We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“It was OK.”
Review of Grand Hotel Gulsoy

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Ranked #398 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
UK
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“It was OK.”
Reviewed July 15, 2011

The hotel is nice enough, but the rooms are very hot, and the fans/AC are not very effective. Also, there is some kind of bar nearby, and loud cover music blares all night long, meaning you have to sleep with the windows closed and earplugs in. In addition, the bath-shower leaks, so after a shower the floor in the bathroom is sopping wet.

On the other hand, the desk staff are very helpful, the breakfast is generous and tasty, and the room is big and spacious. Free wi-fi is available, and not bad, a bit slow, but OK.

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Journogrrl
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

270 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    59
    121
    59
    19
    12
See reviews for
57
92
20
21
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (36)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Tehran
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed June 14, 2011

The hotel was reserved via tour and at our arrival in 8AM, we knew we have to wait for check in time, but when my friend was heading for restroom, the receptionist didnt let him go upstairs and she thought he wanted to go for breakfast, the behaviour was rude, despite her own misunderstanding... the rooms were tiny and the windows were opened at patio where the restaurant was located, so we could clearly hear every rooms conversations and noises of getting ready for breakfast. The reciptionists did not know English at all and were not mature enough to managethe guests. Breakfast not so interesting... Don't bother to think about this

  • Stayed July 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Saad-aj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Istanbul hotels

Perth
Level Contributor
24 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2011

We stayed here as part of a Fez Travel tour for 3 nights. There were no problems checking in, storing bags or getting details from the front desk. Whilst they were not fabulous on their English, or going out of their way to help you, however everything was organised, it just took a little longer. The rooms themselves were adequate, not huge, and the bathrooms could do with a thorough clean and check the shower door seals. The hotel is opposite a mosque, so expect an early wake up call from most rooms in the hotel. The breakfast was great and catered for all nationalities and appetites; the hotel cafe downstairs is overpriced and had average food. There was a handy deli just next door to the hotel for any water, fruit and snacks which was helpful. We then stayed at another 4 star hotel in a location closer to other major attractions which was much better for a cheaper price.

  • Stayed April 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank PerthAngie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
28 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed October 6, 2010

Stayed here in May 2010. You might find this hotel a suitable option if you intend to do a lot of sightseeing in Sultanahmet and won't spend much time in the hotel room.
My room had a nice view to the Suleiman mosque but that could not make up the poor maintenance of the room. It was very dusty and dirty. The cleaning staff didn't change the plastic bag of the bathroom rubbish bin, just took the rubbish out of it. When I decided to change the bag myself I discovered the rubbish bin was so dirty that my hands smelled for a couple of hours afterwards, despite of washing.
The hotel has good amenities but they are not free of charge for the customers. Using the tiny pool on the rooftop costs 10 euro. On the ground floor they have a sauna but it would have cost some 30 dollars to use it.
This hotel seems to be favoured by Russian tourist groups. They also have Russian satellite channels on TV. I didn't like Sultanahmet area especially much. The vendors on the streets and in the Grand Bazaar are very pushy and everybody was talking to me in Russian (I am not Russian even though I look like it). If you are not very much into the touristy thing stay in Taksim instead of Sultanahmet!
Istanbul has very good public transport and a ticket costs only 1,5 lira. You may hop into the metro straight at the Atatürk airport. I went to the Asian side (Üskudar) twice just because it's fun to ride a ferry across Bosphorus. There are several docks on the both sides where you can catch a ferry.

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank TroubledAditi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jeddah, Saudi Arabia
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed September 23, 2010

the bath room not clean , a/c very bad you cant controled , is atomaric the is the first time see hotle they control the a/c not you , the below not clean

  • Stayed September 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maherabdul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
syria
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed June 25, 2010

we use to stay there mounthly for more than tow years!!
It's really wonderful,we feel ourselves in our home becouse of the kindness of the reception staff there..since we make reservation untill we leave Istanbul they are with us with thier gentleness...Frankly they act the most important rule in the hotel..you can find alot of hotels with testy food , clean room and nice view but-with my respect to all- you cant find polite staff like Grand Gulsoy staff..
thanx for all
Mohamed Al-Shareef Family

  • Stayed June 2010, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank ghalia-alshareef
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Tehran, Iran
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed June 2, 2010

I have been there with my husband and two young children last Sept 2009 for 1 week. They gave us a room which was so dark and hot despite Istanbul's pleasant wether, but they gave us an additional fan which helped us to sleep well. Staff (specially receptionists) are not friendly that much but they are respectful. Location is very good and near to shopping centers. Generally it was a good hotel to stay.

  • Stayed September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Maryamjoon
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Zurich
Hotel Zurich
#525 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 163 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Senator Hotel
Senator Hotel
#298 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 287 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
Ramada Istanbul Grand Bazaar
#188 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 382 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Hamidiye
Hotel Hamidiye
#753 of 1,135 in Istanbul
3.5 of 5 bubbles 108 reviews
Darkhill Hotel
#359 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 296 reviews
Grand Bazaar
Hotel Mosaic
Hotel Mosaic
#483 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 192 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Grand Hotel Gulsoy? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Grand Hotel Gulsoy

Property: Grand Hotel Gulsoy
Address: Sehzadebasi Cad. No:17 Vefa, Fatih, Istanbul 34134, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Swimming Pool
Hotel Style:
#195 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#269 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Grand Hotel Gulsoy 4*
Number of rooms: 146
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcome to your home in Istanbul to relax which offers you a warm atmosphere to make your stay comfortable and feel yourself at home. Our aim is to create a warm atmosphere provided with modern facilities.Our reception is at your service 24 hrs a day! Take a look at our rooms! Or check out our facilities, like our indoor swimming pool, restaurants etc.. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Grand Hotel Gulsoy reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Grand Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing