We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“A meal that satisfies body and soul!”
Review of Prokopi Taverna - CLOSED

Prokopi Taverna
Cuisines: Mediterranean, Greek
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Lunch, Dinner, Outdoor Seating, Reservations, Seating, Waitstaff
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Description: Our restaurant was originally founded in Urgup Cappadocia 14 years ago and moved in Istanbul in 2008 after an erosion disaster took place in Urgup in 2007.We hosted so many important and famous visitors of the beauty of the nature's fairy chimneys and rocky churches in the long evenings and nights in Cappadocia.We served Ottoman food which normally follows the IStanbul culinary traditions now and then.Delicious mezes-cold starters- which we learned from our grandmothers& mothers and which we enjoyed them for years in our childhood.We try to revive the old traditions as much as possible and we mix them with daily needs of today.So in the evenings we serve varieties of mezes and hot starters followed by a traditional main course and at end the menu with traditional dessert we close the evening while customers enjoy Turkish-Greek and Armenian music accompanied by drinks. During the day time we usually serve variety of world's& local traditional salads and pasta & grills.As we have the opportunity of having the whole building to our service we can organize different events at different floors of our building and while we have live music downstairs at the restaurant, we can enjoy even jazz music upstairs at the dancing room :)We have Turkish and at the same time Italian coffe :-)variety of alchoholic and non alchoholic drinks. Interior design of our restaurant is accordingly completed to represent an old Istanbul house in Pera district and ornated with volcanic tufa rock fire place which was originally taken from an old villa of Kayseri-Cappadocian province's capital city in the past and a small American bar also build with volcanic tufa bricks.we prefered to hang on our walls many interesting pictures from the past which we collected them our parents& also from antiquary and second hand shops of Istanbul & Cappadocia.Old records from his master's voice,armenian alphabet'famous jazz performers old pictures,old books and encyclopedies are on our bookshelves with an old radio.We have an old piano as well,all of the chandeliers and doors,mirrors,accesories are old.Most of all our name "Prokopi" is very old : It's the name of an important historian in Byzantine emperor Justinianus era and also old name of URgup town in Cappadocia,there is also an important Cristian saint named after the town Agios Rossos Ioannis Prokopios(from Urgup) It is a Greek origin name and means handy :-)
New York City, New York
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“A meal that satisfies body and soul!”
Reviewed April 14, 2013

A visit to Prokopi is like being invited to the home of good friends. Immediately you are enveloped into the welcoming warmth of owners Alex and Yudum, ready to serve you a delicious meal of Turkish, Greek and Armenian delicacies. Throughout the evening you will learn some history of Istanbul (Yudum is also a tour guide) and about Cappadocia where the first Prokopi was located. The massive fireplace of tufa stone -- lit on cold evenings -- is just one of Prokopi's many fascinating souvenirs of their years there. A single traveler, I stuck to the tasty mezes or appetizers -- three types of eggplant salad, a Greek taramasalata (fish roe), and topik, an Armenian turnover filled with tahini (sesame seed purée), cooked onions, cinnamon, currants and pine nuts), and a salad of sprightly greens, tomatoes, cucumbers and red cabbage. I could only look longingly at the main course salads and meat and chicken dishes, all attractively presented and eaten with gusto by fellow diners. The service was perfectly attentive, not at all obtrusive. It was a lovely dining experience, soon to be repeated.

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Jane W
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

24 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    18
    4
    0
    1
    1
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Russian first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Barcelona, Spain
Level Contributor
34 reviews
21 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 42 helpful votes
“Excellent”
Reviewed April 1, 2013 via mobile

We were looking for a restaurant with good food (mix of turkish, greek and aremenian food) and a nice atmosphere near Taksim-we found it here. Good atmosphere and great food, but most of friendly owners enseuing you will feel good. We do definitely recommend this place!

  • Visited April 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
Thank Anutka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProkopiPeraPrinkipo, Owner at Prokopi Taverna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
We would like to thank you with all of our heart and we have to announce you that we unfortunately have closed our restaurant in this location and hoping to open another one in the future.
We hope to see you and serve you in the future thanks again for having liked us!
Yudum & Alex
Prokopi Pera Prinkipo
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Lichfield
Level Contributor
22 reviews
8 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
“Great food, dancing & wine!”
Reviewed March 17, 2013

If you want an authentic Turkish/Greek/Armenian night out with great food, singing & dancing, then this is definitely the place to come! We went on a wet Saturday night and the place was full, alive and buzzing mainly with locals. The food was delicious, fresh and traditional. They had live music. The girl singing was very good and got everyone up and dancing! But the stars are the owners, they are so friendly and welcoming and certainly know how to have a good time and make sure all their customers do too! This should really be under the restaurant section

Helpful?
Thank Inez K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProkopiPeraPrinkipo, Owner at Prokopi Taverna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your visit and having liked us with all of our heart.
We would like to let you know that we are closed since May 2013 and have future plans but for now we are away from our beloved visitors.
We hope to see you in the future
sincerely yours
Yudum & Alex
Prokopi Pera Prinkipo (facebook)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
La Quinta, California
Level Contributor
35 reviews
30 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
“Great food, warm and friendly service, should be listed under restaurants”
Reviewed March 3, 2013

Sure the cozy interior says "tavern" or "pub" and total strangers are treated like old friends. But the highlight of Prokopi is the superb food. The feeling of coziness extends to the great, home made dishes. I simply cannot imagine you won't leave happy and, as other reviewers say, looking forward to returning. The grilled octopus is high on the list of recommendations as is the hot cheese.

Helpful?
Thank Scott R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProkopiPeraPrinkipo, Owner at Prokopi Taverna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your visit and having liked us with all of our hearts.
We would like to let you know that we are closed since May 2013 and have future plans but for now we are away from our beloved visitors.
*now there is a rock bar at our address.
Hope to serve you grilled octopus again in a brand new Prokopi Retaurant.
We hope to see you in the future
sincerely yours
Yudum & Alex
Prokopi Pera Prinkipo (facebook)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
London, United Kingdom
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“a gem of a place”
Reviewed February 28, 2013

Prokopi is one of those rare places; a quiet and beautiful exterior and when you open the door and step inside you find yourself in a wonderful world of old. Beautifully decorated you spend an evening full of warmth and goodness there. It is not only the interiors that whisk you into another world, away from the buzz of the busy streets outside; the owners of Prokopi, Yudum and Alex know how to make you feel veeeery welcome and well looked after.

I experienced Prokopi on a February weekend, Istanbul with snow and cold temperatures, when myself and my band played there over the weekend. Rarely have I come across such hospitality, and those 2 evenings with a jampacked Prokopi buzzing with fun, singing, dancing til late will forever remain in my memory.

If you find yourself in Istanbul and are looking for a wonderful evening out, Prokopi is the place to go to. Highly recommended! I know that the next time I am in Istanbul, I will certainly pay them a visit.

Helpful?
Thank p d
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
ProkopiPeraPrinkipo, Owner at Prokopi Taverna, responded to this review, August 15, 2013
Thank you for your loving review you are gem yourself .
We would like to let you know that we are closed since May 2013 and have future plans but for now we are away from our beloved visitors.
*now there is a rock bar at our address.
Hope to see you play in a brand new Prokopi restaurant.

hugs full of love
sincerely yours
Yudum & Alex
Prokopi Pera Prinkipo (facebook)
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing