We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Elegance on the Bosphorus”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 11 more sites!
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Ranked #72 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Certificate of Excellence
New York, New York
Level Contributor
12 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Elegance on the Bosphorus”
Reviewed July 16, 2013

I was fortunate to spend two nights at this new luxury hotel in Istanbul.
The lobby is probably the most elegant in Istanbul with beautiful crystal chandeliers everywhere and there were beautiful Turkish and Oriental art everywhere you turned. They have a grand staircase going down to the lower levels to the spa and the dining and meeting rooms.
I stayed in a premier Bosphorus view room which had a magical view of the Bosphorus. The hotel is the closest to the Bosphorus so the Bosphorus view rooms are like being on the water. The room was huge. When I walked into the room I felt it was too grand but I quickly got accustomed to it. It was nice to luxuriate in such spaciousness. I think in all it was 65 square meters.
I ate at Isttoo the first night and had Malaysian food that was delicious. They were also serving an amazing buffet for Iftar but I wasn't that hungry, but I enjoyed the live Turkish music in the restaurant that was special for Ramadan.
On the second night friends came to join me at the Shang Palace. They were observing Ramadan and when we told the waiter that they were breaking their fast they went up to get some of the Iftar offerings so they could break their fast with familiar foods before we started on the wonderful Chinese food. It was the best Chinese food I have ever had and the Peking duck was amazing.
The staff at the hotel has got to be one of the most handsome and beautiful staff of any hotel I have ever stayed and they were equally service oriented. They could not do enough for me. After dinner we went outside to the few tables they have outside for smokers. We wanted tea and it was late and they said they had run out but our server, Ms Selin, found some and brought it to us. It was so appreciated. The one thing they don't have is outdoor space but the inside is so beautiful and if you get tired of looking at all the beautiful art you can engage with the delightful staff. I really had a wonderful time.

Room Tip: I loved my premier Bosphorus room but they do have some suites with outdoor terraces that I would lo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Waldorf9
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, July 17, 2013
Dear Waldorf9,

Thank you very much for taking the time to write about your experience at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, IST TOO and Shang Palace. We really appreciate your excellent feedback. We are passionate about exceeding our guests' expectations and we are so delighted to hear that you were well taken care of by our colleagues.

We are honoured that you choose Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul and we look forward to welcome you again.

Best regards,
Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

710 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    554
    102
    27
    18
    9
See reviews for
152
239
28
155
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (127)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Danish first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Norwegian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Idf
Level Contributor
48 reviews
40 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
Reviewed July 6, 2013

Victims of advertising in several travel magazines decided to stay in this freshly opened hotel on Bosphorus supposed to compete with nearby Four Seasons and Ciragan Palace.

Big mistake !

Unlike other two hotels this block of building has no outside space , no access to Bosphorus , no outside pool or riverside restaurant.

It seems to run at minimum pace : spa unavailable to book , in the evening restaurants are totally empty and as oneand only clients of the chinese restaurant were told we could stay but kitchen was closing as they could not be bothered to wait to know if we wanted desert.

To ghe one exception of the Concierge ( whi madebug efforts to be of maximum service mindedness) ghe staff seems undertrained , boredand not interested in the client.

Bosphorus room offers a small balcony with a very partial view of Bosphorus.

We. Cut short our stay and moved to Four Seasons nearby , the perfect place
Howver on check out found out they were not releasing the credit card pre authorization and ghat it would take some time : duty manager could not do anything about it and I believe that the authorization to date has still not been released . A bad vesture which reflects a sour attitude of the hotel management.

Management : a tually there must be none. Having complained and said we were moving out no one bothered , (except single efforts of poor concierge...) to talk to me or find out reasons why like any other proper hotel manager would have done.

Final point: due to proximity to goverment residence the hotel is surroundered by heavy police forces

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank rktripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, July 11, 2013
Dear Sir,

Thank you for your review of our property. We are truly sorry about your unpleasant experience. I do understand your concern and appreciate the time you have taken to speak with us on our call. Please accept my sincerest apologies for the service lapses you experienced.
Please be assured that your valuable feedback has been shared with our colleagues to prevent any recurrence.

We do hope that you will give us another opportunity to show you our genuine Shangri-La Hospitality.

We look forward to welcoming you back to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul.

Sincerely yours,
Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
West Chester, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
34 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed July 4, 2013

I have stayed in hotels all over the world, including Ritz's in 6 cities and this is ranks up there with the best of the best! The stay here was gifted to us and what a gift it was! The room is incredible, and the service impeccable. Centrally located in Istanbul, you can take a ferry across to Asia Minor in 15 minutes and easily get to other great sites. Also, the buffet breakfast is by far the best I have ever had. From five different kinds of smoked fish, to assorted cheeses, olives, fruits and fresh squeezed watermellon juice it is incredible. If you have the opportunity make sure you stay at this Shangri-La!!

  • Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DWiedis
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, July 9, 2013
Dear DWiedis,
Thank you very much for sharing your experience at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed our service and the open buffet breakfast at IST TOO.
Please be assured that we will share your very positive comment with all colleagues of the hotel.
We look forward to welcoming you back soon!
Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
11 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 12 helpful votes
Reviewed June 29, 2013 via mobile

Spectacular hotel. Beautiful facility. Attentive and attractive staff. Fitness center is well equipped, very clean, and professionally managed. Would love to visit again. Staff went out of their way to make sure you were we'll taken care of. Would recommend to friends.

Stayed June 2013, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank Frank S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, July 1, 2013
Dear Frank S, thank you for sharing your kind comments about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back at our hotel soon. Best regards
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Philadelphia, Pennsylvania
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed June 6, 2013

We stayed here for one night after completing a cruise. The hotel had just opened and I believe we were the first couple to stay in our room. This was an incredible experience. The room was beautiful, with a marble bathroom, separate Amazon shower head, and a TV built into the bathroom mirror! The bedding was luxurious and the view of the Bosphorus was unsurpassed.
The lobby is lovely. The staff was amazing and I have never had better service. We had tea in the lounge area in the evening and the jazz singer was delightful. The on-site restaurant was unbelievable and the young tea master (who trained for 10 years to learn his craft) was amazing. Breakfast was to be included but we mentioned that we needed to leave at 5AM to catch our plane. The staff quickly let us know that they would have a boxed breakfast prepared for us to take along, since the restaurant was not open for breakfast that early. Our stay was an unforgettable, and probably a once-in-a-lifetime experience. Yes, the hotel is very expensive and we probably would have been unlikely to book this ourselves (it was booked by our cruise line) but for an extra special celebration, I could not recommend this hotel more highly. If your budget just won't permit this luxury, then you must, at least, have lunch here and enjoy the ministrations of the astounding young tea master!

Room Tip: A view of the Bosphorus is highly recommended.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank honeybrooklin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, June 12, 2013
Dear honeybrooklin , thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We are delighted that you enjoyed our Shangri-La Hospitality. We look forward to welcoming you back to our hotel soon.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
6 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

We went to IST TOO for a dinner and it was such an amazing experience. the food the staff were absolutely wonderful..The selection of the dinner knives and sauces was really nice.the view overlooking the Bosphorus especially at night is fantastic.

Room Tip: IST TOO Restaurant
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Ghamdeen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
SinanYilmaz, General Manager at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul, responded to this review, July 15, 2013
Dear Ghamdeen,

Thank you for sharing your experience at Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul. We are pleased to know that you enjoyed IST TOO. We look forward to welcoming you back very soon!

Kind regards,
Sinan Yılmaz
General Manager
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Besiktas
Four Seasons Istanbul at the Bosphorus
Besiktas
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
The Ritz-Carlton, Istanbul
#62 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 1,271 reviews
Besiktas
Swissotel The Bosphorus
Swissotel The Bosphorus
#67 of 1,135 in Istanbul
4.5 of 5 bubbles 332 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Besiktas
Ciragan Palace Kempinski Istanbul
Sisli
The St. Regis Istanbul
The St. Regis Istanbul
#17 of 1,135 in Istanbul
5.0 of 5 bubbles 208 reviews
Sisli
Park Hyatt Istanbul - Macka Palas
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul

Property: Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul
Address: Sinanpasa Mah, Hayrettin Iskelesi Sok, No.1, Besiktas, Istanbul 34353, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Besiktas
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #72 of 1,135 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 186
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul is located between the Dolmabahce Palace and the Maritime Museum on the European coast of the Bosphorus Strait - the 30-kilometre stretch of water separating Europe and Asia. Set within the Besiktas district, Istanbul's main shopping and transport hub, the hotel is close to the city's financial district and the Istanbul Convention and Exhibition Centre. The hotel comprises 186 spacious guestrooms including 17 expansive suites, some of the largest rooms in Istanbul city. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Shangri-La Hotels and Resorts, Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Cancelon, Priceline, Cheap Tickets, Evoline ltd, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA and HRS so you can book your Shangri-La Bosphorus, Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing