We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Refreshingly gentle approach”

Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery
Ranked #77 of 1,033 things to do in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
More attraction details
Attraction details
Recommended length of visit: <1 hour
Owner description: Discover the magic world of kilims and carpets. Awide range of exceptional village rugs, individually handmade with natural dyes and the finest handspun wool.
Redhill, United Kingdom
2 reviews
“Refreshingly gentle approach”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 27, 2014

You can't go anywhere in Istanbul without being hassled to buy a carpet. What a refreshing change to have found the Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery where the owners were laid back in their approach, knowledgeable about their stock, and with the most reasonable prices we found. This meant that we visited three times and came away with a carpet into the bargain! Their expertise and friendly approach stands out from anything else we came across and we are delighted with our purchase.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Nicholas_and_Judith
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

201 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    160
    29
    6
    2
    4
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Turin, Italy
Level Contributor
40 reviews
3 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Really recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 3, 2014

We wanted to buy some carpets from turkey and we visited several places, At heritage nomadic art gallery we found two wonderful senneh carpets at affordable prices. The place has a sustainable business approach by providing few but authentic pieces of turkish handcrafts. Quality is good and it is possible to find exceptional pieces; prices are affordable too and most important the onwers are very kind and professional.
We strongly recommend this place especially if you want to buy a carpet.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank pier l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Francisco
Level Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 10 helpful votes
“nice handicrafts”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 2, 2014

nice items all in one place with very reasonable prices (imo they mostly beat tuncer).

was not able to evaluate rugs personally.

i thought that some of the other reviews seemed quite similarly worded, but after a lot of checking, i have to endorse this place for single stop gift pickup.

it amazes me a bit how much a respectful, hands-off attitude and competitive pricing distinguishes you here =)

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank orielview
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Fremantle, Australia
1 review
“Istanbuls best!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2013

After spending days in the crazy Istanbul city we stumbled by the Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery. Hasan and his brother are extremely knowledgeable and taught me more about Turkey then any tourist guide we stumbled upon in the whole of Turkey. I purchased many Kilim pillow cases, as I was travelling and wasn't able to purchase a rug, Hasan noted my taste in colours and styles and agreed to send one to me when I return home. The brothers honesty goes above and beyond the norm in this day and age.

Don't waste time in the busy tourist traps shopping, take time to learn about these beautiful traditional Turkish art pieces!

Visited April 2013
Helpful?
Thank tilliadeane123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Northfield, Minnesota
Level Contributor
14 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
“A Wonderful Gallery of Rugs, Ceramics and Nomadic Art in Istanbul”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 19, 2013

My wife and i first visited the Heritage Art Gallery near Hagia Sophia in 2002 and have been returning every time we visit Istanbul (about five times since then). Their collection of older rugs and hand work is outstanding and we have purchased at least 8 rugs, kılıms, and hand embroidery from the shop over the years. The current owners are brothers, Ugur and Hasan Karaca, and are absolutely among the most knowledgeable and approachable businessmen working in the Sultanahmet area. Working with you in selecting items to view, you're engaged as much in an educational experience as a commercial transaction. Add to that the incredibly fair prices they charge (without the hassle of bargaining as in the Grand Bazar), and it ought to be the first place you visit if you're interested Turkish handicrafts. I worked this year with both Hasan and Ugur, and my university students (on a separate visit) worked with Ugur - all of us were treated wonderfully and were very pleased with our purchases. I can recommend Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery as having provided first class service and merchandise at reasonable prices (and arranging for flawless product delivery to the United States at a modest extra charge) for over a decade.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank sstrand
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery also viewed

 

Been to Heritage Nomadic Art Gallery? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing