We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Stay at Best Western Empire Palace”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Best Western Empire Palace
Ranked #49 of 1,163 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2011

Hello I am Imran from Pakistan.I alongwith my wife and two daughters stayed at this mangnificent hotel from 22 July to 26 July 11.It was a memorable and fascinating experience.The hotel staff was very courteous particularly Mr Argan at reception who helped us great deal in planning our trips to different places. The hotel location itself is the best in the town as you find all major attractions like Topkapi Palace, Blue Mosque, Aaya Sofia and Spice Bazar at walking distance. The tram passes right in front of the hotel and is a very cheap and convenient mode of travelling around. On the whole we thoroughly enjoyed our stay at this hotel in Istanbul and will strongly recommend it for other travelers to this historic city.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank MUHAMAD IMRAN B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 17, 2011

Dear Muhamad,
Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel .We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with our possible future guests.Thank you for choosing us as well.We hope that we have given you the best service.
It would be our honor to have you here as our guest again.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,557)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

804 - 810 of 1,557 reviews

Reviewed October 5, 2011

Stayed in this hotel in September for a brief holiday prior to going to Ankara for a business trip.
The hotel is centrally situated and could not be better placed for tourists with all the main site sin walking distance. It is a small but well appointed hotel with good modern rooms which are clean and functional. The staff, without exception, could not have been more helpful or friendly.
The restaurant food was of good quality - although I only had one evening meal as there are many other restaurants to temp you in the immediate area - breakfasts were the usual Turkish fare with a wide selection of items. Roof top restaurant ideal for looking over the City and the bay. Only one point stops me giving the hotel a 5 star rating - noise. Not entirely their fault, if you stay in a centrally located hotel on a busy street with trams running you expect that, but I thought that the insulation could have been better, although I was fortunate to be in a room at the rear of building over looking an inner courtyard.

Room Tip: Try for one not overlooking the street.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Gillfranco
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Gillfranco,
Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad to hear that you have felt good and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel and we appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with our possible future guests.Thank you for choosing us as well.Thank you for giving us an oppurtunity to make it again.
We wish you the best and look forward to seeing you again !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 4, 2011

We stayed here twice in July and September. First time we conducted a 3 day meeting there and everything went smoothly. The staff that served the coffee breaks even remembered what each of 14 people preferred to drink. When we recently stayed there in September for another business trip, I couldn't wish for more help from the reception and reservation department. I happened to communicate more with the hotel manager Ceylan and the front desk manager Ercan during their shifts and I am endlessly grateful for their help with any little question or favor as well as major and urgent requests. It is very important to trust people and I felt absolutely safe and able to rely on everyone who works in the Empire Palace Hotel in Istanbul. As a result we had a successful meeting there!

...Not to mention clean rooms, delicious breakfast and perfect location of the hotel. I'd definitely recommend to stay there either for travelling or for business.

  • Stayed: July 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Daria C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Daria,
Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel .It is our priority to make you feel comfortable .We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with our possible future guests.Thank you for choosing us as well.We hope that we have given you the best service.
It would be our honor to have you here as our guest again.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2011

This review is way overdue, but I just wanted to add to the myriad other great review. We had a group of about 35 staying here and the staff made our stay very easy and comfortable. The hotel was very clean and the service prompt. We had a few miscommunications about some meal details, but the staff did a fantastic job of working through the problems to an acceptable resolution for all. They were extremely friendly and helpful and it made our fist experience in Istanbul a very memorable one. I'd especially like to mention Ergin, Ilkay, Ercan, and Kursat. They rock and were a blast to hang out with! Thanks guys, for all your hard work. I would definitely consider your hotel again if I return to Istanbul.

Room Tip: Ask for a room not on a side street or the main street. There is a club off one side of the hotel t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Brett B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Brett,
Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel .It is our priority to make you feel comfortable .We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with our possible future guests.Thank you for choosing us as well.We hope that we have given you the best service.
It would be our honor to have you here as our guest again.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

Could not speak highly enough of this hotel. The staff go out of their way to be helpful over and above the call of duty. They would not even let us carry a case. When we asked for tea making facilities it was there within minutes. When our pick-up bus was late, they noticed we had been standing outside ages and made a phone call to our rep for us without being asked. I asked for a quiet room and consequently got one at the back of the hotel, which was fine, you cant have it both ways, its a very noisy city! The location is superb, right by the tramline which goes through the heart of Istanbul so you can get almost anywhere for less than £1 It is almost opposite the Topkapi Palace and a short walk from the Grand Bazaar, the Basilica Cistern and the station. Everything was very clean and the excellent breakfast was served in the rooftop restaurant from which you can see the Bosphorus, the same view that the Sultans had long ago! I can recommend it to anyone.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank proudtobeyorkshire
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alihan, Owner at Best Western Empire Palace, responded to this reviewResponded October 7, 2011

Dear Guest,
Thank you for your kind words.We are so glad to hear that you have felt nice and comfortable at BW Empire Palace Hotel .It is our priority to make you feel comfortable .We appreciate that you took your time to share your experience with our possible future guests.Thank you for choosing us as well.We hope that we have given you the best service.
It would be our honor to have you here as our guest again.We wish you the best !!

Kindest Regards,
Alihan Akkoc
GM&Owner
On behalf of BW Empire Palace Hotel Team

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 25, 2011

We spent 3 nights there and found the location very convenient for major sites. The staff were invariably friendly and helpful, especially so when transport to the airport was very late. Breakfast was fine and the room well-kept. One gripe: the drawer space was very, very limited.

  • Stayed: September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank brianc906
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 21, 2011

This hotel is perfect if you wish to visit the Topkapi Palace, Aya Sophia, the Grand Bazaar etc. They are all within walking distance - though uphill. However, local transport, though crowded, is excellent. Altrhough my mobility is limited, I had no difficulties.
Staff were always friendly and helpful. Breakfast was good, and you had excellent views of the area around as the dining room was on the roof. We did not choose to use many of the facilities like the Turkish Bath so can't comment.
The area abounds in excellent restaurants at very reasonable prices. Consequently we only dined in the hotel once. It was certainly not the best meal we had and we were there in Ramadan and were advised staffing had been affected. But there is just so many other restaurants that our advice would be eat elsewhere. While many may be aware of it we did not know that every restaurant was not licenced to serve fish - so you might want to check menues carefuilly if that is what you want.
We would certainly stay there again! But note we are a couple in our late 60s - hot blooded younger folk may want something more oernate, flashy and lively. We however were very content with itrs peaceful, relaxing, well maintained comfort, and its welcoming staff.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms on main road - ours looked down on inner courtyard which ensured both quiet and shade...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank peterlew422016
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Orient Express Hotel
Orient Express Hotel
#62 of 1,163 in Istanbul
1,777 reviews
Sultanahmet
Recital Hotel
Recital Hotel
#59 of 1,163 in Istanbul
897 reviews
Sultanahmet
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
World Heritage Hotel Istanbul
#21 of 1,163 in Istanbul
795 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Doubletree by Hilton Istanbul - Sirkeci
Sultanahmet
Faros Old City
Faros Old City
#296 of 1,163 in Istanbul
722 reviews
Sultanahmet
Sirkeci Mansion
Sirkeci Mansion
#3 of 1,163 in Istanbul
3,030 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Best Western Empire Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Best Western Empire Palace

Address: Hudavendigar Cad. No:17 / 19 | Hocapasa Mah. - Sirkeci/Sultanahmet, Istanbul 34110, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa
Hotel Style:
#19 Spa Hotel in Istanbul
#35 Luxury Hotel in Istanbul
#89 Family Hotel in Istanbul
#95 Business Hotel in Istanbul
#130 Romantic Hotel in Istanbul
Price Range: $47 - $126 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:4 star — Best Western Empire Palace 4*
Number of rooms: 35
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
On February 11th 2008 at the annual meeting of Best Western Turkey, Best Western Empire Palace Hotel became the proud owner of the award "Highest Quality Hotel Award 2007". Best Western International recognized the hotel as the best Best Western Hotel in Turkey on base of regular quality assessments, where Best Western Empire Palace hotel has scored a record high performance. The hotel management is eager to continue working even harder in 2008. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Ctrip TA, Booking.com, Expedia, Agoda, Travelocity, Hotels.com, Hotwire, Orbitz and HotelQuickly so you can book your Best Western Empire Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Best Western Empire Palace Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Hotel Istanbul
Best Western Istanbul
Istanbul Best Western

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing