We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Terrible service and shady characters at this hotel!!!”
Review of Lal Hotel

Lal Hotel
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lal Hotel
Ranked #987 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed September 20, 2013

My friend and I stayed at this hotel 11 days ago. We were meant to stay here for 10 days but cut our stay short (to 3 days only) because the staff was terrible to us. We had called the receptionist, Fatih, before arriving in Istanbul to ask about their shuttle service from the airport. Fatih made it sound like the shuttle service was free, but once we arrived at the hotel, he charged us 140 TL. This same service is either free in the neighbouring hotels or the charge is only 25 TL. When we insisted on speaking to the manager, we were told the manager has nothing to do with it. We asked another receptionist for the manager's number and were told that he is available only at noon at the phone number provided.

The normal procedure at a hotel is to make photocopy of the passport of the guest then give the passport back. Fatih tried to make many excuses in order to keep our passport to himself. We waited an hour for him to finally give our passports back to us.

The double room was nice and clean. Beware that the hotel is actually 30 minutes walk from the Sultanahmet hotel.

We would never recommend anyone to stay at this hotel.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
6  Thank Rema K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (11)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

3 - 9 of 11 reviews

Reviewed July 29, 2013

Hi folks! I've visited this place two mounths ago,ıts such a lovely place and has very good situation in city.Personel have smiley faces and friendly behave.Rooms are clean and comfortable,sure i will be there again
thanx for crew

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank bep0sitive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 13, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: May 2014, traveled solo
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
1  Thank Maria S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2014
Google Translation

  • Stayed: April 2014, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Lina H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2013
Google Translation

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank fagin2013
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: hepsi iyi ama cadde tarafı gündüz sesli.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank serhat b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 21, 2013
Google Translation

Room Tip: ben arka bahçeye bakan odada kaldım.çok rahat ve çok sessiz.internet kesintisizdi.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank yasin d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,175 in Istanbul
3,178 reviews
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#841 of 1,175 in Istanbul
629 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#85 of 1,175 in Istanbul
831 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#19 of 1,175 in Istanbul
1,839 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#69 of 1,175 in Istanbul
664 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
Hilton Istanbul Bosphorus
#105 of 1,175 in Istanbul
2,735 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lal Hotel

Address: Aksaray Mah. Namik Kemal Cd. No: 18 | Fatih, Istanbul 34000, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #987 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $29 - $55 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Lal Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 41
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Lal Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing