We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Very knowledgeable and memorable experience!!” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Daily City Tours with A Local Guide-Ozel Gunluk Turlar

Daily City Tours with A Local Guide-Ozel Gunluk Turlar
Ranked #158 of 403 Tours in Istanbul
Type: City Tours, Tours
More attraction details
Attraction details
Owner description: Welcome to the country of many civilizations, sunshine, hospitable people and unique places,lavishly blessed with history in the world.ISTANBUL
Atlantic City, New Jersey
1 review
“Very knowledgeable and memorable experience!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

My husband and I booked Sam for a couple of days in Istanbul. He came earl each morning to met us at our hotel and spoke terrific English. He is very knowledgeable and accommodating to our many requests; he was also eager to add a few more stops to the itinerary! First day, We had an informative and very entertaining tour of Hagia Sophia, the Blue Mosque, the Basilica Cistern, the Topkapi Palace, the Byzantine Hippodrome and the Grand Bazaar. Second day of our tour, he arranged a day for all the rest fabulous sites within the old city walls, such as the Chora Church, Suleymaniye Mosque, Aqueducts, City Walls and the Spice Market. We so much enjoyed our stay in Istanbul and mainly thank Sam for a wonderful experience of turkish culture. An excellent experience overall and one that I would recommend.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank sophia t
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    42
    0
    0
    0
    0
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
New York City, New York
1 review
“higly recommended”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 29, 2013

We ( family of 5) recently went on a cruise of the Mediterranean. We had a wonderful day with Sam (our guide) who showed us the many wonders of Istanbul including Hippodrome, Hagia Sophia, Blue Mosque, Basilica Cistern and Topkapi Palace, (he took us in the museums without having a long line for ticket) he was very fun and knowledgable and kept us all entertained through a long day. It was the best tour of all the places we went, including tours of Rome, Florence, and Barcelona. Sam knew exactly where to take us and all of the answers to our questions. We had the best lunch at his suggestion and it was delicious! He walked us through all of the places, gave such a good description of all the sights we visited. We felt we had a good friend among us throughout the day. I highly recommend Sam - everything was exactly as expected

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
Thank nicolas d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Toronto, Canada
1 review
“First Rate Experience!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 22, 2013

My wife and I spent a few days in Istanbul recently and hired Semih as our personal guide for half a day walking tour in the Old Town attractions. We soon realized this was a good decision as Semih proved to be a first rate guide having an excellent knowledge of Istanbul and its ancient buildings. He adjusted the pace tour to suit our needs and interests and recommended other places to go by ourselves. We thoroughly recommend his services. We also note that during our stay in Istanbul, we neither saw or heard anything of the political unrest, which appears to have been blown out of all proportion by the media with devastating effect on the tourist business.”

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank DavidH155019
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Raleigh, North Carolina
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Wonderful time in Istanbul!!”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 16, 2013

My husband, 17 year old nephew, and I had a personal guided tour of Istanbul from Sam. He was able to tell us so much about the history and people of the country and of the many things we could do in the city. He has a way of adding those extra bits of information that turn a good trip into a great one. It is obvious that Sam loves what he does and is passionate about making sure everyone enjoys their stay. If we ever return to that part of the world, we will definitely ask Sam to be our guide. If you get a chance to go, we recommend him.

Visited June 2013
Helpful?
Thank ElizabethInRaleigh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
California, Maryland
1 review
“wonderful introduction”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2013

Our private guided tour in Istanbul was a wonderful introduction. We really enjoyed the day we spent together with him. Sam presented the history in such a charming and interesting way while having all the answers to our questions. We moved along at just the right pace, we learned and saw so much. Not only did we learn about history, but also more about the culture and the people of Turkey. We plan to return to Turkey in the future and will certainly contact him to show different areas. I will also recommend him to friends who plan to visit.

Visited May 2013
Helpful?
Thank clar w
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Daily City Tours with A Local Guide-Ozel Gunluk Turlar also viewed

 

Been to Daily City Tours with A Local Guide-Ozel Gunluk Turlar? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing