We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Khaled Hashem Review”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 10 more sites!
Retaj Royale Istanbul
Ranked #476 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Reviewed November 11, 2013

Wonderful hotel! It looks very new, beautiful decor inside and out; the room and bathroom are very clean, comfortable, everything is very well-thought to make your stay enjoyable. The staff is very polite. The hotel is very close to Ataturk airport, that's why we picked it as we had an overnight layover. But if you want to do some shopping and sightseeing, it is better to stay in the Old Town or other area, as there is nothing around this hotel (it is in textile district). Overall, I think it was a great value - we paid about $120/ night, breakfast for 2 included plus free WiFi. Would stay there again.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Khaled A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (187)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

83 - 89 of 187 reviews

Reviewed November 11, 2013

This hotel deserves more than 5 star truly enjoyed my short visit, Next time when I am in Istanbul I will be definitely stopping by. Staff at front desk were very professional as well as very courteous and help me out with my needs. They provided shuttle to airport no additional charge! very clean room and outstanding service at restaurant.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank melih09
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

it was excellent hotel, i stayed threre for 5 days, rooms was amazing they were clean with anice furniture, i like there staff they were helpful, doing three best to make you feel comfy.
breakfast and dinner were perfect with aplenty varieties, i advise every one to go there.

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Rawan82
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 9, 2013

Retaj deserves the 5 star tag due to the below:

1) Room Area is relatively large with a walking built-in closet
2) Breakfast Buffet has a wide variety and is really good
3) Many TV channels and movie channels
4) Wifi is available across the hotel and free of charge

The only issue is location as its far from Downtown!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with this hotel
Thank Yousef A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel in general - Good.
Retaj is a 5* hotel so I will rate it accordingly. Generally this Arabic hotel is very good - it is new, the quality of materials is superior and the rooms are comfortable and big enough for long stays; the breakfast has a wide choice of food for all tastes and is delicious. What prevents it to be an excellent one is the personnel and the level of services.

Location and surroundings - Poor.
It is very close to the airport which makes it a very good choice for a stopover. Though, I would not recommend it for long stays when your purpose is strictly touristic. There is a concrete jungle around the hotel and the trip to old city takes 2-3 hours with public transportation or taxi (last one would be more comfortable but much more expensive). Although Retaj provides shuttle services, it's almost impossible to book a seat - they don't accept to book the day before and it's already full 3 hrs before leaving.

Service - poor.
Staff in the restaurant speaks a poor English.
During my 12 nights stay, the room was never vacuum cleaned, though I explicitly asked for it.
The bathroom doesn't have a toilet brush and I never got one even if I asked for it.
When asking for directions towards old city, the reception staff was not very helpful, suggesting to go to airport and take the subway, although there are other more simple choices. Tried to book a seat in the shuttle on Saturday night for Sunday and was told it's way to early for that and they don't do this, I have to come next morning. Next morning 3 hrs before the departure it was fully booked and I was advised next time to book it one day before - completely confusing.
One of the guys from restaurant was rude at breakfast time when I just tried to get a cup of coffee, sending me away and asking to come 5 mins later after he finishes arranging the cups.

Gastronomy - Excellent.

Sport, entertainment and pool - Good.
The have pool, gym, spa, etc but you have to pay for the cap in order to use the pool.

Room - Good.
The room is comfortable and quality of sleep is excellent.
Pay attention to table legs - they have some sharp metal caps which are dangerous, one of my colleagues cut his toes on it.

Room Tip: Avoid rooms facing Kocman Bld - they are very noisy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Arcadie P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Hotel is very nice, build with high quality finishings. Excellent bed and pillows.
Great shower room with a window wall towards the bedroom.
Breakfast food was great, with lots of cooked and fresh vegetables, fruits, nuts and sweets. The staff was not that well prepared or friendly in this restaurant and was clearly not capable of handling a full set of tables. As an example you tell a waiter that there is no more coffee and he tells you to go inform another waiter as this is not his job :)
Toilets are missing a brush and they are far from the shower.
Room service personnel could be better trained with a system of what they have to check/do and should sometimes vacuum the place - I have not seen this done in a 2 weeks stay!

Unfortunately most of the furnitures that have legs has some very dangerous metal spikes in the lower sides. One night I cut my foot very badly in one of these and I had to limp in pain for more than a week. A friend from another room also had a close miss and only scratched his ankle on one of these things.

Room Tip: Be very aware of the metal spikes on the furniture legs! See the attached picture!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Badrian23
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 11, 2013

My colleagues and I came to Istanbul for the Expo 2013 exhibition. Our trip was from 1st Oct. to 8th Oct. So I chose Retaj Royale Istanbul due to its relatively close distance to the Expo Center and its good reputation on booking.com. The hotel looks like a royal palace, with excellent service including the convenient shuttle bus to the airport and two shopping malls. The food was also delicious and pleasing. We enjoyed our stay there very much.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Guolu X
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Istanbul hotels
0.3 mi away
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
Wyndham Grand Istanbul Europe
#146 of 1,175 in Istanbul
349 reviews
0.6 mi away
Park Inn by Radisson Istanbul Ataturk Airport
0.4 mi away
Elite World Europe Hotel
Elite World Europe Hotel
#371 of 1,175 in Istanbul
72 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.7 mi away
Ramada Plaza Istanbul Tekstilkent
0.5 mi away
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
Divan Suites Istanbul GPlus
#342 of 1,175 in Istanbul
133 reviews
0.5 mi away
Courtyard by Marriott Istanbul International Airport
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Retaj Royale Istanbul? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Retaj Royale Istanbul

Address: Evren Mahallesi Cami Yolu Caddesi No:1/A | Gunesli, Istanbul 34212, Turkey
Location: Turkey > Istanbul
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites Swimming Pool Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #476 of 1,175 Hotels in Istanbul
Price Range: $50 - $102 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — Retaj Royale Istanbul 5*
Number of rooms: 187
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Retaj Royale is conveniently located in the heart of Istanbul Business District of Güneşli area and major entertainment and shopping malls, 5 minutes’ drive from Atatürk international Airport and 5 minutes away from CNR Expo center. The air-conditioned modern spacious rooms at Retaj Istanbul offers satellite LED TV, mini bar, hairdryer, tea and coffee making facilities. Each has a work desk and a private bath with bath tub. Retaj Royale offers ZamZam restaurant covering both national and international cuisine. A state of art Ballroom and intimate boardrooms that cater for both different size of meetings, making this hotel the ideal Istanbul venue for business and personal events The hotel offers an array of Leisure facilities. Guests can enjoy work outs at the fully equipped modern health club, sauna, Turkish bath (Hammam) and indoor swimming pool. A scheduled free shuttle bus arranged by the hotel providing easy access to Istanbul’s historic sites, airport and city center. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Hotels.com, Priceline, Travelocity, Orbitz, HotelQuickly, TripOnline SA, Cancelon, Hotwire and getaroom.com so you can book your Retaj Royale Istanbul reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing