We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Friendly big hotel”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Green Park Merter
Ranked #1,015 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed October 27, 2012

Green Park Hotel at Merter (there is one more, probable related with this one at
Taksim) is a typical big hotel with more than average facilities.... The big advantage is the very helpful staff, in restaurants and at reception. Most of them speak very good english...
The rooms are spacy. i stayed in a single room which was actually a room for 2. Clean with not great view (city view). Restaurant menu was good and the breakfast buffet was excellent. Big selection of almost everything from food till fruits. A 4 star hotel that is cheaper than most of the hotels in same categorie. Easy access from airport but not so close in the center of town if you count the big traffic and the ''rush hours'' in Instabul roads. Recomented if someone plans a small two three days trip in town.

  • Stayed: October 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dkar1963
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (164)
There are newer reviews for The Green Park Merter
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

65 - 71 of 164 reviews

Reviewed September 16, 2012

I stayed for 2 weeks at this hotel this month and although it is certainly not 5 stars it is not as horrible as some guests have rated it lately.
The hotel is not well situated as it is far from the main touristic attractions but the tramway station Mehmet Akif is just 100 metres outside the hotel entrance and for 3 Lira one-way you can reach the touristic places staion Eminomu for the ferry on the Bosphorous tour and Sultanahmet for St Sophia's cathedral/Grand bazar,it takes about half an hour to reach these places.If you want to go to the nearest Mall (Marmara forum) you stop one station at Zeytinburnu and walk but it is only 6 lira by taxi .
The proximity of tramway is an inconvenience for early sleepers but it stops around midnight to start around 5am i guess.The hotel is in a textile district so in the adjacent roads there are lots of clothing shops
The food is an okay buffet with about 6 hot plates /salad/soup/dessert quite a wide choice but not as extensive expected of a 5 stars hotel.
Reception lacks personnel speaking english but are courteous and efficient.The air conditionner stalls from time to time but as it was not hot at night that was not a problem.
The hotel is a 15 minutes drive to the airport despite Istanbul usual traffic jam.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank kaspi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 2, 2012

Horrible hotel! horrible staff! very unfriendly, unpleasant and lack of english language knowledge! Had to almost beg them to change room because my a/c was not cooling! It took me 2 days and allot of visits to the front desk to get the change! 90% of the staff doesn't speak/understand english, and the 10% that does, lack words. Horrible buffet! the worst food I ever ate for breakfast, lunch and dinner! even i couldn't believe how bad it was! only the baklava was good! The hotel is sooo old! no 5 star for sure! I'm leaving Turkey with a very bad impression of their people and food! very disappointing! Will not recommend to my worst enemy! sorry green park, but its true!

Room Tip: Check the a/c in the rooms first!
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rachel S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2012

Its not that 5 star hotel as they claim, but according to the prices its very ok. I paid around 60 euros / night in May 2011, so i cant expect something huge.
Room service is clean and the breakfast is superb.
The location is ok as its near from the Airport, it has marmara forum near by walking distance ( a nice shopping mall), and a green area and thats it. Its far from Taksim or sutanahmet.

I advise this hotel for non entertainment trips.

  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jmazen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 2, 2012

We just got back from our vacation in turkey . We stayed in this hotel and let me tell you , it will ruin your whole trip if you stay here !!! So old , smells of cigarettes even though it says " non smoking " in the first two level , the food is terrible , so sooo far from everything that even taxi drivers are not willing to take you back to the hotel from the city centre !!

We spend almost $50 daily on taxi just to go places , there's nothing near the hotel so you're stuck with their room service and god how they rip you off !!!!
Oh and it's near a tram station so you won't be getting any sleep , the tram makes so much noise.


If you want o make your trip memorable , stay away from this hotel !

  • Stayed: May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Maryam Z
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2011

I really have nothing negative to say about this hotel. Staff was friendly and spoke reasonable english, the room was clean, and food -- particularly the breakfast -- was excellent. I really appreciated the staircase! In most modern hotels you have to use the elevator, which I hate. The only trouble might be the location. Even though it is located right on a tram line, you may want to look for a more central hotel, if all you want to do is sight seeing. I attended a conference, so it did not matter. I had a very pleasant stay.

Stayed: November 2011, traveled on business
1  Thank Isak146
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 7, 2011

Thought it was better
I had a room smells sigarates couldnt have good sleep

The best part is having breakfast in the wonderful garden

  • Stayed: October 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank alio0oila
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Hurry Inn Merter Istanbul
#421 of 1,161 in Istanbul
93 reviews
Gunes Hotel Merter
#561 of 1,161 in Istanbul
123 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
The Rise Aron Business Hotel
#959 of 1,161 in Istanbul
6 reviews
Mercure Istanbul Topkapi
#510 of 1,161 in Istanbul
172 reviews
Beyoglu
The Green Park Hotel Taksim
The Green Park Hotel Taksim
#841 of 1,161 in Istanbul
214 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Green Park Merter? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Green Park Merter

Address: Abdurrahman Nafiz Gurman Mah. Nazim Erten Sok. No: 13 | Merter, Istanbul 34173, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1,015 of 1,161 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $55 - $146 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Green Park Merter 5*
Number of rooms: 165
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
This 5-star hotel is 10 km from Ataturk Airport. It features an extensive spa, a pleasant garden, a restaurant and a bar. Free Wi-Fi and free private parking are available. The nearest tram station is 150 metres from the property.The Green Park Hotel Merter’s spa features massage therapies, a Turkish bath and an indoor swimming pool. There is also a gym with modern cardiovascular equipment. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Hotels.com, Booking.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Green Park Merter reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing