We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a lovely find!”
Review of Rumeli Meyhanesi

Rumeli Meyhanesi
Ranked #243 of 13,529 Restaurants in Istanbul
Price range: $10 - $20
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Late Night, Dinner, Breakfast, Delivery, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Description: Rumeli Meyhanesi is fine example for meyhane where you can have both nice drinks and nice meals. Especialy well daily made mezes ( turkish tapas) both vegeterian , vegan, and also sea food mezes you can find. daily fresh fish option for main dish and nicely meat plates you can have. well educated staff and good enough english speakers waiter and staff can help you for any question. very wellcome
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
3 reviews
“a lovely find!”
Reviewed October 5, 2013

This restaurant was very close to our hotel and having walked past a few times and been asked in (as it goes in Istanbul...) we decided to go for dinner. It was delightful, the charming staff and food are equally delightful and we enjoyed being guided in the 'correct' menu choices from the selection - it showed real passion for the food! All very reasonably priced and relaxed, you feel very well looked after here and I would happily go again...

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Sarah T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

587 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    391
    123
    36
    21
    16
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Swedish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
2 reviews
“Extraordinary friendly staff and delicious food ”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

Our great expectations we had from the Tripadvisor rating were definitely met. The friendliest staff we have met in our week in Istanbul. The food was great. Huge variety of tasty starters, really good wine, delicious chicken and fish and we got a fruit plate as a dessert on the house. Also nice and not too busy atmosphere, the waitors are caring a lot!! Can absolutely recommend it!

Helpful?
Thank Sandra_Germany
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
1 review
“Great food great service”
Reviewed September 29, 2013 via mobile

After an afternoon of walking around, I came to Rumeli tired and hungry. The service was fantastic and within minutes I had mezes in front of me that were delicious and affordable. I also ordered a grilled sea bream that was great. A fruit platter came complimentary.

Definitely come here if you are in the area.

Helpful?
Thank Daniel W
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Like all others”
Reviewed September 28, 2013 via mobile

Came in cause it looked nice. The food was average and pretty standard. However the waiter was grumpy and not enjoying his work. The manager was not attention the the guest in the restaurant but more on the people on the street. The worst part was that when we gave a 7% tip they got angry that it wasent enough. Average food. Very bad waiterd

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank jan m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
“Great experience”
Reviewed September 27, 2013 via mobile

I came to this restaurant because it was close to my hotel in Pera Palace area and because of what I read on tripadvisor
And I really enjoyed the experience
Great atmosphere, really great food and really great service
All the people working there, were kind, professional and gentle, they don't hassle you, like in other restaurants in town
And the food just great, the mezes very tasteful, and the lamb casserole they recommended absolutely fantastic
Free fruit and tea were very welcome
A great restaurant I highly recommend

  • Visited September 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank eohre
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Rumeli Meyhanesi also viewed

Istanbul, Turkey
Istanbul, Turkey
 

Been to Rumeli Meyhanesi? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing