We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“manana tsiklauri”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Little havana

Little havana
Ranked #114 of 13,397 Restaurants in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $8
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Romantic, Dining on a budget, Local cuisine, Kids, Families with children
Dining options: Late Night, Lunch, Brunch, Dinner, Breakfast, Free Wifi, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Serves Alcohol, Takeout, Television, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Sultanahmet
Istanbul, Turkey
1 review
“manana tsiklauri”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 30, 2013

how are u doing? miss you very much... how is turgay? new design of bar is prety nice. wish u everything best..
FB:manana mdzeluri.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank manana t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

254 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    197
    34
    18
    2
    3
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Mountain View, California, United States
Level Contributor
24 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
“Friendly but Slow Service and Not Much Food for the Money”
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 24, 2013

I stumbled upon Little Havana having not read the TripAdvisor reviews, and reading them now, they seem grossly inflated. Efes, the owner was very friendly and inviting and provided free tea and baklava, but after waiting for an extended period and watching him pass by several times, we had to fetch our own menu and tell him that we were ready to order. The food took a long time to come out, and when it did, my first reaction was that I was seeing a lot of plate and not a lot of food. The quality of food was OK, but it did not stand out at all from the many, many other Turkish restaurants in the area. For example, just around the corner is Doy Doy restaurant where one can get nearly identical food and slow service but at significantly better prices. To add to the already high prices, Efes tacked on a 10% "tax" to the bill which I haven't seen in any other restaurant in Turkey. Also, the traveler should be warned that there is nothing Cuban about this restaurant except some of the decor.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
2 Thank JamesBradley5
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Service with a smile in Sultanahmet!”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013

Located on a quiet street in Sultanahmet, Little Havana is a quaint find. Surrounded by the dim noises of life in the neighborhood, you'll enjoy a terrific homemade meal while being able to sit outside and enjoy the scenery. Efes is a consumate host, as is his wife Susan, and you will feel very welcomed and taken care of in their presence. While I never made it inside the restaurant, preferring to eat outside; the decor of Turkish lights hanging from the rafters made for a lovely backdrop to what were some enjoyable and tasty meals while staying in the Sultanahmet. And don't forget the Turkish coffee!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank BejalaiBound
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Fantastic! ”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 23, 2013 via mobile

Outstanding service!! Unlike so many other restaurant owners or staff, Efes did not try to entice us into his restaurant with strange compliments. We had two fabulous meals of chicken casserole and manti. Both were cooked to perfection and came with complimentary bread, water and apple tea. The baclava was fresh and delicious. If we had more time in Istanbul I would definitely return!

Helpful?
Thank Cáitlin D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Starnberg
Level Contributor
34 reviews
22 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
“A restaurant where you feel at home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed October 20, 2013

During our second stop over in Istanbul on our way to South Africa, we were looking for Efes, a young waiter in the Fish House, who told us the year before, that he was about to start his own restaurant.
We quickly found him around the corner in his new tiny, little restaurant: Little Havana.
He recognized us immediately, invited us for a drink and even borrowed us his tramway card for our excursions around the city, which by the way is a cheap and convenient way of getting around.
Next evening we had dinner in his place and we're welcomed like old friends.
Everything was perfect despite the fact that his black board outside invites guest with: hot beer, lousy food, bad service.
Once you visited this place, there might be one problem in the future: you may have to come back each time you'll visit Istanbul.

  • Visited October 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Hermster-1940
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Little havana also viewed

 

Been to Little havana? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing