We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent in every detail”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Ranked #70 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
Nuremberg, Germany
1 review
“Excellent in every detail”
Reviewed November 25, 2013

For our 5th anniversary I wanted to surprise my wife with a trip to Istanbul.The hotel is excellent in every way - nice location, delicious food, attentive staff (Room service, Spa, Gym, Reception), very luxurious rooms.
When we arrived, we were welcomed like old friends.


  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Paul H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Paul H,

Thank you for sharing your valuable comments with us. It is such an honour that you have chosen Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul for your 5th wedding anniversary.

We are delighted that you liked our rooms, the location of our property, our restaurants and our Shangri-La hospitality from the heart. It is very important for us to deliver a high quality of service and it is a pleasure to learn that our colleagues were able to exceed your expectations.

Congratulations again on your anniversary and we look forward to welcoming you and your wife back.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

736 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    576
    106
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
162
245
28
157
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (128)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Bahrain
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed November 18, 2013

I have been pleasantly surprised by the courtesy and kindness and professionalism of the staff at Shangri La Istanbul, this hotel specifically lives up to its name. They are loyal commited, and most important of all, stand by their word, I would like to thank Mr Yilmaz and the hotel staff for being a very kind host and their calm and professional manner during a stressful situation that I was in during my stay. This hotel takes the safety and comfort of their guests very seriously, and I felt like I was part of a family. Thank you for everything.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Nad267
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, November 26, 2013
Dear Nad267,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul and sharing generous comments with us. It is a pleasure to know that we were able to exceed your expectations and provide you the Shangri-La hospitality we are known for. Providing immaculate service is our priority and kindly be assured that your valuable comments will be conveyed accordingly to all our colleagues.

We look forward to welcoming you back soon.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
1 review
Reviewed November 15, 2013

An excellent new hotel with very attentive and polite service - all that you need for either business or leasure. Thoroughly recommended. Excellent rooms with more than you would expect from even a top-class hotel. All the latest equipment and beautiful bathrooms

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Nick V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Nick V,


Thank you very much for staying with us on your visit to Istanbul, we very much appreciate this.

We would also like to thank you for your review on your stay at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. It is always very important to us to receive feedback from our guests in order to continue improving the quality of our services and hospitality.

We are really looking forward to welcome you back very soon.

Yours Sincerely,


Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Geneva, Switzerland
Level 4 Contributor
26 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed November 6, 2013

This Shangri-La lives up to its brand: luxurious, over-the-top property with attentive staff. I much liked the check-in process, where you are taken to your room immediately and all formalities are completed there (always hated having to stand at the reception desk). The lady checking me in was super-sweet and anthusiastic about her hotel (it appears many members of the staff had started before the doors opened, so they helped to put the finishing touches and feel a true part of the place).
The breakfast buffet is excellent, one can have an entirely different meal each day - as the selection is abundant.
The only thing is the hotel is still very new, so some things may not work properly. In my room, the heating was not connected to some pipes, same problem with one of the faucets. When I called, the maintenance person appeared within 15 minutes and fixed things in another 10. So it was only half an hour of unpleasantness (mind you, would have been nice to get some token of apologies from the management, didn't happen)...
Net, it should be a nice hotel in a few months, maybe I get a chance to visit again and find everything straightened out 100% by then.

Room Tip: Ask for a room facing the Bosphorus!
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Travel_Snova
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, November 7, 2013
Dear Travel_Snova,

Thank you for reviewing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We truly appreciate your valuable feedback as this is the only way we can continuously improve the service we aim to provide.

We are more than delighted to read that you liked our property, the breakfast buffet and your check-in experience. Also, we are glad to know that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality from the heart.

We would like to sincerely apologize for the technical difficulties encountered in your room. Providing immaculate service is our priority and kindly be assured that we have taken the necessary actions to prevent further recurrences. Should you have any further comments, please do not hesitate to contact me via e-mail at sinan.yilmaz@shangri-la.com as I would be pleased to learn more about your experience.

You can be assured that everything will indeed be straightened out the next time you visit Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Padua, Italy
1 review
Reviewed November 2, 2013

Really the best choise in town. The service is Superior the charm incredible ad the concierge efficent. I'm sure i'll be back. The room and the view was fantastic. The staff exellent. The brekfast faboulos

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank LoZiovince
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, January 2, 2014
Google Translation
Sayın LoZiovinc;

Yorumlarınız için teşekkür ederiz. Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'daki konaklamanız süresince keyifli vakit geçirdiğinizi ve hizmetlerimizden memnun kaldığınızı öğrendiğime çok memnun oldum.

Sizi tekrar Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul'da ağırlamaktan onur duyarız.

Saygılarımla,


Sinan Yılmaz
Genel Müdür
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Alkhafji
1 review
Reviewed October 28, 2013

I wish if I am rich enough to stay at such hotels..excellent services provided
from the moment we cheked in till check out. My family would like to come to this hotel again and again....... But the hotel room price is too high and out of reach for majority of people..only for rich people

  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with shangri-la.com

Helpful?
Thank Salem A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, Genel Müdür at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, December 31, 2013
Dear Salem A;

Thank you for taking the time to share your feedback with us. We truly appreciate your support and look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.


Yours Sincerely



Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dubai, United Arab Emirates
Level 3 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed October 22, 2013

I stayed at the Shangri La Bosphorus for 6 nights last September, it's a beautiful hotel with a very lovely and fresh decor and color scheme, rooms were spacious and beautiful, very comfortable only negative thing was the telephone, it wasn't working properly when calling room to room also the bathroom TV wasn't working. other than that I highly recommend this hotel and would definitely stay there again.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank sorsara101
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, October 25, 2013
Dear sorsara101,

Thank you for choosing Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul and sharing your valuable feedback with us. We are delighted that you liked our property and we sincerely apologize for the technical difficulties you have encountered at your room. We are pleased to inform you that the room telephone as well as the television in the bathroom have been rectified.

We hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you the hospitality we are known for and to experience again our facilities.

Best regards,

Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#72 of 1,149 in Istanbul
399 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#64 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,302 reviews
Beyoglu
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
Pera Palace Hotel, Jumeirah
#62 of 1,149 in Istanbul
1,103 reviews
Renaissance Polat Istanbul Hotel
#275 of 1,149 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Property: Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #70 of 1,149 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is located between the Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European coast of the Bosphorus Strait - the 30-kilometre stretch of water separating Europe and Asia. Set within the Besiktas district, Istanbul's main shopping and transport hub, the hotel is close to the city's financial district and the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Centre. The hotel comprises 186 spacious guestrooms including 17 expansive suites, some of the largest rooms in Istanbul city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Orbitz, Travelocity, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Expedia, Hotels.com, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Cancelon, HotelQuickly, Evoline ltd and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing