We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Loved Ibrahim and the Zeynap Sultan”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,156 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Salmon Arm, British Columbia
Level 3 Contributor
22 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
“Loved Ibrahim and the Zeynap Sultan”
Reviewed October 25, 2006

Couldn't ask for a better location in the Sultanamet. Hats off to Ibrahim and all of his staff. Incredibly professional but also very personable and helpful. Thanks, Ibrahim, for your insights into Turkish culture.

The rooms are a bit on the small side, but this is Europe after all. And the spotless nature of the rooms and the entire hotel make up for it. Complimentary internet is also a big bonus. Above all, the views from the terrace are the best.

Some advice if you're staying here: while there's no restaurant in the hotel, there is one kitty corner: out the front door, turn right, walk across the road about 30 paces. This small restaurant is deceiving...the food quality is very good, and they will deliver right to the terrace at the Zeynap Sultan!

  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank Shuswapper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

497 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    301
    141
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
92
197
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
England
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed September 28, 2006

I went to Zeynep Sultan Hotel in March this year with my family.
We booked a room for three people. We received a room on ground floor which was rather small but nicely decorated and immaculately clean. It was still cold in March and we did have problems with the heating in the room at first. We called the staff to help us sort it out several times during the first few days who did finally managed to it on our day two. Our room window backed to another hotel and all we could see from it was another wall but the view from the rooftop terrace where we had breakfast in the morning was wonderfull. The breakfast itself was very nice too. My mother fell in love with their turkish coffee and we had to buy some for her to take home. Their honey, bread and olives stuffed with peppers are divine. I came to Istanbul with a very bad cough which I just could not shift but after couple of days there, it completely dissapeared. I am still convinced that this was something to do with consuming large quantities of honey there. The staff there were extremely friendly and helpfull. We also met the owner of the hotel Ibrahim who was kind enough to point us to some of the best attractions in the city. I did however find some of his comments a bit off putting. His comment to the prayer calls from the local mosques "Enough already" I found a bit disrespectfull. It was also contradictory as there is a chapel in the basement of the hotel. Another negative about the hotel was transport to the airport. From the airport we took a taxi which cost me approximately £10. Hotel's transport price to the airport was much more than that which I found quite unreasonable. We did not expect a free ride as we booked via Expedia but I did expect to pay around the same price as the local taxis.

As far as Istanbul is concerned, ever since I came back , I have been talking about going back there. My family and I absolutely loved it. Staying in the Sultanahmet area felt like being transported back to the Ottoman period. The atmosphere in the city is amazing. Sitting in the garden in front of the Blue Mosque during lunch time prayer is very spiritually moving and enlightening. Views from the Topkapi palace are breathtaking. Do not miss the visit to the Spice Market as the prices there are generally lower than at the Grand Bazar and you get hassled less. I fell in love with the place and can not wait to go back there again.

Helpful?
12 Thank pri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Valencia, Spain
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

We stayed 6 nights in August, the night of our arrival and, after a 7 days tour around Turkey, 5 more nights. They kept part of our luggage during that interval of time, free of charge.
They picked us up from the airport as we booked directly from the website and stayed more than 3 days.

We felt welcomed since the first minute. The hotel was really quite and, after a long sightseeing, it was really nice to have a rest in the reception talking to the friendly staff and playing with the lazy cat.
Stuff were really helpful, making good suggestions when asked. Everyone we met was kind with us, even our english was poor and sometimes it was difficult to understand us! They didn't hesitate to repeat every answer twice. We felt at home.

Everything is close to the hotel, as you can read in other reviews. The location is excelent.
Our room was not small, as it had an extra bed where we placed our luggage (we payed for a twin room). But even without this extra bed, I would have considered the room as good sized. I suppose that it depends on your standards. For me, and for the price I payed, a room with a wardrobe, a table to place the luggage, a TV and a large bed (and the bed was one of the most comfortable I have ever found in a hotel) is ok. I just heard the call to pray the first night (maybe I was so tired -and the bed was so comfortable- that I didn't hear anything the rest of nights!). The room and bathroom were spotless and the air conditioning worked perfectly (without noise). We could watch the spanish international channel, something we had not found in other hotels, and was nice to see the news in our mother tongue, as our english is poor. You also have free internet connection.

The only thing they could improve is perhaps the breakfast, very simple and unvariable, maybe ok if you stay one or two days, but a bit boring and simple if you stay for long.

I would highly recommend this hotel to anyone.

  • Liked — Friendly stuff, excelent location
  • Disliked — simple breakfast
  • Stayed August 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
7 Thank Thaliana
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
LHRTripper
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed September 24, 2006

The Zeynep Sultan is a great basic hotel for a sightseeing trip to Istanbul. It is situated in the heart of Sultanahmet under the shadow of the Aya Sofia and just around the corner from the Blue Mosque.

The rooms are on the small side but very clean and well appointed. The bathroom was also small but very efficiently filled, but most importantly the shower was excellent; really refreshing after a night partying in Taksim.

Breakfast is basic but fresh bread, eggs cheese and honey are all you need to set you up for a trek around the sights.

We were most impressed by the staff. They were extremely friendly and helpful. We felt very welcome.

  • Liked — Location and friendliness of staff.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
8 Thank LHRTripper
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Desert Hot Springs, California
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 56 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Zeynep Sultan is an easy walk to historical monuments, restaurants, train station, and markets. The staff was so helpful.

  • Liked — location
  • Disliked — small rooms
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank DesertDarling
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Washington, DC
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed September 18, 2006

Like many previous posts, I booked this hotel after reading reviews on this site. I cannot say enough about this hotel and the wonderful staff - they made our visit to Istanbul truly memorable.

My brother and I lived in Ankara, Turkey as children when our father was in the military - but had not been back to the country in nearly 40 years. We decided to take our Dad on this trip to celebrate his 70th birthday.

We stayed 4 nights (Sept 1 - 4) and loved every minute! Ibrahim and his staff made us feel like family. They pointed out good restaurants close by (especially helpful that first night when we were exhausted!) and were always available to offer tips on sites to see, shopping, transportation, etc.

The terrace is a major high-point of the hotel. My husband, brother, father and I loved to relax with a bottle of Raki or a few Efes beers at the end of a day spent sight-seeing and walking for hours. The view of Ayasofya is magnificent - and at night when it's lit up, it is breathtaking. It's this amazing little respite in the middle of the Old City.

Breakfast is included in the rate - and the perfect way to start a day with light fare before tackling the sites. Ibrahim is generally available to help you plan your day, but all the staff seem very knowledgeable and willing to offer advice.

Rooms are adequate size, very clean and quiet - even with the morning call to prayer. The location of the hotel is perfect.

Again, I cannot say enough about Ibrahim and his staff. All were truly wonderful! Duran taught us the best way to drink Raki - we all brought bottles home to share with friends in the States!

I would wholeheartedly recommend this hotel to anyone planning a "tourist" visit to Turkey. They will take very good care of you at Zeynep Sultan!

  • Liked — The Terrace that looked out over the Haghia Sophia
  • Disliked — Lack of restaurant ... but really, that's not a big factor given all the places nearby.
  • Tips/Secrets — Book directly with the hotel staff via the Internet. They are friendly and accomodating.
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
6 Thank LRB64
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, UK
Level 3 Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2006

Booked the Zeynep Sultan for a week-long stay after reading reviews on this site. I agree with most other visitors that the location is excellent (quiet-ish side street smack bang in the middle of Sultanahmet) and the personnel most friendly. The owner made a real point of mingling with the guests at breakfast and gave useful tips on how to organise your own outings rather than joining the organised cattle herds. The outside tables on the roof terrace are hugely popular with all breakfast guests but even when they're all taken, no problem - the guys will carry another table out for you! The room I stayed in was relatively small (that was fine as I was by myself), clean, air-conditioned and in a good state of repair. The bathroom was also small but plumbing worked perfectly (more than can be said of most British hotels!!!). Only minus point was the rather variable standard of cleaning. Towels weren't changed automatically (I guess you have to ask). Tip: do take some earplugs, as the hotel is right next to the Zeynep Sultan Mosque - calls to prayer start at 5.30am sharp! Overall I would say really good value for money, if you're after a comfortable, affordable base to explore the city (I booked through hoteldiscount.com), rather than a hotel to lounge around in (no restaurant / bar).

  • Liked — Location, friendly staff
  • Disliked — No lift, very random selection of tv channels
  • Stayed September 2006, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
3 Thank cinnamon75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#114 of 1,156 in Istanbul
339 reviews
Sultanahmet
Arden City Hotel
Arden City Hotel
#79 of 1,156 in Istanbul
392 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Seraglio
Hotel Seraglio
#20 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,004 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#55 of 1,156 in Istanbul
978 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#95 of 1,156 in Istanbul
333 reviews
Sultanahmet
Grand Naki Hotel
Grand Naki Hotel
#44 of 1,156 in Istanbul
104 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeynep Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeynep Sultan Hotel

Property: Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Address: Zeynep Sultan Camii Sok 25 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#116 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#177 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zeynep Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cradle of civilization...Turkey...From Hitites to Urartus, Phrygians to Lycians, from Romans to Seljuks...They all lived here. A city that gave birth to and fostered three glorious empires...The East Roman empire, the Byzantine empire and the Ottoman empire...Once the capital city of these empires, Istanbul is still alive and breathing a mystical blend of air, weary of the contemprary urbanization and cultural clashes. Zeynep Sultan Hotel is where you will blend a magical potion from a Roman hippodrome, an Egyptian obelisque, a Byzantine Church and an Ottoman Grand Bazaar. And maybe you will top it with the Blue Mosque or the Topkapi Palace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Orbitz, Booking.com, Expedia, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Agoda, Hotwire and HotelQuickly so you can book your Zeynep Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeynep Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Zeynep Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing