We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent location and service, superb view from terrace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Ranked #109 of 1,178 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 14, 2014

Very conveniently placed in the Sultanahmet area, very close to the Basilica Cistern and most downtown attractions.
Extremely helpful staff,
Rooms are small, but furnished in good taste.
Breakfast average - but plentiful + a great view of Hagia Sophia from their terrace

Room Tip: Heating system is rather noisy - so it's best you warm the room up before going to bed.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank bogdanlaiu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (513)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

125 - 131 of 513 reviews

Reviewed November 27, 2013

This B&B I would recommend to everyone. You can't get a more convenient location than this. No more than a 10 min walking distance to any of the attractions - aya sofiya, blue mosque, topkapi castle, the ferry port and grand bazaar, gulhane park, etc.

The hotel is in between sultan ahmet station and gulhane station. The metro station is literally 2 mins walk both ways.

The hotel is surrounded by food shops. kebab, Shish taowk, pizza, mcdonalds and Burger King all Within a 5-10 min walk so we had no food problems.


The hotel staff were friendly and very very helpful. They all speak excellent English and guided us to the best tours, shops, food etc.

The hotel was clean, quiet and comfortable. The staff were available at all times to answer any queries.

Price wise, it was very economical.

Overall me and my family had a great experience staying at zeynep hotel and we would recommend it for everyone. Not one complaint.


  • Stayed: November 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Noor2012
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a very nice budget hotel in a great location, reasonable size rooms, nice breakfast, quiet roof terrace, friendly service. We like this hotel very much and it was our 3rd visit. I took a point off because when we arrived after a 24 hour trip, we were given a very substandard room for one night - Room 104. I had booked 4 months ahead for a twin room and 2 weeks ahead I requested a quiet room to recover from long trip. Apparently there was a tour group and no other room available when we arrived at 6 PM. Room 104 is dark and very tiny, has a small double bed very low on the floor. It is right next to the lobby so you hear every sound. The tiny bath shares a big vent with another bathroom and it sounds like people are in your bathroom. We are a senior couple and were exhausted and this was a huge disappointment. We got a nice room the next morning (203) and another nice room later in our trip (304). I would recommend that this room be offered as a budget room and since the hotel is so nice I'm sure it would be booked. But it should not be substituted for a full price room.

Room Tip: Second and third floor best. Ground floor rooms are dark. Avoid Room 104!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
3  Thank linawood
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Excellent staff. Clean room, a bit small for prolonged stay (6 days). Incredible location a few steps from Agia Sophia!
Microscopic bathroom. Absurd noise from the mosque a few meters away: we jumped in our bed every morning at 05:45. No elevator. Good breakfast, but boring after 6 days.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank MauriceBr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

This is a great small hotel in a perfect location situated in the old section of Sultanhamet. From the rooftop terrace, where the breakfast room is located, you have unobstructed views of both Hagia Sophia and the Blue Mosque.The staff and hotel owner is very friendly, accommodating and ready to help whenever needed. Most of the historical sites are walk -able from the hotel as well as the Tram which is just a block away. The rooms are simply decorated, a bit small,but comfortable. Also, bathrooms are very clean but a little small.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Prince1954
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013 via mobile

Although i didnt stay at this hotel, the guy at the reception Mr. Ismail helped me find the hotel i was looking for. He litterally called that hotel and reserved a room for us. I would recommend this hotel to everyone

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RAJAQ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013 via mobile

We stayed 9 days in September 2013. We experienced Istanbul with a 'must do' list supplied by hotel owner Abe who was extremely generous in sharing his local knowledge. The rooms were small and the bed may not have been as soft as some I have slept in but it was clean, safe, in a fantastic position close to many highlights and was excellent value for money. Would stay there again in a heartbeat!!!

  • Stayed: September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank BustlingBetty
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
Ottoman Hotel Imperial
#123 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,805 reviews
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#114 of 1,178 in Istanbul
350 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#20 of 1,178 in Istanbul
806 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
Hotel Darussaade Istanbul
#64 of 1,178 in Istanbul
757 reviews
Karakoy
Karakoy Port Hotel
Karakoy Port Hotel
#33 of 1,178 in Istanbul
766 reviews
Sultanahmet
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
Yasmak Sultan Hotel
#27 of 1,178 in Istanbul
1,403 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeynep Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeynep Sultan Hotel

Address: Zeynep Sultan Camii Sok 25 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#113 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#173 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $57 - $124 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Zeynep Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cradle of civilization...Turkey...From Hitites to Urartus, Phrygians to Lycians, from Romans to Seljuks...They all lived here. A city that gave birth to and fostered three glorious empires...The East Roman empire, the Byzantine empire and the Ottoman empire...Once the capital city of these empires, Istanbul is still alive and breathing a mystical blend of air, weary of the contemprary urbanization and cultural clashes. Zeynep Sultan Hotel is where you will blend a magical potion from a Roman hippodrome, an Egyptian obelisque, a Byzantine Church and an Ottoman Grand Bazaar. And maybe you will top it with the Blue Mosque or the Topkapi Palace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Priceline, Hotwire, Orbitz, HotelQuickly and getaroom.com so you can book your Zeynep Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeynep Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Zeynep Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing