We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent food, excellent prices, lovely owner!”
Review of No:19 Yemek Evi - CLOSED

No:19 Yemek Evi
Price range: $0 - $7
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Dining options: Breakfast, Late Night, Reservations
Neighborhood: Beyoglu
Level 2 Contributor
9 reviews
3 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Excellent food, excellent prices, lovely owner!”
Reviewed August 8, 2013

Excellent food, excellent prices, lovely owner! So good to try something authentic, with all the other tourist-traps everywhere in Istanbul.

I loved the beef dish and my wife loved the chicken! The portions were also very fair in size and the bread served with it was very fresh.

To find this place, it is only a short walk from the top of taksim square. Just go into one of the main hotels there and ask the concierge...thats how we found it.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Galvatron1984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

113 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    97
    8
    2
    4
    2
Rating summary
    Food
    Service
    Value
    Atmosphere
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Chinese (Traditional) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
Copenhagen, Denmark
2 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“traditional Turkish cuisine”
Reviewed August 6, 2013

delicious food, well cooked, homemade, good prices, really nice owner, cosy atmosphere - go there!!!

Visited July 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank rasmusekman
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Great small place.”
Reviewed August 2, 2013

There are only a few tables at Yemek Evi, and this creates a great atmosphere. The food is all homemade or local, and very simple and good. The owner Aylin is awesome.

  • Visited August 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Kopfiv
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level 2 Contributor
8 reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Delicious food, great atmosphere, and excellent value”
Reviewed August 1, 2013 via mobile

A must for anyone visiting Istanbul. We had a delicious three course meal with lovely turkish coffee afterwards for only a few euro. Beautiful building too.

Helpful?
1 Thank Dennis H
This review is the subjective opinion of an individual traveler and not of TripAdvisor LLC nor of its partners.
Cambridge, England, United Kingdom
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
4 restaurant reviews
common_n_restaurant_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Very homey”
Reviewed July 25, 2013

Perfect break when your travelling, feels like a bit of home on holiday :). Very reasonable prices. I particularly loved her chicken dishes and the lemonade tastes like a non-alcoholic mojito! It is a small restaurant with 3 tables so try to get there early. We ended up going back twice during our trip and loved every time!

  • Visited July 2013
    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Helpful?
1 Thank Annie H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed No:19 Yemek Evi also viewed

 

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing