We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great discovery”

Defne Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #965 of 13,724 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups
Dining options: Late Night, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
bishkek
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
“great discovery”
Reviewed December 9, 2013

I was exhausted after a long day and as a female solo traveler didn't want to walk too far for dinner. Luckily I found this nice, cozy restaurant just next door. My food - a big plate of the most delicious adana kebab with French fries and seasonal vegetables, hot lavash and mezi starters were served very quickly. At the end of the dinner, they even made a good discount on the price. I was surprised to learn that the restaurant is build on the ruins of ancient palace and has a well with fish and turtles. I will definitely come back here for a romantic dinner with my man.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank aiso13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Save the best for last. ”
Reviewed December 9, 2013 via mobile

Defne is just beside the hotel where we were staying, but we ate there on our last day. Indeed, we saved the best for last. The place inside is very warm and classy. The waiters are friendly and attentive. And the food is wow! We had our best meal before we finally bid goodbye to Istanbul.

Helpful?
Thank Lp A
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Varna, Bulgaria
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Warm atmosphere, Wonderfull service & delicious meal ----> this is Defne Bar & Restaurant :))”
Reviewed December 6, 2013

I had a nice trip to the Istanbul in end of November. My hotel was near to the Defne Bar & Restaurant.
All evenings we had a dinner by Defne. Because they are really the best as a staff, as a food, as a atmosphere!
And the lovely person Arif show us a ancient well with fish and turtles in inside of the restaurant.
I just want to say a big THANK YOU to Arif and Mousieu Fikri (and of course to the all others) for the lovely time!

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Habibe A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Wetherby, United Kingdom
1 review
“Diner, culture and comfort”
Reviewed December 4, 2013

Defne was discovered on our final night in Istanbul. On a lovely one way street below the Blue Mosque leading to the Topkapi Palace, full of small hotels and traditional restaurants. We were approached in a friendly jokey fashion which gained our trust, We had steaks and wonderful complimentary mezi starters with bread. The food was delicious very imaginatively presented. Fantastic service. We ate on the street in December with plastic walls and overhead heaters. Lovely atmosphere as it was full even at 7:30pm. Reasonably priced with shawls for chilly shoulders.
As culture vultures we were delighted to be shown the ruins of an earlier Palace which is accessed to the rear of the restaurant. There is also an ancient well with fish and turtles. Well worth a visit and a meal. We hope to return next year. Thanks for a lovely evening.

  • Visited December 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank beyazgul_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Moscow, Russia
1 review
“A place to relax, have a tasty local food and enjoy yourself in a warm-hearted air”
Reviewed December 3, 2013

Following the wish to eat at a beautiful sundeck with a sea view, suddenly we found ourselves at a crossroad with small souvenir shops and a dozen of restaurants. We enjoyed the place and decided to change our hotel - to be closer to that nice Turkish warm welcoming atmosphere of the street. After we booked three rooms at the Hotel Grand Peninsula (super place and friendly staff ), finally agreed to stop for a dinner somewhere. We were invited immediately by Defne staff Viktor – he has noticed our searching and hungry look (we were really hungry by that time). But we refused – it’s always better to study the market first :-). But we returned to Defne and had our dinner on the roof with a great view to the sea. Since that day we had our dinner almost every day at Defne. Always we have received a compliment from the restaurant - delicious Turkish hors-d'oeuvre (appetizer). There are a lot of fresh and pickle vegetables, thin leaves of Turkish bread oiled by chilly pepper and some other spices. We tried grilled and stewed meat. Everything we had was very good. As for the red wine - we had Yakut and Cabernet Sauvignon - all local Turkish producers. And of course - Turkish tea (çay - tchai) and Turkish coffee. And you should try the best dessert I've ate in Turkey - I've forgot the name, but in the menu it is the first line for desserts and cost 16 Tl. By the way - the prices are quite adequate: main hot courses are about 8 -15 euro, a glass of good local wine - 5-7 euro, Turkish tea - 1.5 euro.

And what I should point in addition and what is very important when you are on your vacation or simply plan to have good time while having a meal - very professional, friendly, gallant and attentive Defne staff. They will provide you with a warm lap blanket, switch on a street heater if you are cold and tell a fairy tale about a Sultan Harem. We even got a chance to listen to a great pop singer from Russia (we are Russian, by the way)) - Zemfira. Aziz - who works at Defne, happens to be her fan (a long history which I suspect relates to a love story with some Russian girl))). And now I envy you - you will experience it very soon yourself )))

  • Visited November 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Maria2M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Defne Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Defne Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing