We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Noisy and uncomfortable...”
Review of Legend Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Legend Hotel
Ranked #469 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Izmir, Turkey
Level 6 Contributor
202 reviews
61 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 139 helpful votes
“Noisy and uncomfortable...”
Reviewed December 11, 2012

We have stayed in Legend for a night between our flights.

If you are visiting the historic area of the town, the location is good...But...

...the doors, walls, windows, etc. are so cheap that there is virtually no sound insulation. You'd hear the lift, people walking(and doing other things :) ) in their rooms, upstairs, downstairs, corridor, etc.

We also did not like the bed and had a very uncomfortable sleep.

I wouldn't recommend this hotel to my friends.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nbalsari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

274 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    95
    29
    23
    18
See reviews for
58
83
31
20
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (39)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Hungarian first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Melbourne, Victoria, Australia
1 review
Reviewed November 23, 2012

The location is excellent, close to most attractions like Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc. The staff is very nice and friendly. They will also help you with tours and are happy to recommend you places. The rooms are average but nice and clean. I stayed at the hotel during November so the weather outside was cold but I had to keep the windows open the whole time since they left the heaters on full. Breakfast is good apart from the awful coffee. I highly recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Elif B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lagos, Nigeria
Level 6 Contributor
95 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed November 9, 2012

I arrived the hotel about 8am. Obviously too early to check in. Mostafa offered me breakfast while a room was ready about 90 minutes later.
Ali, Hakan and Mehmet were fantastic and very helpful.
The hotel location is brilliant with access to major attractions like Blue Mosque, Aya Sofya, Topkapi Palace, Grand Bazaar etc.
I will stay here again.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ManRash2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 4 Contributor
38 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

The only reason I didn't give it a lower rating is the location (perfect, just minutes from the Blue Mosque), staff (very nice and friendly) and breakfast (decent, apart from terrible coffee). The rooms very average, the walls seemed paper thin, heard a phone ringing until I finally managed to fall asleep. In the bathroom we found half of the shampoo sachets empty, which made us think the room wasn't really cleaned. It was terribly overpriced, but can't really say if it was the hotel price or the airport booking place where we booked it in desperation after some unforeseen circumstances occurred. Overall not recommended.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bewareofkate
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lisbon, Portugal
Level 5 Contributor
58 reviews
39 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2012

We arrived in istambul at 7 a.m. without a reservation! After visiting several hotels we found the Legend Hotel where, after hard negotiation, we got a room for almost half the price they asked at first! Well, it was really nice to finally relax and they even offered us breakfast while preparing our room. It is located in the best area to stay and explore the city and the view from the terrace is great, over the Bosphorus and the Blue Mosque minarets! Breakfast is good!

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Joanacnp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wicklow
Level 3 Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 1, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for tourists wanting to explore the city on foot. The dia supermarket is great! It is 2 mins from the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque and the hop on hop off buses near also the Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar (other direction). It is close to the tramways, a variety of shops and nice affordable restaurants. We had room for 3 so was quite small, it was clean but drab, other rooms with balconies seem brighter. We had to ask for towels, soap and top sheet.The room had an aircon, safe, small bathroom with a shower, hairdryer and a tv. It is value for money. Breakfast is coffee, french bread, hard boiled eggs, cheese, olives and tomato, fruit and yogurt, cake. The view from the roof is great.. The staff was very friendly and helpful. Took taxi from airport both ways 30 euro. if you book their own web page you get this free and a cash discount. We booked through istanbulhotels.com. As there was 3 of us, we could come and go easily to sights and meet up later we were so near the central points.

Room Tip: See can you get balcony.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank unadara
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cape Town Central, South Africa
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed October 25, 2012

This hotel is ideally situated for tourists wanting to explore the city on foot. The lift in the hotel travels between the mezzanine to the third floor. There is no direct access from street level, the dining room or the roof top via the lift. You have to be able to climb some stairs. The hotel is accross from a small supermarket which is great! It is also close to the Balsilica Cistern (which is a MUST see), the Hippodrome, the Blue Mosque, the Hagia Sophia museum, the Topkapi Palace and the Grand Bazaar. It is also close to the tramways, a variety of shops and nice affordable restaurants. Although our twin room was quite small, it was clean. As tourists, it was OK as we did not spend much time in there. Beds were small but adequate. We asked for a top sheet and it was given without a hassle. The room had an aircon, safe, small bathroom with a shower, hairdryer and a tv - what more do you need? For the price that we paid, we got value for money. The continental breakfast is not great (mainly coffee, french bread, hard boiled eggs, cheese, olives and tomato) but adequate to get you started. The view from the roof is great, but seating is sparse. The hotel staff was friendly and helpful and arranged a tour on the Bosphorous straights within an hour of pick up. This hotel offers value for money for tourists not wanting to spend much time at the hotel and stick to a tight budget.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank idick
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Mina
Hotel Mina
#308 of 1,149 in Istanbul
500 reviews
Sultanahmet
Peyk Hotel
Peyk Hotel
#52 of 1,149 in Istanbul
189 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,149 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#19 of 1,149 in Istanbul
754 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
Sura Hagia Sophia Hotel
#122 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,258 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#6 of 1,149 in Istanbul
2,982 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Legend Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Legend Hotel

Property: Legend Hotel
Address: Peykhane Caddesi No 16 | Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34400, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#196 Business Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:3 star — Legend Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Legend Hotel is located on the old city center of Istanbul hearth of Sultanahmet area ,Blue Mosque,Santa Sophia is only 100 meters walking distance from our hotel,Grand Bazaar and Topkapi Palace is 5 minutes by walking al the highlights are few minutes also public transportasion is just 2 minutes by walking available(bus,tram) ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your Legend Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Legend Hotel Istanbul

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing