We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice hotel”
Review of Lamartine Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Lamartine Hotel
Ranked #547 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Tehran
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Nice hotel”
Reviewed August 15, 2013

The rooms are moderate size ,clean ,have shelves where we could put our stuff .the bathroom very clean ,moderte size .the door makes sound everytime it is closed from outside .the location is great .the breakfast is good .the staff speak english and are very helpful but they don't smile at you or welcome you by a smile unless you talk to them first ,but they are very helpful if you ask a question .we were at 6th floor and we don't hear noise from outside .The air conditioner worked very good .

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ShirazIsfahan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

137 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    26
    75
    24
    4
    8
See reviews for
35
44
10
14
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (10)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • English first
  • French first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
26 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed March 17, 2013

Nice place next to taksim square. The view from the behind rooms was awfull . You can listen music all night if you have a back room. Very good breakfast, very clean, and beautiful rooms. The people was without smile. They give you free water the first day. Every day clean room. Drink tsay in morning and eat burek.

  • Stayed March 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Greek73
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Beirut, Lebanon
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 14, 2013

This Hotel is very nice, cozy, and clean , the breakfast is OK. The location is great, 5 minutes’ walk from taksim street. The rooms are big and new. We loved our stay in February, it was a nice experience. The staff was nice, and helpful.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank aliceantoine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed October 16, 2012

The hotel gets over shadowed by the swanky and grand hotels around it but it definitely is a good place to stay and a practical choice for a smart traveler.

You should choose this hotel for LOCATION, LOCATION & LOCATION. It's located 60 seconds away from the best and most happening place of Istanbul - the Taksim Sqare and the Isteklal Street.

Banks, ATMs, Money changers, Mobile Phone Stores, Cafeterias, Bus Stops, Tram Stops everything within 2 minutes of walk. Not to mention the number of grocery stores (you will need them more than you think) nearby. Very practical for someone who wants to explore the city and doesn't want to get ripped off by the Taxi drivers to travel anywhere.

Rooms are really small - but just about enough. Rooms are clean with ample sun light and good air-con. Bathrooms are clean and hygienic. Their selection of bathroom toiletries is nice too. Overall very good.

Breakfast is average. I'm a vegetarian so for me it was only fruits, toast and coffee. Coffee's really good - deserves a special mention.

Free Wi-Fi in-room is excellent in terms of speed and connectivity.

You may not help but notice that the hotel is little under-staffed. Not that it caused any delay to me any where what so ever but they could do with some more people at restaurant and reception.

Would also specially mention that they have excellent luggage storage option. I stayed in Istanbul for 1st 3 and last 3 nights of my 12 day trip and they gladly stored my shopping and excess luggage

Highly recommended for a traveler who is hungry for more in Istanbul :-)

Room Tip: Grab a room on 3rd or 4th floor.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Glambler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurugram (Gurgaon), India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2012

The Lamartine hotel was located very centrally and the amenities were good;breakfast was sumptuous[the only meal we had].The reception staff go out of their way to help the guests in any query they have.BUT on the other hand the A.C.'s in Room 206[near the lift]were not effective and the room was stinking of stale cigerretes despite of being a non smoking room.The whole atmosphere was stale and the clean neat room faded into insignificance as I choked the whole night due to stale smoke smell.
I reccomend they check out noone smokes and better up their aircon;apart from this their service food n staff were one of the best in Turkey.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rashmi s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2012

The location is very good. Service is good, with English speaking and courteous staff . Breakfast spread was sumptuous and delicious!
Rooms were clean, but a/c was ineffective or probably not working. We couldn't sleep well as the rooms were warm . Add to it the poor sound-proofing! We could hear the loud music from nearby hotels until the wee hours!
If you can sleep through noise in a warm room, you could choose this hotel for it's location!
I would give it a 3 star rating!

Room Tip: Rooms on the south side are quieter, but the air-conditioning was bad. Room was very warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Jet-set-go_28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Munich, Germany
Level Contributor
11 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
Reviewed February 16, 2012

If you are interested in discovering Istanbul rather than staying in a hotel to rest, then it is a very good choice for you. If you are however looking forward for staying at the hotel, swimming, eating and massaging or whatsoever then you are in the wrong place.
Hotel Lamartine is a 4* hotel.

Positive:
Excellent location (that is 5 min walk to Istiklal street, the best and by far the most interesting street in Istanbul), good varieties in the breakfast buffet and for every taste, rooms are new and clean, not big but not small. Views are on the street if you are on the right hand side and views on the roofs of Istanbul houses if your room is on your left. Staff is friendly a little bit strict but not more. (we got our check in at 9:00 in the morning, what a surprise!! we did not wait till 14:00). The booking price is excellent for what you are getting (less than 50Euro/night)

Negative
Not suitable at all for people who are coming as I previously explained to spend much of their day in the hotel because there is nothing to do there but to sleep and eat your breackfast. There is no piscine or rooftop dining hall. The lobby was not of my taste. Some did like it but I did not and I avoided as much as I can for spending some time there.

All in all, very good hotel quality and service for specific people.

Room Tip: The rooms are all very quiet so no worry!! But if you prefer nicer views, choose the ones that are g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Vernon N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Nippon Hotel
Nippon Hotel
#248 of 1,140 in Istanbul
492 reviews
Beyoglu
LaresPark Hotel
LaresPark Hotel
#333 of 1,140 in Istanbul
424 reviews
Beyoglu
The Central Palace Hotel
The Central Palace Hotel
#411 of 1,140 in Istanbul
204 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Beyoglu
Riva Hotel
Riva Hotel
#626 of 1,140 in Istanbul
135 reviews
Beyoglu
Feronya Hotel
Feronya Hotel
#512 of 1,140 in Istanbul
248 reviews
Beyoglu
Titanic City Hotel
Titanic City Hotel
#190 of 1,140 in Istanbul
668 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lamartine Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lamartine Hotel

Property: Lamartine Hotel
Address: Lamartine Caddesi 25, Istanbul 34437, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
#344 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:4 star — Lamartine Hotel 4*
Number of rooms: 67
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Agoda, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, HotelQuickly and HRS so you can book your Lamartine Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lamartine Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing