We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“I'll be back”
Review of Istanblue Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Istanblue Hotel
Ranked #610 of 1,060 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Chicago, Illinois
1 review
“I'll be back”
Reviewed November 3, 2013

We really enjoyed our stay at Ali Baba suites and we recommend it for those who want a low cost and well located place in the old city of Sultanahmet. The manager and staff were extremely kind to us from the outset and respected our needs. We had breakfast brought to our room at whatever time we wished, with hot tea, fruit, etc. The neighborhood has new fish restaurants and is very close to Arasta Bazaar and the Blue Mosque. I never felt pressured, cheated, or hustled; quite the opposite in fact, as it was similar to staying in a Turkish family home and they help us get what we needed, including international calls and an inexpensive way to return to the airport. At the end, we got along quite well with the manager, a very friendly and sincere person. I recommend the place and I will stay there again next time I'm in Istanbul.

Please note: the new manager is totally different than the old one, who was causing some problems, which have been fixed, as far as I could tell. I'd make your own judgement on the basis of the current staff, which I thought was fantastic.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Johann589
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

51 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    30
    8
    1
    3
    9
See reviews for
8
17
5
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (14)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2013

Incredibly welcoming, helpful, and kind staff were always offering to make me tea or coffee, helping me navigate the city, and giving helpful tips. Very comfortable, large rooms. The perfect place for a couple days in Istanbul. And what a location!

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Bjorn W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Belo Horizonte, MG
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed October 26, 2013

The suites are very good located, just 3 minutes walking from blue mosque. The owner, Mr. Mustafa is very kind and helpful. The breakfast is good and you can take it in bedroom. We stayed in the ground floor bedroom, wich is very Nice and comfortable, excepted the bathroom, that is small and floods everytime you have shower, but I believe the owner was taking care about it.

  • Stayed October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Taís V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Zwijndrecht, The Netherlands
2 reviews
Reviewed October 25, 2013

Near the blue mosque and other good places, the staff is kind and very helpful. The rooms are clean but not. very luxery, but the Price is Nice. The hotel is small ( 4 rooms) and the breakfast is compleet.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Frank B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Copenhagen, Denmark
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

This was my secondat trip tp Istanbul, and I pickard this hotel for its Price and location, and I was not disappointed. The staff was very friendly and helpfull, and the turkish breakfast was good. The weather was cold, but the rooms were warm.

Room Tip: Pick the one with a view :-)
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel

Helpful?
Thank Mette2872
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kazan, Russia
1 review
Reviewed October 24, 2013

Everything was perfect! Rooms cleaned every day, great location near blue mosque, kind and helpful staff. Owner of the hotel wad great, sad to us a lot of interesting and helpful things about city, food, walking, different places.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Denis-300
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto Canada
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed October 14, 2013

We are well experienced travelers who have used Tripadvisor to research our holidays. We have always been happy with our choices till we saw Alibaba Suite Hotel. Who are these 17 people who have reviewed this hotel as excellent? This place would never get a 1 star rating. We have seen hostels that are nice than this hotel.
First, Alibaba Suite's private transfer service was 30 minutes late.
We looked at both rooms with a balcony, but they are nothing like the pictures shown on Tripadvisor. Where is the garbage and tin roof slums surrounding the unsafe balcony?
The furnishings are basic, old, worn, and dirty. The bathrooms look much older and dirtier then the pictures. There is only one enclosed shower stall.
Memet is the new manager not Bunyamin.
Memet could not show us the rooms as shown in the Tripadvisor photos. "I am not responsible for the pictures our guests put on the web"
When we found dead flies under our bed and a used band aid stuck to the rug, we knew it was time to leave.
The location was excellent until we drove by Alibaba Suite Hotel at night. The area was dark and quiet, not a safe place to be alone at night.
Buyer beware! Please don't think you are getting a bargain at 75 Euro/$100 a night, look elsewhere.
Interestingly, as of October 2013, with new management has come an increase in rates. Unbelievable!!!

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank xyz88
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mustafa ç, Sahibi at Istanblue Hotel, responded to this review, October 23, 2013
Dear Guest
First of all we are so sorry for you had a bad trips in Istanbul/Turkey
But there is a big mistake you leave your comments in Alibaba suite Hotel
But I thing you sould leave your comments on Ali Baba Hotel
Becouse Mr.Bunyamin and Me we was staff of to Ali baba Hotel and we left there.
The Ali Baba Suite Hotel its our own Hotel.
Thats true new manager name of the Ali Baba Hotel its MEMET
Please check the hotel if your comments not for us and for our hotel
Please delete your rewievs or contact to trip advsior to move your rewievs on true hotel
With our kindly wishes and regards
Mustafa ÇELİK & Bünyamin ÖZKAPLAN
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Sultanahmet
Hotel Amira Istanbul
Hotel Amira Istanbul
#2 of 1,156 in Istanbul
3,002 reviews
Sultanahmet
Angel's Home Hotel
Angel's Home Hotel
#88 of 1,156 in Istanbul
815 reviews
Sultanahmet
Basileus Hotel
Basileus Hotel
#23 of 1,156 in Istanbul
1,739 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Sultanahmet
Hotel Agan
Hotel Agan
#159 of 1,156 in Istanbul
781 reviews
Sisli
Hilton Istanbul Bomonti Hotel & Conference Center
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Istanblue Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Istanblue Hotel

Property: Istanblue Hotel
Address: Akbiyik Cad. No 65, Istanbul 34100, Turkey (Formerly Ali baba Suite)
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Sultanahmet
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #610 of 1,060 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$$$
Number of rooms: 11
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Alibaba Hotel welcomes you with the comfort in your own home. Our hotel have their own kitchen so you can used and cooked and entertain your guests and with it a peaceful location you can enjoy your self and relax. Enjoying a central location in Sultanahmet, Alibaba Hotel offers traditional and comfortable self-catering accommodation with free wireless internet, close to Istanbul's main attractions. Alibaba Hotel provides a variety of accommodation from double rooms to large apartments. Each one is tastefully decorated and appointed with comfortable beds and ering facilities. Guests can enjoy complimentary tea and coffee and free wireless internet access. Within a short walking distance of Hotel you can find major historical attractions including the beautiful Blue Mosque and Hagia Sophia Museum.Alibaba Hotel is a First Family run Hotel - Turkey. Situated in a quiet location in the old city centre Sultanahmet, it is the perfect starting place to discover Istanbul's history-former Constantinopolis. Our location is great indeed when you think the highlights to visit and the bazaars. We are in middle of Old City across the Eresin Crown Hotel and next to Marmara Cafe-Restaurant The Blue Mosque, Haghia Sophia, Topkapi Palace, The Cisterns and so many more highlights are just a few minutes walking distance to the hotel. You may reach to Grand Bazaar & Spice Bazaar by a very short walking. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda so you can book your Istanblue Hotel reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing