We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nice days in the old city of istanbul”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Best Western Empire Palace
Ranked #49 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 7, 2012

I had a very nice stay in this hotel. Special thank to Süleyman for the good service and his help on the day of our departure!!
The rooms are comfortable, everything is clean, breakfast was better then expected, even pancakes and fresh fruits (special thank to Serhat, yammi!!)! Nothing to critizise at all...

  • Stayed: September 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ChristinaZimmermann
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

740 - 746 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed October 6, 2012

The best hotel in Istanbul.
Breakfast was great and rooms was very confortables
The location in the historical old town is perfect, all the importants things are near and you can go walking everywhere.
The service was very nice and helpful (specially thanks to Suleyman)
If we come back to Istanbul we hope go to this hotel again.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank lulg l
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 6, 2012

I stayed with friends for three nighs at the Best Western Empire Palace in September. I had booked last minute through an agent and was not very picky when choosing it. I had wanted that location and it turns out location was its strongest yet weakest point.

The hotel is classical, furnishing a bit old fashioned. Has the look of an hotel somewhere in the towns and villages around Istanbul, not in its center. Staff were friendly and rooms and breakfast just OK. But it was noisy because of the tram station and the people dining and drinking till early morning in the street below. If the windows were double glazed, we didn't notice. The noise still came through and was definitely annoying. Otherwise, it's just a decent hotel. Don't expect much.

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SamarDani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 22, 2012

We have just came back home after staying for 4 nights in this very nice and familiar hotel.
The location in the historical old town is perfect, short walking distances (5-15 minutes) to Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Grand Bazar on the one side and Spice Market, port of Eminönü with Galatabridge and Bosporus ferry tours on the other side. The next tram station is within a two minutes walk (Gülhane).
After having read all the reviews we have expected a very small and noisy room, but we have got a triple bed room in the 3rd floor (307) so we had enough space. Although our room was located to the streetside with lots of restaurants and the tram passing by directly in front of the hotel, it was not really noisy (no trams at night!). The only negative thing was that we could hear the other guests talking and walking in the hotel corridors but such things always depend on inconsiderate guests and not on the hotel.
The room was very clean, neat and appealingly furnished, the beds were comfortable and the mattresses were clean, too. The hotel offers a pillow-menu!
The room was equipped with a safe, satellite tv with certain international channels (auf deutsch leider nur rtl2, hahaha), minibar (water for free), very good air-condition and free WiFi (for access in the rest of the hotel ask the staff for the key!). The bathroom was big enough, clean and modern, the shower was the best I have ever had in a hotel (good waterpressure!). Big bath towels (not the standard hotel-towel size) and free toiletries. The hairdryer was ok, but if you have longer hair, better bring your own.
The breakfast was very good (better than in other Best Western Hotels we have stayed, e.g. Barcelona) consisting of a regional (cheese, olives, cucumber, tomatoes) and a more continental buffet with bread, pastries, different jams, fresh fruits like melon and apples, muesli and cereals, boiled and scrambled eggs, some kind of sausage and other warm meals, juice… and of course the pancakes (special thanks to Serhat!!!). coffee and cappucchino were very good. The breakfast is served at the nice rooftop where you can partially see the Hagia Sophia, Topkapi Palace and Bosporus.
We also tried the dinner (they offer regional and international) in the hotel, which was good, too. The garden terrace is a nice place to drink a fanta or a cocktail (ask for special cocktail) or for smoking a nargile and talking to other guests and the very nice and friendly staff. Prices are similar to other restaurants in the closer environment.
The service was great and efficient and the staff (unfortunately I don’t know all their names) is without exception exceedingly friendly, always smiling and very helpful in all situations: at the front desk, at the bar, at the restaurants, with the luggage…. It was always nice talking to them. Special thanks to Süleyman for helping us with our transfer back to the airport, without you we would probably still be waiting for our transfer!
We did not have any problems with the hotel during our stay there, we enjoyed it very much and can highly recommend this hotel!

  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Ela M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 29, 2012

We have just returned from a trip to Istanbul, we were pleased with the accomodation at the Empire Palace hotel, it is centrally located for the main tourist sites & very handy for 2 tram stops. The staff were really great Romeo gave us tips on great shopping places & the young man in the restaurant was very helpful nothing was too much trouble The room was nicely decorated & very clean, breakfast was good as well.
It is really easy to get to & from the airport via the tram & Metro & much quicker & cheaper than a taxi
There were some decent restaurants near we had a good meal at one just along the road called Homemade We would certainly recommend it to anyone looking for a value for money break

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sonia2431
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Sonia,
I would like to thank you for your review and it is very nice and important for me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay. I am proud of my staff that they try all their best. Thank you again. You should come again for a longer stay and let me know that I can help you organizing your trip in Turkey.

Best Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

this hotel is in a very strategic position, very close to the most attractive sites to be visit in the old istanbul.
everything is fine in the hotel, the personnel is very kind and the breakfast is great, served on the terrace with a great view of the town.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank E507
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear Monascia,
Thank you for your kind review and it is very nice and important to me to hear that you very much enjoyed your stay. Reading your review is a great motivator and lead us to continue with desire and passion.
Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul.I hope to see you again in Istanbul with us.

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 26, 2012

My family and I stayed at the Best Western Empire palace in Istanbul for 14 nights. We initially made the reservation for 7 nights not knowing if we would like the hotel or location but soon discovered it was the perfect location to all major sights, restaurants and transportation. We felt completely safe at all times. The beds were comfortable, rooms were clean and they had a very friendly staff. Breakfast was good with a large variety of hot and cold items including fresh fruit. There were a few times that we wanted to sleep in and they offered to bring breakfast to our room. No matter what we asked of the staff they went over and beyond the call of duty. The management was very helpful when we missed our flight back to the US. They provided us with ideas about finding a flight, which we did the next morning. They called taxis for us and gave us estimated trip costs. We would always thank them for their help and the owner would say “you do not need to thank us, we are here to serve you and help you in any way we can. " You are our guest". If you are looking for a Five Star hotel you won't find it here but...if you are looking for a hotel that is clean with a GREAT price, GREAT location, GREAT service and GREAT staff, than this is the perfect hotel for you!! Would I stay there again or recommend them to my family? Absolutely !!!

Room Tip: We stayed in rooms 303 and 403. They were the coolest rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank April A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded September 1, 2012

Dear April,
I would like to thank you very much for your review and appreciate your kind comments. It is great to hear that you had a enjoyable stay at our hotel.Such comments motivates us more than anything and shows us we are on the right path.
Thank you for choosing us as well. Do not forget us and please contact us if you need any kind of assistance about Istanbul or Turkey.

I hope to see you again in Istanbul with us in the BW Empire Palace Family.

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#59 of 1,163 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#296 of 1,163 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Empire Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Empire Palace

Address: Hudavendigar Cad. No:17 / 19 | Hocapasa Mah. - Sirkeci/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Empire Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On February 11th 2008 at the annual meeting of Best Western Turkey, Best Western Empire Palace Hotel became the proud owner of the award "Highest Quality Hotel Award 2007". Best Western International recognized the hotel as the best Best Western Hotel in Turkey on base of regular quality assessments, where Best Western Empire Palace hotel has scored a record high performance. The hotel management is eager to continue working even harder in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda, Expedia, Ctrip TA, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, getaroom.com, Orbitz, Cancelon, TripOnline SA and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Empire Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing