We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Very comfortable, beautifully designed rooms. Great location.”
Review of Daru Sultan Galata

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
Daru Sultan Galata
Ranked #236 of 1,050 Istanbul B&B and Inns
Miami, Florida
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Very comfortable, beautifully designed rooms. Great location.”
Reviewed October 6, 2013

I suppose Ottoman Baroque is an acquired taste and can probably be too much for some and appear too "Las Vegas", but it wasn't here, it is very tastefully designed, and the whole hotel is beautiful. It even looks great form the outside when lit up at night. Our room was excellent. The large bed was extremely comfortable, the shower was powerful, everything was surprisingly luxurious (Bvlgari handsoap/shampoo/conditioner for example). The staff were wonderful, attentive and not at all intrusive.

Breakfast was good. Typical Turkish style mix of cheeses, olives, cold meat, fruit, breads. Cereal was also available. I think I was told, but I'm not sure, that they cook omelets too, but I was never awake enough to notice.

The location of this hotel is also excellent. My partner is Turkish who has in the past lived in Istanbul for 10 years, so if she also says the location is great, it must be. It is situated near Taksim with a wonderful view of the Golden Horn, so all the major historical sites are easy to get to (easy access to Metro, can walk to most places).

I was told the hotel has only been open a few months, so the only teething problem I found was the shower smelled a little too much like a Turkish hamam, but that's just being picky.

All in all, If I was ever in need of a hotel in Istanbul again, this will certainly be my first choice, and likewise first choice recommendation to anyone.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank Andreas V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

130 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    57
    44
    18
    6
    5
See reviews for
18
71
5
10
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (21)
Date | Rating
  • Arabic first
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Greek first
  • Italian first
  • Portuguese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Turkish first
  • Any
English first
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 11, 2013

My husband and I stayed for two days and the location is very good, you can go anywhere with the metro right beneath. The breakfast was good and more than ebough. The rooms are clean, full hd tv but poor reception sometimes. The staff is very helpful and friendly. Overall I recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed September 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Busra B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
København, Staden Kobenhavn, Denmark
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2013

my boyfriend and I had a wonderful time at the DaruSultan Hotel.
The staff is really nice, urgent and is happy to help any time at the day. The rooms are great and gives you a great view of the golden horn.
We will defiantly recomend this place for other couples.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Laura L
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Buenos Aires, Argentina
Level 6 Contributor
260 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 98 helpful votes
Reviewed May 31, 2013

The hotel is styled on Ottoman baroc. The room was neat and of reasonable size with bathroom integrated. The TV image was amazing (excellent HD quality), also was it the Wifi.AC was excellent too. Breakfast is turkish style but they say they start at 7 AM and they don't (so if you are on business... consider it). The location is very good: in front of the Sishane Metro station and nice restaurants around. The service is good. I would recommend it.

Room Tip: Ask for a room with view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank Damian O
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
Beyoglu
Rixos Pera Istanbul
Rixos Pera Istanbul
#62 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,056 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Sea Mansion Suites & Spa
Beyoglu
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
Vault Karakoy, The House Hotel
#57 of 1,147 in Istanbul
649 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
Karakoy
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
10 Karakoy A Morgans Original
#45 of 1,147 in Istanbul
321 reviews
Sultanahmet
GLK PREMIER Acropol Suites & Spa
Beyoglu
Tomtom Suites
Tomtom Suites
#9 of 1,147 in Istanbul
1,006 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Daru Sultan Galata? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Daru Sultan Galata

Property: Daru Sultan Galata
Address: Evliya Celebi Mah. Merkez Apt. No:108 | Beyoglu, Istanbul 34430, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul > Beyoglu
Amenities:
Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #236 of 1,050 B&Bs / Inns in Istanbul
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:5 star — Daru Sultan Galata 5*
Number of rooms: 35
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Hotels.com, Travelocity, Hotwire, TripOnline SA, Cheap Tickets, getaroom.com, Booking.com, HRS and HotelQuickly so you can book your Daru Sultan Galata reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing