We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Convenient airside rooms” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #298 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
38 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
“Convenient airside rooms”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 24, 2013

Stayed there from midnigth to 9 am(booked period) Check-in was efficient Room was large,very quiet with comfortable king sized bed good bathroom with great shower and free wifi.Upon arriving at room ,I discovered the TV did not work .Phoned the front desk and was told we will send someone;the Turkish speaking technician was there within one minute and fixed it in less than five minutes.
At check in, I asked about extending my stay and was told ; no problem we adjust the payment at the checkout according to length of use .But I was phoned at 9h30 am and reminded I was supposed to check out at 9am. So I left then (no point going back to sleep) for the excellent Turkish airline lounge which is two minutes from the hotel .So make sure about the length of time in the system if you want to stay longer.if not disturbed by the phone call I would have rated them excellent. I give an average for the service because of that; the information should have been noted /passed on between the night and morning shifts(and they lost money not doing it properly). In evaluating the price one should take into account the convenience of this hotel: you are past security for your next international flight ,do not have to depend on a shuttle /make your way in Istanbul and return and for some of us do not have to pay for a Visa.
I woudl use them again for the same kind of connection in Istanbul

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FrancoistheEconomist
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We would like to thank you for choosing TAV Airport Hotel and also sharing your precious opinions with us.
We appreciate for your valuable comment and sorry for any inconvenience we may caused.
We will do our utmost effort to meet your expectations in the future.
Regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

668 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    171
    288
    139
    48
    22
See reviews for
101
131
115
244
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (100)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Yanbu, Saudi Arabia
Level Contributor
107 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 52 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 22, 2013

I stayed here last night for 6 hours. The bed and pillows are 2 star, there were stains on the carpet and the bedding. I think it was clean, just had old stains.. There weren't any sheets on the bed or any blankets or anything to cover up with, but they did have the bottom sheet on the mattress. The shower had the best water pressure and hot water of any hotels I have stayed in for awhile and there were plenty of amenities. If you are really tired and need to take a few hours and get rested, it's a pretty good place especially when there is limited seating inside the airport and it is usually crowded and hard to find a quiet place. You are not paying for luxury in this case.
I did make my booking on the wrong day and the desk fixed it for me with no problem.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled solo
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Goldwingnut
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us, also for bringing some points to our attention. We take very seriously all views expressed.
Furthermore, we are very pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back again to TAV Airport Hotel in the near future.
Regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Brussels, BE
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

I stayed at this hotel on several occasions in the past few months, and keep coming back. The hotel has 2 buildings: one inside the transit area in case you have a long layover, and the second one just glued to the terminal. There is a shuttle every 10min to the airport and back.

Shuttle service: Very difficult to find when you first arrive: when you leave customs, turn right and use the farthest exit of the terminal (opposite Cafe Nero) - the shuttle stop is marked with a sign. If there is no shuttle, pick-up the red phone, and an operator will automatically speak to you. Be careful - there are many other shuttles around.

Location: absolutely fantastic. Ataturk airport doesn't have that many nearby hotels, so TAV is just perfect, especially if you have a late arrival, and do not want to catch the horrible traffic on the way to Istanbul downtown.

Facilities: the rooms were very nice and clean. The Suite is a little smaller than expected, but well-equipped and very quiet (despite being located at the terminal). You cannot even hear the nearby mosque. The gym is also nicely equipped, but I haven't had the chance to try the massage services.

Staff: very friendly, but a little slow when it comes to certain services (e.g. bringing an iron to your room), especially if you consider that the hotel is not that big. But overall, excellent impression.

Food: dinner at the restaurant is delicious: traditional Turkish cuisine, but cooked for the inexperienced foreigner. Breakfast could use a little more variety, especially in the fruit section - it is also traditional Turkish breakfast, so be prepared for bread/pastries, vegetables and cheese. All meals are served in the lobby restaurant, overlooking the apron and the airplanes, which is pretty cool :)

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank AntoniaVS
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your nice comments regarding your recent stay. We always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are very happy to hear that we exceeded your holiday expectations and our staff met your needs.
We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon.
Regards.
Esra Arıman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Diego, California
Level Contributor
109 reviews
46 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 59 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 15, 2013

This hotel is ideal if you only have a few hours lay-over in Istanbul. Instead of braving the traffic and the chaos in the city, you could do yourself a favor by just staying in this airport hotel. The pick-up point is in the far end of the terminal. As you are coming out of the building, walk towards the right end. There is a sign there for TAV Hotel and a phone to call to request for pick-up. The van gets there in10 minutes or less. The hotel is actually located just on the other side of the terminal, and since you are still within the airport premises, your bags are again screened before you get to the lobby. But everything is done quickly and efficiently.

The room is very nice, spacious, modern and efficiently designed. The bathroom is quite large with modern fixtures, complete supply of what you may need and large, soft, fluffy towels. The bed is also large and very comfortable. Best of all, even if it is very close to the runway, the sound-proofing has been done very well, that you don't hear the airplanes at all. There is a restaurant in the ground floor, the Sky Restaurant, which has an eclectic menu of some traditional Turkish dishes and some Continental food. And ideally for those who are jet-lagged, or who have to catch an early morning flight, a comprehensive breakfast buffet is laid out starting at 2:30 A.M.

The hotel has a shuttle bus or van that goes to the airport every 15 minutes.

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank cot2ntail
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your comprehensive feedback. We are so pleased your stay at TAV Airport Hotel more matched your expectations. We are very proud of the high standards we operate here and it is always lovely to hear that our guests have had a wonderful stay with us.
We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon at TAV Airport Hotel.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belgrade, Serbia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 7, 2013

The title should indicate how tired you need to be to fully use a bedroom in this hotel at the airport transit area. I took it for six hours last month while having a stopover at the Ataturk Airport for 9 hours. The bedroom, at least at the first glance, did not look bad at all (I booked one with a sealed, wall-size "window"). Nonetheless, at the second look, I realized that, in addition to the WiFi, the price of 175$ includes only a bottle of water, and a french-type bed with a mattress completely worn-out. In brief, for 30$ per hour, this is not enough, indeed.

What can I recommend instead this solution for long stopovers at the Ataturk? If you really need a hotel, look for one in the vicinity of the airport (3-5 km). And if you do not have enough time and will to get out of (and return to) the airport, try one of the lounges at the opposite wing of the transit area. One of them costs 40$ for 8 hours, it is quite spacious and comfortable, and includes buffet lunch, variety of alcoholic and non-alcoholic beverages, fruit, etc. Another one is smaller and costs 18€...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled on business
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Pedja_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, September 4, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your feedback and that you have taken the time to describe your impressions. We apologise for not having met your expectations on this occasion.
We at TAV Airport Hotel appreciate the unique opportunity to see ourselves through the eyes of our Guests and are eager to gather ideas on what we can do better.
Regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abuja, Abuja Capital Territory, Nigeria
Level Contributor
28 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Very good location. It has both air side and land side (which is accessible from the terminal building). Spacious and comfortable rooms with large bathrooms, but on the airside facilities are very limited. The only downside is the relatively high cost.

Room Tip: Any room on the airside is equally good, with nearly perfect soundproofing. I have never used landsi...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sasa_N_O_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us. We take very seriously all views expressed. We are very pleased you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back again to TAV Airport Hotel in the near future.
Regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Otago Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
46 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 6, 2013

Great location next to the Ataturk Airport in Istanbul. The rooms and bed are huge and very quiet - good for resting before/after a flight. Note other reviewer's comments about teh Land and Air side hotels when booking.

Good hotel, look forward to next time I have to stay close to the airport..

Taxi from her to Sultanahmet is about 45 TL, or you could catch the Metro but requires a change of train at Zeytinburnu - total cost 6TL and takes over an hour.

Room Tip: Can be a very long walk to your room so allow time! % minutes maybe..
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled on business
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Peter9393
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your comprehensive feedback. We are delighted to hear that you have enjoyed your stay with us. We hope to welcome you back again in the near future.
Regards.
Esra Ariman Flynn
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.7 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#235 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 522 reviews
0.8 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#262 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.7 mi away
WOW Istanbul Hotel
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#237 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 381 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#334 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 140 reviews
1.5 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#104 of 1,121 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 559 reviews
1.5 mi away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Property: TAV Airport Hotel
Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #298 of 1,121 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline and Travelocity so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing