We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very tourist friendly”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Ranked #115 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Very tourist friendly”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

This is a very well downtown located old house renovated to modern standards. It could be more luxurious or have larger rooms but it would loose some of its authentic old time Istanbul charm. This is not a big chain international hotel but a small place set on top of the oldest church in Istanbul. You are very close to Santa Sophia and almost at the entrance of the Topkapi Palace garden and Archeological Museum. Tthe views from the brakfast/bar are incredible. Also the price is right considering the excellent service and location. My wife and myself stayed there recently for a week and we had a very good experience. Abe, the owner, hangs out amongst the guest at breakfast and becomes your best "tour guide" advising you on the many things you can do in Istanbul. He is a most gracious host that will enhance your Istanbul experience.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Francisco P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

488 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    294
    139
    43
    7
    5
See reviews for
89
193
54
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (42)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Staunton, Virginia
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed April 5, 2013

I recommend this hotel without reservation (no pun:). This is not a fancy hotel. There is no pool or gym. What there is however is most outstanding.

First, the service was impeccable. My second visit to the hotel in a couple of weeks I was greeted by Usef (forgive spelling please) with a big smile and "welcome home." That is exactly how it felt to me.

Second, third, and forth, to me were Location, Location, and Location. I love the historic district of Istanbul and this hotel is smack in the middle and bumping up against an old Mosque and Minnert with Hagia Sophia just a three wood golf shot off the second floor terrace away. Sometimes I would get a cup of coffee or other beverage from the small cafe on the second floor terrace and just stare at Hagia Sophia, considered "the center of the world," for a thousand years.

Next in importance, I lost count of the number, is cleanliness. The core value of cleanliness is evident through out the building including the guest rooms and bathrooms.

On to the rooms. This is not the Ritz Carlton...but for the same money I would stay at the Zeynep Sultan. The rooms are simply appointed, clean, with adequate storage.

Istanbul is a hub in my work. I go from the US to Istanbul then any one of a number of Central Asian capitals a couple of times a year. Zeynep Sultan has become my home in Istanbul. I already have reservations for Feb 2014.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Caravaneer7
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Calgary, Canada
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
Reviewed April 3, 2013

Good hotel, great staff and good location. It was clean and reasonably priced. My only complaint is the noise from the hostel bar next door. It was noisy but only until about midnight at which point I think they shut it down for the night.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nostromos
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed April 2, 2013 via mobile

Had a lovely Easter break here and recommend this little hotel wholeheartedly. Our room was small and the shower wasn't the best I've ever been in, but the location was amazing and the view from the breakfast terrace was stunning. The staff are really friendly and fall over themselves to help and advise. Great value for money too.

Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
2 Thank RebsO
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level Contributor
76 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed March 30, 2013

Excellent location near Aya Soya. A ten minutes walking from the train station and ferry port.
Clean and simple rooms. A little bit noisy.
Typical and tasty breakfast. It was served in the terrace.
Staff is very nice, friendly and speaks English.
It is a good value for the money.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank tmarcela
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Aberdeen, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
84 reviews
54 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 33 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2013

Stayed for 5 nights in this hotel with my partner. Room was clean, basic and a reasonable size with plenty storage space, bathroom was quite small with a shower. Breakfast was on the terrace with great views of Aya Sofya, small selection of breakfast goods including coffee, cereal, yoghurt, bread, meats, cheese, salad etc you had to pay extra for other drinks. Staff were very friendly and willing to help. There was also free wifi in public areas. Only downside was that our room was on the ground floor next to reception (101), so we heard people coming and going with some street noise. Overall a good little hotel in a prime location, excellent value for what we paid.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank DDNB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 9, 2013 via mobile

I totally recommend this hotel. It's staff is very nice and friendly. They gave me tips about places to go and to get there. The hotel also has a good location right in front of aya Sofia. Breakfast is in a terrace looking at aya Sofia

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pablou50
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Modern Sultan Hotel
Modern Sultan Hotel
#103 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 336 reviews
Sultanahmet
Kybele Hotel
Kybele Hotel
#99 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 325 reviews
Sultanahmet
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
Boutique Saint Sophia Hotel
#42 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Adamar Hotel
Adamar Hotel
#66 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,227 reviews
Sultanahmet
Agora Life Hotel
Agora Life Hotel
#46 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 978 reviews
Sultanahmet
Minel Hotel
Minel Hotel
#189 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 495 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zeynep Sultan Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zeynep Sultan Hotel

Property: Zeynep Sultan Hotel
Address: Zeynep Sultan Camii Sok 25 Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34140, Turkey
Phone Number:
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#103 Best Value Hotel in Istanbul
#116 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
#154 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#176 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zeynep Sultan Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
The cradle of civilization...Turkey...From Hitites to Urartus, Phrygians to Lycians, from Romans to Seljuks...They all lived here. A city that gave birth to and fostered three glorious empires...The East Roman empire, the Byzantine empire and the Ottoman empire...Once the capital city of these empires, Istanbul is still alive and breathing a mystical blend of air, weary of the contemprary urbanization and cultural clashes. Zeynep Sultan Hotel is where you will blend a magical potion from a Roman hippodrome, an Egyptian obelisque, a Byzantine Church and an Ottoman Grand Bazaar. And maybe you will top it with the Blue Mosque or the Topkapi Palace... ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Booking.com, Priceline, Hotwire, Hotels.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Zeynep Sultan Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Zeynep Sultan Istanbul
Hotel Zeynep Sultan

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing