We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great experience!”
Review of Yazar Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Yazar Hotel
Ranked #347 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Montreal, Canada
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Great experience!”
Reviewed August 30, 2014

Will definitely go back! The hotel was in a quieter part of Sultanahmet. Very easy access to all the major sites. The rooms are very clean and renovated. All hotel employees were very helpful. They serve a very nice breakfast and offer 24/7 access to water, juice and tea.

Room Tip: The "basement" value room was a very good deal. It is actually on the main floor, not in t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
1 Thank NOYNOY16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

316 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    167
    101
    32
    7
    9
See reviews for
83
87
17
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (33)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Polish first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Level Contributor
6 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed August 28, 2014 via mobile

We been there two time s. Once when we arrive to Istanbul and when we finished our trip around Turchy. Position is very good and near the centre. Rooms clean with smart tv.
Breakfast is nothing special. .
A good hotel, nothing special.

  • Stayed August 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank coocky84
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
20 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
Reviewed August 23, 2014 via mobile

I stayed here with 3 friends in July as we backpacked our way through Europe!! We found the staff to be very friendly and helpful. More than willing to point us in he right direction and waited for us for a late check in. The room themselves are fantastic!! We stayed in a 4 bed room and it was spacious, clean, had an air conditioner, fridge, great shower with hot water. A hair dryer, kettle and fresh water daily were supplied in the rooms! Each day the rooms were cleaned and tidied! We had windows overlooking the street, and never had any noise issues given it is placed on a side street so nice and quiet!

The breakfast was awesome as well!!! Basics were supplied for a continental breakfast including tea, coffee, cereal, bread, cheeses, ham, jams, Nutella and fruit. Each day there was also plates of local Turkish foods such as eggs, potatoes, vegetables ect. And these were amazing!!!! Great breakfast to get the day started, finishing at 10:30am!

The real great of this hotel was the location!! Most things are within walking distance so we took full advantage! As a gauge, the Grand Bazaar, the Blue Mosque, Hagia Sophia and the water were around 10 minutes walk away from the hotel. As well as this, nearby streets have ample food options, cafés and Turkish Delight stores... Enter with caution, it's amazing!!!

All in all, this hotel is well worth the price you pay, we stayed for 5 days and had no issues! It's ideal for families, backpackers and couples! For an amazing city such as Istanbul, this is a great place to stay!

Stayed July 2014, traveled with friends
Helpful?
2 Thank Delz18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bologna
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 18, 2014

We spent 3 days in Istanbul and this hotel was perfect:
- it's 10 minutes walking from main attractions in the centre of the city;
- the room was pretty, clean and everything worked well;
- the breakfast was plenty and with some typical turkish plates.
Overall, the staff was very kind and helpful. Special thanks to Mesu!

  • Stayed August 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank pirilinka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Islamabad, Islamabad, Pakistan
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 17, 2014

It was quite a pleasant surprise to find Yazar Hotel right round the corner of Sultanahmet amongst all the festivity of Ramadan. We received such a warm welcome by the hotel staff after being timely picked up from Ataturk airport. Everyone was very eager to help us, guide us, serve us!! We were also warned to watch out for the taxi drivers charging us extra Turkish liras during late hours. My children became friends with the staff and enjoyed the evening snacks and tea (Siya Chaye)!! Though we had reserved a basement room with no windows, they were kind enough on their own to reserve a room for us on the 2nd floor. The room was nicely set up with all the basic necessities. I personally really enjoyed navigating the Smart TV!! The Turkish Breakfast buffet was a real treat!! We loved the Simit bread and smoked Egg plant dish. There were a lot of travel guides and brochures/ flyers of restaurants, top sights, shows, festivals that we could take along and read. We were provided with prompt taxi service to the airport. I would strongly recommend this lovely place to everyone especially with children!! I'm sure you all will also enjoy your stay as much as we did!!
On the slight negative side, I would say the elevator door needed a little maintenance.
Note: Make sure you leave your luggage bags locked up if you decide to get room cleaning done that day!

Room Tip: Our room number was 123 on the 2nd floor which is a comfortable family room.
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2014, traveled with family
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Samya-Kashif
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
8 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed July 26, 2014 via mobile

Great location for walking all over sultanahmet. Room was pretty warm- despite having air con on all night . Bright light outside window (road side 3rd floor) was an issue until eye masks saved the day :-) great breakfasts with a mix of authentic and standard. Great bathrooms and simple spacious rooms .

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rebecca G
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
Reviewed July 24, 2014

Good value for money, breakfast is great - traditional Turkish + continental.
Very central to Hagia Sophia, blue mosque, and some good restaurants. Friendly service. Comfortable bed. Can be a little noisy at times.

  • Stayed July 2014
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Teganah
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Diva's Hotel
Diva's Hotel
#616 of 1,140 in Istanbul
609 reviews
Beyoglu
Chambers of the Boheme
Chambers of the Boheme
#460 of 1,140 in Istanbul
120 reviews
Beyoglu
Hilton Garden Inn Istanbul Golden Horn Turkey
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#21 of 1,140 in Istanbul
1,725 reviews
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#149 of 1,140 in Istanbul
776 reviews
Fener & Balat
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
Lotus Hotel Istanbul
#295 of 1,140 in Istanbul
128 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Yazar Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Yazar Hotel

Property: Yazar Hotel
Address: Hobyar Mah. Cemal Nadir Sok. N 14 Fatih, Istanbul, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Grand Bazaar
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Room Service Shuttle Bus service Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #347 of 1,140 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Yazar Hotel 3*
Number of rooms: 20
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, Expedia, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Yazar Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing