We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of TAV Airport Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
TAV Airport Hotel
Ranked #281 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Beijing, China
Level Contributor
117 reviews
49 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
“Pricey”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2013

The rates of this hotel are a little expensive in comparison with Wow Airport Hotel. I booked this hotel on my flight back from Lisbon to Istanbul and had an early flight to Tirana the next day. The rates of the land side of the hotel are cheaper than on the airport side (which is located inside the terminal). Once you get out of the airport there is a sign for the TAV Airport Hotel shuttle buses. There is also a red telephone. You just pick the phone and talk to the reception of the hotel and they will sent the shuttle bus in 10 minutes. Pretty convenient. You could also walk up to there, but why would you, when there is a shuttle bus :) Their room service runs 24 hours, which is a good thing for travelers arriving especially late. A burger and Cola combo is about 10 Euros. There is wifi internet, but the signal on my room wasn't that strong. Anyways it was working. The hotel is quiet, even though is located next to the airport

Room Tip: Get a room which is not close to the elevators. Due to the frequency of guests, sometimes they can b...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank rdinbj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, February 21, 2013
Dear Guest,
Many thanks for your detailed review following your recent stay at TAV Airport Hotel.
We are very pleased that you enjoyed your stay overall and look forward to welcoming you back again.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

678 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    174
    293
    140
    49
    22
See reviews for
104
132
117
247
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    3.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (99)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Norwegian first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Helsinki, Finland
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

For lay over (so short you can't go and see some of the city) while taveling on business this works. Sea bass for lunch was top notch and Tolga who waited my table was efficient, friendly and chatty. Only big downside is that the smoking rooms share the same aircon as the non-smoking rooms so you'll get the irritating smell of cigarette smoke drifting into your room.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greg J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for taking the time to write your review in relation to your recent stay with us and for highlighing the positives and negatives during your stay.
I'm very pleased to hear our food were to your satisfaction. I shall certainly compliment the relevant staff that you have so findly mentioned.
On the other hand please accept my sincere apologies regarding to irritating smell of cigarette smoke. Unfortunately it is physically imposibble to seperate the main aircondition system into two parts.
Once again, thank you for your feedback and i do hope we get the opportunity to welcome you back to TAV Airport Hotel in the near future.
Kind regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chicago, Illinois
Level Contributor
28 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 23, 2013

I stayed at this hotel last January during a stormy, snowy period in Istanbul. The traffic was messed up and my flight was very early in the morning.After giving some thought not to risk the trip from the city to the airport, I decided to stay here and it worked really well. I got enough sleep and made it to the flight on time. Yes, it is a little pricy but I am very glad that this hotel exists. Unexpectedly the rooms were very quiet and comfortable.They provide a shuttle between the airport and the hotel, which is only 5 minutes ride. It is fun to face to the airplanes when you sit in the lobby. There could be definitely a richer food selection, which was the only minus. I also loved the idea that they provided some good selection of souvenir in the rooms and I even purchased one.

  • Stayed January 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank FUSUN K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 28, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us, also for bringing some points to our attention. We take very seriously all views expressed. Furthermore, we are very happy to learn we exceeded your expectations and our staff met your needs, plus you enjoyed our souvenir selection.
We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon at TAV Airport Hotel.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Montevideo, Uruguay
Level Contributor
76 reviews
30 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

GREAT HOtel, looks nice, great location, excelent service. (I am speaking about the land side hotel). Still super easy to arrive, you have a shuttle but makes no sense to wait for it, since if you walk 100 or 150 meters you arrive at the hotel . The room was beautiful and roomy (we asked for the big one at the very end of the corridor on the second floor (i do not remember if it was 454 or 545). Still, great. It was super smooth the check in and the check out. The restaurant is super gourmet. Great quality, breakfast was one of the best, and I have been in 5 star hotels. We traveled with our 3 kids, and was stress free (that is so important!). Linens brand new, bathroom new, modern and super clean. Room service price was reasonable, complimentary tea/coffee machine and water as well. I just want to return to IST to go back to that hotel and have dinner, lunch and breakfast at the restaurant while we see the planes parked right next to us!

Room Tip: the big one at the end of the corridor is very roomy, but still I saw that the rest of the rooms whe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RoxanaRegue
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
Thank you for your generous comments following your recent stay at TAV Airport Hotel. We fully appreciate the time you have taken to share your experiences on this site. We strive to provide our guests with memorable experiences and we are truly delighted that we exceeded your expectations.
Thank you for staying with us, we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Khartoum
Level Contributor
25 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 19 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 18, 2013

After wandering around the airport with a several hour layover, I noticed the sign saying that you could get a massage at the hotel. I did and it was wonderful. I had felt a wreck and left feeling refreshed and the price was reasonable. This was a real massage -- not a sit in a chair massage. The masseuse uses one of the hotel rooms and I was able to take a shower as well after the massage to rinse off some of the oils. It was more than a worthy treat as it definitely made me feel less stressed and kinked up after my economy seat flight.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Loki_21202
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
It is lovely to hear that you have enjoyed our massage service during your lay over. Our aim is to offer flawless service to make our guests feel comfortable and match their expectations. Such nice comments like yours show that we are in the right path.
I've passed your comments on to the relevant staff in person.
We hope that we would have the opportunity to welcome you back as our guest again in the near future.
Best regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
UK
Level Contributor
10 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 15 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 17, 2013 via mobile

I wrote a review addressing a couple of issues I had with this hotel a few months ago, namely that the walk to my room seemed like miles with a roll along bag through a thick piled carpet and once there, the bedroom door had no safety chain or deadbolt, which is important to me when travelling alone. I have just had a second stay at this hotel and am happy to say that my comments must have been noted as I had a room only a short walk from the elevator and it had a safety bar on the bedroom door. All boxes ticked for me then as everything else about the TAV Airport hotel on the landside is to a very high standard. Spacious, spotless and extremely well located. I will be back.

Stayed January 2013, traveled solo
Helpful?
Thank Hannah211
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Guest,
We appreciate your time and effort in providing feedback to us, also for bringing some points to our attention. As you already noticed, we take all comments very seriously and action immediately.
We are truely delighted to learn that we were able to make you comfortable in our property and to secure a pleasant stay for you.
Thank you for choosing TAV Airport Hotel and we look forward to welcoming you back in the near future.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nerja, Spain
Level Contributor
76 reviews
70 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 123 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 11, 2013

Our airline left us stranded overnight, and we decided to forego their free hotel and stay at the TAV Airport (this was land side, by the way as we had already cleared customs).

Yes it was pricey, but we got a wonderfully warm reception (free shuttle service as well), a large and beautifully appointed room with a big comfy bed. Toothbrushes & toothpaste and other amenities were provided gratis (our luggage was already in transit), we had complimentary coffee in the room as well as free wifi.

The Tav was literally a port in the storm for us, but I have no doubt that storm aside, if I were forced to overnight it in Istanbul again, I would chose the Tav.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ThisCatsAbroad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Esra A, Sales Executive at TAV Airport Hotel, responded to this review, January 27, 2013
Dear Reviewer,
Many thanks for your generous comments, we always appreciate feedback from our guests. We are very happy to learn we exceeded your expectations and our staff met your needs.
We sincerely appreciate your recognition and look forward to welcoming you back soon at TAV Airport Hotel.
Regards.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.9 mi away
WOW Airport Hotel
WOW Airport Hotel
#237 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 531 reviews
0.8 mi away
WOW Istanbul Hotel
WOW Istanbul Hotel
#236 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 394 reviews
1.1 mi away
Rox Hotel
Rox Hotel
#262 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 182 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.7 mi away
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
Ramada Encore Istanbul Airport
#344 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.0 of 5 bubbles 144 reviews
1.8 mi away
Elite World Business
Elite World Business
#110 of 1,129 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 566 reviews
1.9 mi away
Radisson Blu Conference & Airport Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TAV Airport Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TAV Airport Hotel

Property: TAV Airport Hotel
Address: Ataturk Havalimani Yesilkoy, Bakirkoy, Istanbul 34149, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #281 of 1,129 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3.5 star — TAV Airport Hotel 3.5*
Number of rooms: 82
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Hotels.com, Expedia, Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, getaroom.com, Priceline, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your TAV Airport Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Istanbul International Airport Hotel
Istanbul Airport Hotel
Airport Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing