We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Delicious!”

Defne Bar and Restaurant
Ranked #892 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Large groups, Romantic
Dining options: Drinks, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Lunch, Delivery, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Level Contributor
16 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“Delicious!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 13, 2013 via mobile

Although I've maintained that when someone tries too hard to get you to come inside a restaurant it is usually a sign that the food is bad, in this case I've never been more wrong. The lamb dish I had was amazing: spicy, generous and complex. The house wine was very good and free appetizers were appreciated. We ate too much (mainly because we couldn't stop ourselves because everything was so delicious). This was the best meal I've had yet in Istanbul.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank Lara W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

149 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    95
    27
    11
    5
    11
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Korean first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Johannesburg, Gauteng, South Africa
Level Contributor
9 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
“We finally said "yes"”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 8, 2013

After walking past Defne for several days and being invited in, we finally said to trying the food. And we were so glad we did, the food was delicious, we think the humus was the best we had all week, and the main meal was humongous as well as delicious. Enjoyed every minute of it!!

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank ZXaba
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Helsinki, Finland
1 review
“Fiendly staff!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 4, 2013

We had a great evening at Defne, thanks to super-welcoming staff and delicious food! Starters were big enough to serve as main courses and the kebab was delicious. The only challenge was the typical one at Istanbul – try not to eat too much. And we failed again. But it was definately worth it. Thanks Defne!

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Pystis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
42 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“If you don't have another choice ...”
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 25, 2013

If you don't have another choice then you are not lucky ... what else can I say ?
We were visiting museums and had a city tour all day long and we were therefore very tired to try something outside of the area we were staying (a Sultanahmet hotel).
Starting from the menu, it's the typical one you can find in the area i.e. from pizza to fish to local food to name it and find it. Full of photos and marketing material.
We did not want to try something complicated so we ordered steaks with french fries ONLY. No rice, no salad on the side - nothing but just french fries. And guess what. We were served a super mini "piece of meat" (of unknown origin - it was termed as "beef" but it is most likely the kind of beefs I have not met in my life so far) with few french fries and full of rice, salads (baked and not) - exactly what you will find in photo #3 of the entry in tripadvisor.

We ate the super mini "steak" in 2 minutes (the faster the better in these cases) and stopped. When the waiter came to our table to bring the bill he apologized that the food was not in line with what we ordered. Great but it was a little bit late to do so after half an hour that we were looking for him and he was busy taking photos !

No need to say more. It was a VERY BAD experience and a very expensive too (considering also the quality of the food). I am really curious to find out who and how rates this place so high.

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank Vasilis D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mellieha, Malta
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
“Exquisite!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 24, 2013 via mobile

Extraordinary food and wonderful staff. We got all that was promised, free finger licking assorted mezes together with fantastically cooked Testi kebab at the terrace with a wonderful night view of the Bosforus. We highly recommend this place.

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
2 Thank sladjancica
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Defne Bar and Restaurant also viewed

 

Been to Defne Bar and Restaurant? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing