul
Orsep Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing